No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kelvin Hotel West End

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
15, Buckingham Terrace , Glasgow, G12 8ED
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved at £5 per day and free Wi-Fi is available.

Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.

The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.

Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station.
Picture of  Kelvin Hotel West End, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 68 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Glasgow
The location of this hotel is excellent - it is right by the marvellous Botanical Gardens and a lot of interesting shops and restaurants. Great value for money - the place has a faded charm, spotless roomy bathrooms and helpful staff. Who needs luxury when you can have a quiet comfortable balcony room right next to the calm of the gardens or nightlife central for a fraction of the price of other places?

Reviewed by
Briar W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, but food and showers left something to be desired
I stayed in a standard single room, and having stayed at the Kelvin before, I wasn't expecting anything to write home about. When I was welcomed at the door, it seemed that there was new management though, so I had hopes for improved accommodation. Certainly my room was no worse than the one I had before. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and the room had all facilities one might expect. On the negative side, the room was quite stuffy, and the sink in my room, although clean, smelled of mildew when I ran the taps.
My big frustration came in the morning. First of all, I had to try three different showers before I found one that worked. This added a good 20-30 minutes to my morning routine. Then came breakfast. There was nothing wrong with it, particularly, except that it just didn't taste good. I had two slices of bacon and scrambled eggs, and I rather wish I hadn't.
Next time I need to stay at the Byres Road, I will ask for a bigger travel expense budget and stay at the Hilton over the road.

Reviewed by
E Predota

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
The reception was good, with a quick confirmation that they were expecting me. The room was very clean and tidy. The choice from the breakfast menu was excellent, as was the food.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
nicely situated hotel, very close to the botanical gardens and within reach of the subway connecting to the city centre. As I was going to the SSE Hydro it was as simple matter to take the subway to Partick railway station and transfer to the rail service to the Exhibition Centre - ideal.

Reviewed by
jennifer b

From Burntisland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
Arrived at 11 - not realizing last check in was 10. Receptionist got out of the shower to let me in and was friendly despite the interruption. She showed me to my room and changed it to another when the amorous noises of a young couple became evident in the adjacent room. She was patient again wh en i accidentally set off the fire alarm the following morning. Food was great for breakfast.

Reviewed by
ca robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good west end base
Stayed here to give us time to explore Byres road and the west end of Glasgow, not a new snazzy chain hotel, this is a substantial Georgian building with good size rooms, our room was on ground floor on Gt Western Road side - little or no traffic noise with window open. Good breakfast and a pleasant experience overall - will use again. Two minutes to Oran Mor and top of Byres Road where there are enough restaurants to keep you going for a month!

Reviewed by
Martin F

From Saltcoats, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very welcoming
we were up from england to go to a attend a funeral we needed to check in early and they were helpful and let us check in early. We found the room clean and tidy and the biggest bed we had ever seen. Breakfast was freshly cooked to order and very nice. Could not fault hotel and will return in future.

Reviewed by
michael f

From Chelmsford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

disappointing customer service
Fairly basic place to stay in the west end of Glasgow,wouldn't stay again,purely due to the ignorant manageress, who hung up the phone on me twice, after I challenged her knowledge on whether or not I would be charged for cancelling my reservation with less than 48 hrs notice. On a positive note, it's close to Byers road and Ashton lane,so if your stuck,and have nowhere else to stay,give it a go.

Reviewed by
aidan fitzharris

From Port Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

its what it is
Dont make the mistake of booking a small double with shared bathroom. The room we refused was awful and smelled of damp.
after some negotiations imanaged to get an upgraded room for no extra charge which was clean, wasn't damp and had a view of the gardens, not a brick wall right up against the window.

Reviewed by
Alan H

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay and breakfast was very good

Reviewed by
j baker

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next