No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Derwent Manor Apartments

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
Portinscale , KESWICK, CA12 5RE
Derwent Manor is a unique historic House situated in the beautiful village of Portinscale, just two miles from Keswick. In all there are 19 one and two bedroom apartments, with flexible accommodation sleeping up to 6 people. The apartments are tastefully furnished and equipped to a high specification to ensure an extremely comfortable stay. Each apartment has its own individual character. Dog's are welcome in all our apartments at an additional charge of £6.50 per dog, per night payable on-site.

Derwent Manor is the former country residence of Alderman John Graves, three times Lord Mayor of Manchester. The apartments are the perfect base from which to explore Derwentwater, known as the Queen of the Lakes and the splendour of the surrounding area. Derwentwater marks a geological divide between the slate rock of Skiddaw in the north of the Lake District and the volcanic rock of Borrowdale and the rest of central Lakeland and this has helped to create the wonderful scenery for which it is famous.

Our sister property, The Derwentwater Hotel, is opposite, and you can relax, drink or dine in comfort if you don't fancy cooking for yourself. The open fire in the Derwent Bar is a welcoming winter warmer!

Our guests can now also enjoy access to Oxley's Spa at Underscar, just a short drive from the Apartments - with a Indoor Swimming Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and small Gym this is perfect after a long day walking (for over 16's only).
Picture of Derwent Manor Apartments, KESWICK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 52 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money - Great Location
The apartment was clean and well equipped. Our only problem was poor radio reception/lack of TV in the bedroom

Reviewed by
A Clothier

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

didnt need a dishwasher a washer would of come in handy if we had been staying a week

Reviewed by
julie b

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good holiday break
very good/nice pleasant hotel, with good/help full staff,,we enjoyed our stay,our rooms were very clean/comfortable,,so much so that we will be going again some time in the future,,,

Reviewed by
p redford

From Skegness, England
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

I stayed here for a mini break with my mother. The apartment was ideal for us. Great location. Allocated parking space. Clean, comfortable accomodation with helpful staff. The bathroom was a bit small but we managed.

Reviewed by
Helen F

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired old place
Living room and kitchen were OK but the bedroom was grim : 2 (rather past it) old single beds pushed roughly together and two bedside tables and a dressing table pushed any old how up the other end: most unsatisfactory. The bathroom had just a small shower and the loo was too high. All of which was made worse by incessant (and erroneous) fire alarms the first night and a total lack of water the last morning.No bottled water offered, nothing to flush the loo . . . . Can't really recommend.

Reviewed by
Richard G

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant stay...
The accommodation was brilliant, being both spacious and very clean. The apartment had a lake view which was beautiful, Keswick was a short walk away (not along roads) and there were marinas close by for rowing/canoeing etc. The hotel staff were really friendly when we enquired about the free spa (a short drive away) and the spa was excellent. It was a really good base for exploring the Lake District. Would definitely go back again!

Reviewed by
Imogen C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

4 nights peace & quiet
My mother and I stayed in a one bedroom apartment for four nights. The setting in Portinscale is very quiet and peaceful, yet only a short walk (about 1 mile and very pleasant) from Keswick.
The apartment had everything we could possibly want including large flat screen TV for the odd rainy day as well as everything necessary to prepare a meal. The hotel opposite was also available for food from bar snacks to full dinner, although we didn't sample more than coffee so can't comment on the quality.
The location was quiet with no disturbance at night; ideal for families. The gardens were pleasant and the hotel grounds (which were available to self-catering guests) were extensive offering woodland walks and pleasant views of the lake.
The staff were efficient and helpful for the most part (there was a slight altercation with one individual who wanted me to know I was disposing of rubbish in the wrong place - despite it being the place proscribed in the guest guidelines - but nothing too bad). The barman in the hotel Conservatory who brought our coffee was particularly pleasant and helpful.
We very much enjoyed our stay - so much so that we didn't want to leave - and will be recommending Derwent Manor to the rest of the family in the hope of a return visit.

Reviewed by
W Brown

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for exploring the northern lakes
We were delighted to be given a 2 bedroomed cottage which was spacious. Terrific room on the top floor with views of Derwentwater, The property was clean and well equipped. Minor problems were resolved quickly when reported to reception. Location ideal because we wanted something quiet, but with good walks available without using the car. Walk into Keswick was about 20 minutes each way. Minor issues - disappointed that wifi was only available in the lounge area of the hotel - the female members on reception were not partticularly friendly or helpful, especially on early arrival - partner was disappointed with vegetarian options when eating in the hotel restaurant. Overall very pleased with stay, ideal quiet spot for walking and travelling around the northern lakes. Hope to visit again and will definitely recommend to others.

Reviewed by
Keith B

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Very clean accomodation with everything supplied even though self catering - towels, toiletries washing up liquid etc. Large apartment with lovely views and the location could not be better. Will certainly stay again.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring break in lakes
Apartment was very good. Shower not working but when reported was fixed straight away.lovely location cant wait to go back again

Reviewed by
GARY BAINBRIDGE

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next