No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Safestay

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle , London, SE17 1JL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Hostel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Safestay at Elephant & Castle is ideal if you’re looking for great value accommodation in London. Whether you are seeing the sights in this amazing city or travelling with your family. We are close to all the big London tourist attractions, so if you’re new in town, just ask our team and they’ll happily help you plan your visit and give you top tips on what’s happening in London during your stay.

Our beautiful 18th century Georgian building is just south of London’s River Thames – with plenty of cool bars, museums and cafés a stone’s throw away. It’s secure, stylish, comfortable and funky, with a great heated and illuminated garden for you to relax in. So if you’re after budget accommodation in London, bringing a group of school children to study the sights or simply want something different from the usual options in London why not try this fantastic all-bunk bed hostel out for size.
Picture of Safestay, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 32 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice establishment with neat and clean rooms (bathrooms ara rather small, but work properly), comfortable lounge with wifi, friendly young staff. The location is ideal for visiting London, very good public transport connections (bus stop nearly at the door, tube station 3 min. walk).

Reviewed by
Edina-Zita G

From Hungary
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Was in London for two nights, heading to a comics festival, and this hostel was such a treat! The staff were super-friendly and helpful, enjoyed the company of my roommates greatly and was even able to close my little curtains and read all the comics I bought in peace.

Reviewed by
Rosie H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value and quality of accommodation in London
You get what it says - a bed in a room with bunk beds and a simple breakfast. First time in a hostel for me (at age 59) and this was a great experience. Most other guests are young but all excellently behaved, polite and friendly - I had some interesting chats with folk from Brazil, South Korea and Siberia.
Room very simple but clean - remember to take a padlock for the storage cage, a towel and ear plugs. Did get quite hot at night with 6 folk in one smallish room - but I survived.
Breakfast - all you can eat croissants, apples, yoghurt, cereal, coffee, juice...
Staff were fine and helpful.
For accommodation in London hard to beat on value and quality.

Reviewed by
Charles F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend this hostel to others
Great clean hostel. Quiet and friendly. Clean and secure.

Reviewed by
L Jellicoe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
I stayed for one night. Check in was easy. Everywhere was really clean and tidy and the breakfast was ok. My only negative is that the restaurant is a little small when the place is full the que is quite long. But a comfy warm bed and a full stomach is all you need.

Reviewed by
SIMON K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of London's nicer hostels
I've stayed in a number of hostels in London, I'd say Safestay is one of the better ones.
The decor is fresh and new and the purple theme throughout is a nice touch.
My biggest bugbear with hosted is usually having too few power sockets but the rooms have one or bed and near the bed which is great.
Very clean, though there only seems to be 2 shower rooms to my floor which meant there was quite a few people waiting for showers in the morning.
Overall very nice, I felt comfortable and safe and would stay again.

Reviewed by
SAMANTHA B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decided to stay in London a couple extra nights and ended up here at the last minute. Perfect location, swanky accommodations, and friendly staff! Fantastic value for money! Will likely be my go-to place to stay the next time I'm in London!

Reviewed by
J Garces

From Brooklyn, USA
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience.
Totally recommended.

Reviewed by
Pedro G

From Portugal
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Never again!
its for foriegn students and school kids! noisy, smelly and messy (but it is a hostel, so its my own fault really!)

Reviewed by
Jake S

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Better than your average hostel
Good value for a higher quality hostel.
A hotel that treats visitors with respect - attention to detail in all areas. Common areas comfortable and good quality furniture - breakfast perfectly adequate - high quality shower facilities and above all CLEAN everywhere!! One night B&B in london £24 where could you beat that?

Reviewed by
Mike T

From Fareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next