No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Aysgarth Falls Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Aysgarth Falls Hotel, Aysgarth , Leyburn, DL8 3SR

Simply the Guest Awards Winner


Based on 100% genuine guest reviews in our 2012 awards.

The Aysgarth Falls Hotel is situated in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales National Park and set in five acres of grounds that sit above the famous Aysgarth Falls in the heart of Wensleydale. The hotel itself dates back to the mid eighteenth century with the pub section older still. The hotel has just reopened after undergoing an extensive refurbishment and now offers a pub, a variety of dining areas, 11 en suite rooms and outdoor terracing looking out over the pond and the hills beyond. Our aim is simple. To provide great beer, good food and company along with lovely, clean and comfy rooms, that’s what we’re about.

But more than that, you’ll be made to feel welcome from the moment you arrive… we like people and we think it shows!

The Aysgarth Falls Hotel is ideally placed for staying whilst exploring the Yorkshire Dales, and with Aysgarth Falls at the bottom of our land, you couldn’t be closer to one of the most stunning sights in the country.
Picture of Aysgarth Falls Hotel, Leyburn at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 37 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
98% recommended this accommodation to a friend 98% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived at the hotel on the 19 Sept which was the date required to find that we were booked for the 17 Oct, how this happened I Know not,but a room was available at the price quoted so all was well.could not fault the hotel or staff and food was good,very nice room. Will stay here again when in the area.

Reviewed by
Michael James

From Bridlington, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming owners and staff. Very enjoyable stay. Have stayed before and would stay again.

Reviewed by
Andrea P

From Manchester, England
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quality Accomodation, good service and excellent food
Overall an excellent hotel to stay at in an ideal location for a Dales based holiday or short break.
The only minor niggles were that the room (8) had some noise from next door's ensuite when in use and the restaurant menu would have been much nicer presented on a laminated card rather than a piece of paper. The staff were very helpful and I would, and intend, to stay here again.

ManagementResponse

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We did investigate the unusual noise from the bathroom next door, and have solved the problem now, we think, so thank for pointing that out. As for menus, I guess it's all a matter of taste really. As something on our menu changes almost daily, we are constantly reprinting. I think a clean white printed menu indicates that to people (we all know signs of menus that don't change!). I also think it's a more modern way to present, so I'm sorry that you found it niggling. Most importantly, I'm happy that you found our staff to be helpful and we look forward to seeing you another time! Best wishes, Heather

Reviewed by
A KIRBY

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good in every way, lovely furnishings

Reviewed by
Jennifer S

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Location and Accommodation and meal
My Fiance and my self stayed here for her birthday on our way to York for a week. It was a lovely location and the accommodation had lovely views of the moors. We ate in the hotel and the meal was excellent although there was a slight error with my Fiances meal but this was quickly rectified. The only other problem was there was no salmon at breakfast even though it was advertised and we weren't told of this until we wanted to order it

Reviewed by
T McGrath

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall very good with minor niggles
Overall a very good hotel and would gladly stay there again. The staff were very welcoming and the food was very good indeed. Some very minor niggles:
- the upstairs landing was very hot, which in turn made our room hot.
- No shaver point in the bathroom so couldn't charge toothbrush
- had to ask for vinegar twice in the bar as the girl who served us forgot.

Reviewed by
G Briggs

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Delight in the Dales
We enjoyed a superb one night stay at the Aysgarth Falls Hotel, which has been refurbished throughout. Our room 6 had glorious views across Wensleydale and we could hear the River Ure cascading over the nearby Falls. All the staff were friendly and gave us a warm welcome as you'd expect in Yorkshire. We were blessed with some beautiful weather and sat outside with drinks on the terrace, watching the sun set over the distant fells. Great beer and great food.....Highly recommended!

Reviewed by
Christopher Russell

From Guernsey, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceeded Expectations
Upon arrival, discovered that they had incorrect booking information for us. Once this had been checked, the staff were quick to remedy the error, offering us a free upgrade to one of their suites. Everyone was extremely welcoming, friendly and willing to help with any issues. Waiting staff were attentive, warm and very professional. Excellent choice of breakfast options. Dinner was extremely good; some of the best food we have ever had. The rooms were spotless, warm and well maintained. Shower in the first room was very good, the roll top bath in the suite was delightful and very spacious, allowing for total relaxation. The bar is well stocked with an expansive selection of ales and we can also say that the house Shiraz was superb. We would definitely recommend the hotel and plan on staying there again.

Reviewed by
R Dearing

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great experience
Cannot remember when we had a better small hotel.
From the moment we arrived the staff were most helpful. immediately asked if we would like help with cases which is not refused by an 80 year old!!
Room was first class, the menu was varied and the meals, breakfast and dinner, were excellent.
The real ales completed the stay.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Cambridge, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing scenery
The hotel is spotlessly clean, rooms are a decent size with contemporary bathroom. Bed was very comfortable and despite being on the main road it was very quiet at night. Our room was on the front of the hotel with lovely views. The scenery around the hotel was amazing and the falls are a short walk from the hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, nothing is too much trouble. The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, we had lovely weather so enjoyed an nice glass of wine on the terrace.

Reviewed by
Kim H

From Stanley, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next