No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Safestay

Not Classified  Hostel Ratings explained
144-152 Walworth Road, Elephant & Castle , London, SE17 1JL

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Hostel 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

Safestay at Elephant & Castle is ideal if you’re looking for great value accommodation in London. Whether you are seeing the sights in this amazing city or travelling with your family. We are close to all the big London tourist attractions, so if you’re new in town, just ask our team and they’ll happily help you plan your visit and give you top tips on what’s happening in London during your stay.

Our beautiful 18th century Georgian building is just south of London’s River Thames – with plenty of cool bars, museums and cafés a stone’s throw away. It’s secure, stylish, comfortable and funky, with a great heated and illuminated garden for you to relax in. So if you’re after budget accommodation in London, bringing a group of school children to study the sights or simply want something different from the usual options in London why not try this fantastic all-bunk bed hostel out for size.
Picture of Safestay, London at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 28 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

'Poshtel' is right!
Let's face it budget hotels in London can often be dirty, shoddy and still expensive (based on extensive experience of staying in them at least once a week for the last two years!). Despite this I didn't want to stay in a hostel because, to be frank, I wasn't sure I'd survive the night or if I would have all of my things stolen. That was my preconception of hostels. But I tried Safestay once because there were literally no hotels available in London for a budget price that night. And I'm so glad I did. It is cheap. The bathrooms are modern and clean. You get hot water (something which is a running theme in my other reviews - so many budget hotels seem incapable of providing hot water!). The bar area is huge, modern and comfortable. The staff are friendly. It is near a tube station and only 10mins from central London. The rooms are not too large and people are generally considerate. All of the bunks have curtains that you pull around your bed so you get some privacy. In fact, Safestay changed my view of hostels because it really is a 'poshtel'. I've now stayed on quite a few occasions and couldn't tell you whether my 'room mates' have been male or female because people tend to only come to the room to sleep. Once you're in the room, you climb in bed, pull the curtain around (there's a reading light on every bunk too) and you've got your own little space.
if you're looking for total peace and quiet or absolute privacy then Safestay isn't for you. If you're looking for somewhere in London that's clean, modern and safe that is also friendly and cheap, then you won't do better. Oh, and did I mention you get breakfast in with the price as well?

Reviewed by
Richard G

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First time in a hostel for 30 years!
It was comfortable, clean and convenient.
The other guests were friendly and talkative.
The showers were good and hot.
The staff were excellent and did everything possible to help.
The large communal area was very useful, although I would have preferred it to be open all night.
The continental breakfast was the only disappointment.
Be aware that you'll need proof of identification and your own padlock if you want to secure your belongings. They'll sell you a padlock if you need one.

Reviewed by
David M

From Wareham, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice establishment with neat and clean rooms (bathrooms ara rather small, but work properly), comfortable lounge with wifi, friendly young staff. The location is ideal for visiting London, very good public transport connections (bus stop nearly at the door, tube station 3 min. walk).

Reviewed by
Edina-Zita G

From Hungary
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great!
Was in London for two nights, heading to a comics festival, and this hostel was such a treat! The staff were super-friendly and helpful, enjoyed the company of my roommates greatly and was even able to close my little curtains and read all the comics I bought in peace.

Reviewed by
Rosie H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Best value and quality of accommodation in London
You get what it says - a bed in a room with bunk beds and a simple breakfast. First time in a hostel for me (at age 59) and this was a great experience. Most other guests are young but all excellently behaved, polite and friendly - I had some interesting chats with folk from Brazil, South Korea and Siberia.
Room very simple but clean - remember to take a padlock for the storage cage, a towel and ear plugs. Did get quite hot at night with 6 folk in one smallish room - but I survived.
Breakfast - all you can eat croissants, apples, yoghurt, cereal, coffee, juice...
Staff were fine and helpful.
For accommodation in London hard to beat on value and quality.

Reviewed by
Charles F

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would recommend this hostel to others
Great clean hostel. Quiet and friendly. Clean and secure.

Reviewed by
L Jellicoe

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Does what it says on the tin
I stayed for one night. Check in was easy. Everywhere was really clean and tidy and the breakfast was ok. My only negative is that the restaurant is a little small when the place is full the que is quite long. But a comfy warm bed and a full stomach is all you need.

Reviewed by
SIMON K

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of London's nicer hostels
I've stayed in a number of hostels in London, I'd say Safestay is one of the better ones.
The decor is fresh and new and the purple theme throughout is a nice touch.
My biggest bugbear with hosted is usually having too few power sockets but the rooms have one or bed and near the bed which is great.
Very clean, though there only seems to be 2 shower rooms to my floor which meant there was quite a few people waiting for showers in the morning.
Overall very nice, I felt comfortable and safe and would stay again.

Reviewed by
SAMANTHA B

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Decided to stay in London a couple extra nights and ended up here at the last minute. Perfect location, swanky accommodations, and friendly staff! Fantastic value for money! Will likely be my go-to place to stay the next time I'm in London!

Reviewed by
J Garces

From Brooklyn, USA
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent experience.
Totally recommended.

Reviewed by
Pedro G

From Portugal
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next