No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Derwent Manor Apartments

3Self Classified Self Catering Ratings explained
Portinscale , KESWICK, CA12 5RE
Derwent Manor is a unique historic House situated in the beautiful village of Portinscale, just two miles from Keswick. In all there are 19 one and two bedroom apartments, with flexible accommodation sleeping up to 6 people. The apartments are tastefully furnished and equipped to a high specification to ensure an extremely comfortable stay. Each apartment has its own individual character. Dog's are welcome in all our apartments at an additional charge of £6.50 per dog, per night payable on-site.

Derwent Manor is the former country residence of Alderman John Graves, three times Lord Mayor of Manchester. The apartments are the perfect base from which to explore Derwentwater, known as the Queen of the Lakes and the splendour of the surrounding area. Derwentwater marks a geological divide between the slate rock of Skiddaw in the north of the Lake District and the volcanic rock of Borrowdale and the rest of central Lakeland and this has helped to create the wonderful scenery for which it is famous.

Our sister property, The Derwentwater Hotel, is opposite, and you can relax, drink or dine in comfort if you don't fancy cooking for yourself. The open fire in the Derwent Bar is a welcoming winter warmer!

Our guests can now also enjoy access to Oxley's Spa at Underscar, just a short drive from the Apartments - with a Indoor Swimming Pool, Sauna, Jacuzzi, Steam Room and small Gym this is perfect after a long day walking (for over 16's only).
Picture of Derwent Manor Apartments, KESWICK at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
91% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

early spring break

Reviewed by
George T

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Dated but lovely
Great place to stay as it's a great location - within walking distance of Keswick town for shopping or just mooching around but also 5 mins walk from Derwent Water and some of the best scenery you'll ever see. We stayed in the Luxury apartments which was dated and a bit old fashioned but had everything we needed. We had a problem with our bathroom, there was a plumbed in shower but the hose and showerhead was missing and our hot water was on the blink - this was rectified but it meant that having a bath took forever and having a shower using one from the bath taps was tricky as you had to get the water levels right and it didn't come out that fast - not great after a long day walking. However the staff dealt with it for us so all OK in the end. The hotel opposite is lovely as well with great views and you can use the facilites if needed - we watched the rugby on their larger screen with a nice bottle of red wine. Would also suggest using the Oxley's Spa - it's not a walk away but a car trip and it was very relaxing and we were the only ones in the pool and sauna/steam/jacuzzi area - again lovely to have after being out and about walking all day.

Reviewed by
Karen Leggett

From Welwyn Garden City, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal self catering apartment.
Quiet, clean, warm, comfortable and well equipped.

Reviewed by
A Davis

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful views
A truly wonderful stay. Great views and on the doorstep of the most breathtaking scenery and mountains begging to be visited.

Reviewed by
Grant Turley

From Abingdon, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great flat, super value
We wanted to stay somewhere where we could choose how many nights we could stay rather than having to book a full week. We have a six week old baby and this accommodation was perfect. The bedroom was big enough to fit his carrycot in and there was a good sized living room. It was a little odd that the bathroom was off the living room rather than the bedroom but it didn't cause us any problems. Because we stayed off season we got a super deal. We also stayed here in the summer and we'll be back again.

Reviewed by
S Butcher

From Lytham St Annes, England
Who stayed in December 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location; good value for money. Very clean.
Bed was not particularly comfortable and the DVD player did not work but otherwise we were very pleased and would certainly use again.

Reviewed by
Angela C

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location overall good
The apartment was well located for Whinlatter biking and Grizedale. Room enough for 5 guys sharing with one sleeping on the sofa cushions and another on an inflatable bed.

Reviewed by
Neil G

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nowts the bother.
Reception was excellent the girls very helpful and polite . Happy staff. Happy customers thank you.

Reviewed by
anne b

From UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spacious, clean and comfortable
We booked two days prior to our stay so paid a reduced price and then found we were in a 2 bed apartment which was very spacious for just the two of us.Overall the apartment was clean and comfortable with good facilities.The only negative would be that the main bedroom downstairs had no view while the sitting area of the twin room on the top level had a view of the lake.We will probably consider a return visit in the future.

Reviewed by
Dianne C

From Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very spacious, beautiful area. Very well kitted out and extremely good value for money, we loved it.

Reviewed by
orna h

From England
Who stayed in November 2012

Mixed group

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next