No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Park Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Park Hotel, Grand Parade Tynemouth, North Shields, NE30 4JQ
The beautiful art Deco hotel proudly overlooks the Northumbrian coastline with fantastic views over Tynemouth Longsands, one of four stunning blue flag beaches within walking distance. There is so much to do at the Park Hotel with some of the finest English beaches quite literally at your doorstep with relaxing days out on the beach or water sports for the more adventurous. The city of Newcastle is only a short 15 minute drive away and brings without a doubt the best nightlife England has to offer, Newcastle-Gateshead was recently included in a list of the worlds ten top party cities! By staying at the Park Hotel Tynemouth you can party the night away in Newcastle while spending the day in the tranquil setting of Tynemouth to recover or just to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. The Hotel is within easy reach of Beamish, Alnwick Castle and Gardens and Holy Island making it an ideal base from which to explore Northumberland. Or for some serious retail therapy the Metro Centre Europe's biggest shopping centre is a short drive away.
The Montagu Park Hotel boasts over fifty bedrooms all with en-suite facilities. Most of our bedrooms command impressive sea views and all are individually decorated. The bedrooms benefit from being in an art Deco building giving variety and character to each pleasantly appointed room. They vary in size style and view giving an individual feel each time you stay. Our rooms have many of the necessary facilities including trouser press, hair dryer, tea and coffee facilities, multi-channel TV, direct dial telephone, and most importantly the assistance of our friendly helpful staff. Free Wi-Fi broadband is available in the public areas of the hotel.
Picture of Park Hotel, North Shields at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 23 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
47% recommended this accommodation to a friend 43% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel just needs updating, it is in a very good position on the sea front very clean and comfortable.

Reviewed by
j firth

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poor value for money charged
Room very small, un able to get any channels on the TV. Room and bathroom clean. Shower didn't run hot enough. Win does stuck shut and room far too hot no ventilation. We had no breakfast in our price and overall felt the cost was pretty excessive and not good value at all. Breakfast is at 7-9 even at weekends.

Reviewed by
lynne s

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Do Not Book this Hotel
was cycling the C2C this weekend and booked the hotel for Saturday evening at the end of the epic cycle, I received a call on Friday (luckily I had signal for a lunch stop) telling me they had to cancel my booking due to a broken boiler. No attempt was made to find me alternative accommodation, even when I explained I was cycling for charity and I was unable to do so myself. They knew we were doing so as I had contacted them about bike storage previously.
I am however so glad I didn't stay as it seems no one has a good word to say about the hotel. Even our taxi driver taking me to Jurys in Gateshead (they offered us a room at a discounted rate because of our charity work) said we had a lucky escape not staying here.
I have contacted them since and had no reply, they have a 7 day cancellation policy so I should be given the cost of the room back to me.

Reviewed by
Susan M

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointed
Lack of staff, very tired dated room, floor boards outside of our bedroom creaked very noisily whenever anyone walked past, drunk guests knocking on our door at 4am so hardly slept at all.

Reviewed by
Donald M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

You get what you pay for! !!!
Room were old fashioned and need updating, shower was also poor quality as it lacked any sort of power . On the plus side the hotel was situated in a nice area with beautiful views of the sea front. Staff were also very helpful and friendly.
Good hotel if looking to explore local area, wouldn't recommend for a luxury staff.

Reviewed by
Thomas N

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not really a good experience
Tatty, evening meal quite nice, but room not really that good and breakfast a bit like faulty towers type service.

Reviewed by
C Fletcher

From Worksop, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant trip
Pleasant views of the beach and the sea Very friendly staff decor a little dated.

Reviewed by
stuart s

From Grays, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very tired
The hotel looks very grand from the iutisde but is so tired and dated inside. It really need a facelift.

Reviewed by
J Fahey

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very pleasant stay. Room décor is tired and in need of refurbishment. However, the staff were very helpful and for a short stay, this hotel is fine.

Reviewed by
C James

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, quality service and we enjoyed our stay. Sea view room with a bath!!!

Reviewed by
D Gibson

From Newton Aycliffe, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next