Derwent Manor Apartments

3

Portinscale, KESWICK, CA12 5RE

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (12)

83% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Bryson

  • October 2014

Spacious and Comfortable

The accomodation was spacious, comfortable and very clean.

Some of the kitchen equipment was old and dificult to operate. But the apartment was warm with plently of hot water.

  • Stephen L

  • October 2014

Lovely view.

On arrival we were pleasantly surprised at the cottage we had booked, lovely large warm rooms and the upstairs bedroom had a lovely view out over Portinscale & the lake.

Everything was there that we needed for our weekend break.

  • Alan Oxley

  • September 2014

Faulty Towers!

Accommodation I had booked had been resold ( I was told on arrival there was a problem with the apartment.

When challenged they confessed they had overbooked and it was taken 30 minutes ago) I was offered 2 x 1 room apartments at the same price having been asked if they were only two of us. I asked if there were rooms in the hotel and was told they were fully booked. On arrival at the alternative apartment I found it had not been serviced. I called reception and was offered by the same lady a room in the hotel which she had told me 5 minutes earlier was fully booked. The room ( 207) , I believe was out of commission as the shower temperature control was faulty, it had no towels and appeared stale. We were offered 2 free breakfast, however these were not available until 8am. In my opinion the hotel sold the 2 bedroomed apartment after they accepted the booking from late rooms to maximise their revenue.

  • A Clothier

  • September 2013

Good value for money - Great Location

The apartment was clean and well equipped.

Our only problem was poor radio reception/lack of TV in the bedroom

  • julie b

  • September 2013

didnt need a dishwasher a washer would of come in handy if we had been staying a week

  • Helen F

  • August 2013

I stayed here for a mini break with my mother.

The apartment was ideal for us. Great location. Allocated parking space. Clean, comfortable accomodation with helpful staff. The bathroom was a bit small but we managed.

  • p redford

  • August 2013

a good holiday break

very good/nice pleasant hotel, with good/help full staff,,we enjoyed our stay,our rooms were very clean/comfortable,,so much so that we will be going again some time in the future,,,

  • Richard G

  • August 2013

Tired old place

Living room and kitchen were OK but the bedroom was grim : 2 (rather past it) old single beds pushed roughly together and two bedside tables and a dressing table pushed any old how up the other end: most unsatisfactory.

The bathroom had just a small shower and the loo was too high. All of which was made worse by incessant (and erroneous) fire alarms the first night and a total lack of water the last morning.No bottled water offered, nothing to flush the loo . . . . Can't really recommend.

  • Imogen C

  • July 2013

Brilliant stay...

The accommodation was brilliant, being both spacious and very clean.

The apartment had a lake view which was beautiful, Keswick was a short walk away (not along roads) and there were marinas close by for rowing/canoeing etc. The hotel staff were really friendly when we enquired about the free spa (a short drive away) and the spa was excellent. It was a really good base for exploring the Lake District. Would definitely go back again.

  • W Brown

  • July 2013

4 nights peace & quiet

My mother and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for four nights.

The setting in Portinscale is very quiet and peaceful, yet only a short walk (about 1 mile and very pleasant) from Keswick. The apartment had everything we could possibly want including large flat screen TV for the odd rainy day as well as everything necessary to prepare a meal. The hotel opposite was also available for food from bar snacks to full dinner, although we didn't sample more than coffee so can't comment on the quality. The location was quiet with no disturbance at night; ideal for families. The gardens were pleasant and the hotel grounds (which were available to self-catering guests) were extensive offering woodland walks and pleasant views of the lake. The staff were efficient and helpful for the most part (there was a slight altercation with one individual who wanted me to know I was disposing of rubbish in the wrong place - despite it being the place proscribed in the guest guidelines - but nothing too bad). The barman in the hotel Conservatory who brought our coffee was particularly pleasant and helpful. We very much enjoyed our stay - so much so that we didn't want to leave - and will be recommending Derwent Manor to the rest of the family in the hope of a return visit.