No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Garden House Inn

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Framwellgate Peth, DURHAM, DH1 4NQ
Situated less than a mile from Durham’s historic city centre, and only a 10 minute walk from the Railway station, The Garden House Inn is a great location from which to explore the historic city of Durham. It offers tastefully designed rooms, a vibrant real ale pub, free Wi-Fi, and a popular eating house frequented by locals, serving traditional home cooked British food.

Each stylish en suite room features a flat screen TV, tea/coffee making facilities and a hairdryer.

The charming wooden-beamed real ale pub serves a variety of locally brewed ales and European larger. While a team of passionate young chefs work in the kitchen, producing seasonally driven menus that offer traditional home-cooked British faye at its best. Guests can enjoy both ale and food alike, outside in the tranquil beer garden, in the modern conservatory restaurant or by the roaring open fires which feature in the bar. Free parking is also available.

Ideally located. Guests are close to Durham city with its famous cathedral, castle and the beautiful tree lined river banks. The bright lights of Newcastle are only a 15 minute train journey away and a 30 minute drive will take you to the picturesque North Pennines.
Picture of The Garden House Inn, DURHAM at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 47 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
87% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay
Lovely stay. Hotel staff really accomodating and made an early breakfast for us as we were leaving early to get to the Great North Run
Wish we had had the time to look around Durham however we were pushed for time but the hotel was ideally situated for sight seeing

Reviewed by
julie w

From Brigg, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money and superb evening meal

Reviewed by
Andrew C

From Romford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant and friendly within walking distance of city centre
Very acceptable accommodation at a reasonable price. Only slight negative was the noise from the adjacent rooms bathroom.

Reviewed by
Michael Berridge

From Brackley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our Stay
Giving this hotel mixed review.
1) Evening meal fantastic 8/10 but breakfast was 1/10. Evening meal was well presented and right temperature. The ambience was nice too. Contrasting to breakfast that felt like was in a dated room needing modernisation but there worst was breakfast food - no cooked breakfast, no fresh fruit prepared, no special coffee available. The food felt as if came out of supermarket shop day before
2) Hotel bedroom was only ok - shower was in bath and very difficult to get right temperature. The room needed modernisation.
Overall a hotel that has great potential just needs some investment in the finer detail and a total revamp on the breakfast thinking... I wish it have bed and no breakfast

Reviewed by
steve g

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great overnight stay
We chose the Garden House Inn as an alternative to the usual Premier Inn offerings and were happy that we did. On arrival the staff were welcoming and showed us to our room. The room itself was clean and spacious with a nice bathroom. The food served to us at the inn was extremely nice and we found the menu also accommodated our children (aged 9 and 7).
Previous reviews have been critical of the breakfast, we however found it to be fine. A choice of cereals, what would be classed as a simple but tasty continental and enough toast to feed a platoon.
Overall a comfortable nights accommodation with friendly staff, I would be happy to stay again.

Reviewed by
Carl R

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I would recommend the room and the area to stay for single women.
Good location for catching a bus into town center. The room was clean and well decorated.
On arrival felt the person could have been a little friendlier. I felt the person was a bit off. The rest of the staff were friendly and helpful. I dined there one night and enjoyed it.

Reviewed by
a wrighton

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family Friendly
We had a great time at the Inn. Everyone was super friendly and kind. The room had two double beds so the kids had to sleep together which was fine. The breakfast was ok, nothing hot and the croissants and pastries were pretty average. Bit there was plenty of juice, tea, toast and cereal. We would definitely go back again.

Reviewed by
Susan H

From Hong Kong
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic food, good value
I used to stay closer to the center of town but it was graduation week, very busy, and I tried someplace else. This is a lovely little place with fantastic food. If you're travelling from the station there's a pathway off the back (not the usual road to the station) which means you don't have to go down+up the hill and otherwise, it's just off the main road. We had to get a taxi back after a day in town but fitter people might like to walk and the £5 cost of a taxi is more than offset by the cheaper room rate than, eg the Marriot.

Reviewed by
Calvin Graham

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

No complaints
From arriving to leaving the hotel the staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. We only had breakfast so couldn't really comment on the food quality. We would definitely stay again and would recommend it to other university visiting parents.

Reviewed by
K Bolger

From Settle, Regno Unito
Who stayed in July 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely guesthouse.
Don't normally bother leaving reviews, but this particular one deemed worthy of a review! Really nice, food was excellent, lovely clean accommodation, friendly staff, nice location, would recommend to friends, perfect for weekend breaks.

Reviewed by
Alan Fletcher

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next