No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Kelvin Hotel West End

2Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
15, Buckingham Terrace , Glasgow, G12 8ED
The Kelvin is a bed and breakfast in the heart of the vibrant West End of Glasgow. Parking can be reserved at £5 per day and free Wi-Fi is available.

Bedrooms at The Kelvin are light and airy and are tastefully decorated in soft pastels. Some guest bedrooms have en suite facilities, and all have a TV and vanity units with shaving points. A fully fitted, communal kitchen, equipped with kitchenware and utensils, is available to guests.

The grand Victorian townhouse also offers free Wi-Fi in the guest lounge and in most bedrooms. The dining room boasts floor-to-ceiling windows and looks out onto the tree-lined Great Western Road. There are many shops located opposite the hotel and many bars and restaurants in the area.

Glasgow International Airport is a 15-minute drive from the Kelvin, and the hotel is located just 2 miles from Glasgow Central Railway Station.
Picture of  Kelvin Hotel West End, Glasgow at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 63 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful friendly and helpful staff. I shared a bathroom but it was always available and always clean. Only complaint - the water for the shower was not very warm

Reviewed by
Kath M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Kelvin Hotel
The main reason I booked this hotel was it was one of the very few hotels which had a car park in the local area. As it said in the description that it would cost £5 for parking I thought it would be very good parking with loads of space. However, when we arrived there was only enough parking for two cars and there was about 20 rooms in the place, luckily enough I got parking however the customer after me did not.
Very poor customer service during the check in, It was a very long process from waiting at the door for serveral minutes for some one to let us in. Then having to wait for the member of staff to move their car in the car park so that we could park. Also there was confussion about if we would get breakfast and in the middle of this conversation I was asked to wait whilst they served someone after me.
The room we rented was a small double, but it was very small. One side of the bed was against the wall. The room was very dated and had a 1980s feel about it, there was water stains on the curtains and on the ceiling. Also there was a radiator in the room which we turned on and it either was very slow to come on or the heating didn't come on until the middle of the night. The corridor was warmer than the room.
The bed sheets were also very thin, this was why we wanted the heating on.
The lobby area and the hall was very clean and nice and so was the shared bathroom.
The person who checked us out was very friendly and efficent
I thought the room was too expensive for what it was, I ended up paying £50 for one night for a bed. I have stayed in many chain hotels over the weekend for this price with better customer service, nicer rooms, better parking facilities and on -suite bathrooms.
The reason I went for this hotel rather than a chain was it was round the corner form my friends.

Reviewed by
S Cartwright

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend
weekend stay in the West End. Clean and welcoming hotel, room smallish but, everything there and clean. Staff very helpful and appeared happy to be working there. Breakfast very good at £5 each! Car park small possibly 3 cars we emailed to book parking but no one replied to email - this was the only fault we found

Reviewed by
J Bury

From Fochabers, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

excellent all round . lovely staff
The lady we dealt with could not be more helpful/ excellent

Reviewed by
B Smith

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

comfortable!
It's located in a really convenient area. Room was fab and the heater worked quickly! Only problem I had was noisy neighbours and the walls were paper thin which made it difficult to sleep. The breakfast was amazing with good selection of food and the staff were keen to help and keep me happy!

Reviewed by
amber mackie

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quirky Glasgow
The location of this hotel is excellent - it is right by the marvellous Botanical Gardens and a lot of interesting shops and restaurants. Great value for money - the place has a faded charm, spotless roomy bathrooms and helpful staff. Who needs luxury when you can have a quiet comfortable balcony room right next to the calm of the gardens or nightlife central for a fraction of the price of other places?

Reviewed by
Briar W

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service, but food and showers left something to be desired
I stayed in a standard single room, and having stayed at the Kelvin before, I wasn't expecting anything to write home about. When I was welcomed at the door, it seemed that there was new management though, so I had hopes for improved accommodation. Certainly my room was no worse than the one I had before. On the plus side, the bed was comfortable, and the room had all facilities one might expect. On the negative side, the room was quite stuffy, and the sink in my room, although clean, smelled of mildew when I ran the taps.
My big frustration came in the morning. First of all, I had to try three different showers before I found one that worked. This added a good 20-30 minutes to my morning routine. Then came breakfast. There was nothing wrong with it, particularly, except that it just didn't taste good. I had two slices of bacon and scrambled eggs, and I rather wish I hadn't.
Next time I need to stay at the Byres Road, I will ask for a bigger travel expense budget and stay at the Hilton over the road.

Reviewed by
E Predota

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My Stay
The reception was good, with a quick confirmation that they were expecting me. The room was very clean and tidy. The choice from the breakfast menu was excellent, as was the food.

Reviewed by
P Taylor

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location
nicely situated hotel, very close to the botanical gardens and within reach of the subway connecting to the city centre. As I was going to the SSE Hydro it was as simple matter to take the subway to Partick railway station and transfer to the rail service to the Exhibition Centre - ideal.

Reviewed by
jennifer b

From Burntisland, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

overnight
Arrived at 11 - not realizing last check in was 10. Receptionist got out of the shower to let me in and was friendly despite the interruption. She showed me to my room and changed it to another when the amorous noises of a young couple became evident in the adjacent room. She was patient again wh en i accidentally set off the fire alarm the following morning. Food was great for breakfast.

Reviewed by
ca robertson

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next