You have not entered any valid search criteria.

Please enter a keyword and perform your search again.

Reviews - The Garden House Inn

3

Framwellgate Peth, ,, Durham, DH1 4NQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (13)

92% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • L Bowie

  • August 2016

Gem of a place.

Had a lovely one night stay and accommodation was much better than expected after reading other reviews.

We had no issues whatsoever with water pressure in our room as stated previously. The breakfast now has the option to have a cooked breakfast along with the continental option. We ate in the pub the night we stayed and the food was exceptional and the staff could not have been any friendlier. Great value for money all around.

  • Jason R

  • August 2016

The Garden House Inn

The only downside to our stay was the shower........which was literally a trickle and not easy to get right temperature.

However, it was a lovely pub and accommodation, staff were very friendly and helpful.

  • Rachael Smith

  • May 2016

Great little place just outside the city centre

Conveniently located about 15 minutes walk from the centre, close to the train station, with cosy, comfortable rooms and a great breakfast in a quaintly decorated conservatory room, friendly staff and car parking.

Will definitely consider when I'm in the area again.

  • james p

  • May 2016

Flying visit

Hotel did it's job for a flying visit.

Staff and breakfast excellent. Room large but getting tired. Carpets and walls marked. Shower over bath didn't work. Free parking a bonus.

  • Anna G

  • May 2016

Much better than your average pub hotel

We had a very pleasant, large room, with a clean and bright bathroom.

Staff were all helpful and friendly, and the dinner we had in the pub restaurant was extremely tasty, far better than I'd expect from a pub, or indeed many restaurants. Breakfast was substantial and good, except for the instant coffee. The location is very handy, being only a ten minute walk from the town centre, but in a quiet area, so your sleep isn't disturbed. I'd definitely choose to stay there again.

  • john c

  • April 2015

Lovely break

Busy but lovely little place with plenty of character.

Bit further out of centre than we anticipated but nothing a taxi didn't solve.

  • C Robbins

  • November 2014

Good welcome.

Pleasant staff. Excellent food.. Bath/shower water control needs attention.

  • Malcolm B

  • October 2014

A good three days in the Durham Dales

Initial impression was 'oh dear'.

Decor on staircase is tired, and also in the room. However, the room was spotlessly clean and tea and coffee facilities were more than adequate. Meals in the pub were well cooked and portions more than sufficient. Staff were welcoming, friendly and helpful - both behind the bar and at breakfast time - but we were surprised not to have been offered a cooked breakfast. We would happily recommend the Garden House Inn to anyone visiting Durham.

  • Steve L

  • October 2014

Very comfy bed

  • Sally S

  • October 2014

Spacious rooms and comfortable beds.

Very cold the first night - the heating was not turned on. Found it disconcerting that there were no staff in the building overnight but did not need to contact anyone. Food excellent and good value for money but cold buffet breakfast only, no option of cooked breakfast.