No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wheatsheaf Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
St Helens Street, , , Corbridge, NE45 5HE
The six bedrooms at The Wheatsheaf Hotel, Corbridge offer some of the most luxurious accommodation in the area. Re-opened in March 2009, they have been completely refurbished to a very high standard. All bedrooms are equipped with digital Freeview flatscreen televisions, telephones and tea and coffee making facilities. The bedrooms have been finished off with Corbridge artwork from well-known local artist Eddie Tibbs. Each room is individually decorated with colour schemes running through walls, window dressings and bed covers. Some rooms have lovely views of the Tyne Valley, whilst others have a view of the historic Roman village of Corbridge. Your experience of a visit to The Wheatsheaf Hotel starts with a warm welcome by one of our front of house team. A quick check-in and we will carry your bags to your room where we will show you how everything works. If you want us to, we will then be right back with a jug of cold fresh milk and some warm homemade (yes, on the premises!) shortbread for you to enjoy a well-earned cup of tea after your journey. If a pint is more your thing then we have a wide range available at the bar, including three real ales, at least one of which will always be a local brew. The Wheatsheaf Hotel has by far and away the best car parking facilities in Corbridge. Easy access from the road into a secure barrier controlled car park. A wealth of activities is available to you during your stay at The Wheatsheaf. Corbridge itself is renowned for its boutiques, arts and crafts, jewellers, antiques and furniture, food shops and much, much more. The 17th century bridge, roman sites and fascinating architecture will keep all non-shoppers interested. After a few hours in Corbridge, why not pop back to The Wheatsheaf for afternoon tea?
Picture of Wheatsheaf Hotel, Corbridge at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 26 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but drafty
Room 3 is very nice but HOW it needs double glazing !!! The draft through the windows especially in the bathroom makes it cold. The radiator was still not on at 7.15pm so I went and asked when the heating did come on ! It was still not on when we returned to our room at 11pm. The bathroom was so cold I did not shower on day one. It seems a shame as the room itself is nice and the breakfasts were good. BUT I had said on booking and phoned 3 days before to say I required a Gluten free breakfast but still there was no gluten free bread, toast or rolls

Reviewed by
Allan G

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Corbridge stay
The hotel was not our first choice but the room was OK and very clean. We did not eat a meal other than breakfast which was not to my taste but I am fussy. my partner eat his and my choice on the 2nd day was better. The service was very good

Reviewed by
m marsh

From Borehamwood, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

relaxing break
We had used this hotel in the past before it closed. we were looking forward to the changes the new owner had done and were not disappointed the rooms have been refurbished to a good standard nice bathroom, shower and comfortable bed, the dining room and bar have changed too (for the better) service was good, breakfast was freshly cooked and good. Cant complain about anything and look forward to staying again as it was good value for money.

Reviewed by
Dorothy B

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Rugby weekend
Went to corbridge to watch our team plat Tynedale in Nat div 1. The wheatsheaf was an excellent base for our weekend providing excellent accomadation, food and beverages. The staff were very friendly as we're the locals.

Reviewed by
John Holmes

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Successful Stay
Stayed in Room 2. Very comfortable, well furnished and tastefully decorated. The room and bathroom were immaculately clean. We ate in the restaurant and the food was excellent in quality and value. Very helpful owner who ran us by car to a wedding on a very wet day!
One minor criticism was that breakfast was served from 7.30 until 9.00. Perhaps an extension to 9.30 would have been welcome especially on a weekend.
We would thoroughly recommend the Wheatsheaf.

Reviewed by
Douglas B

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Staff were very helpful and friendly.Breakfast was a little disappointing as there was no fruit or continental choice.

Reviewed by
Maureen Thompson

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, helpful and excellent service. Comfy clean rooms and great value.

Reviewed by
Peter W

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good recommendation
I was travelling to this part of the country on business. The hotel was recommended by my customer and I was not disappointed. Friendly staff, pretty good food and clean and tidy accommodation. Big bonus - the weather was very good.

Reviewed by
Michael P

From Kidderminster, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Location
A good venue for exploring Hadrian's wall.

Reviewed by
Allan T

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Enjoyed our stay, we booked as we attended a wedding nearby. Room was lovely, bed very comfortable. The only let down was the breakfast, it was very generous and staff delightful, but we found it very greasey, we like grilled food. Overall we would stay again.

Reviewed by
J Stubbs

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next