No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Norden House

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Norden House, Norden Farm, Norden, Corfe Castle, BH20 5DS
Matthew Clarke and his team would like to offer a warm welcome to guests old and new at Norden House, offering high-quality Guest House/Bed and Breakfast accommodation, and licensed seasonal restaurant. (May-September) Norden House is a former Georgian Farmhouse now renovated to a high standard. Set in its own grounds on Norden Farm, it is situated in the heart of the Isle of Purbeck, large parts of which are designated heritage sites, and Jurassic Coastline.
Picture of Norden House, Corfe Castle at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 27 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrong key to the room and no host on site to help.
I was surprised that I was given a pair of wrong keys to the room and entrance door. The door was open on my arrival, but I could not lock the door with the wrong key. There was no staff on site. When I phoned the host Matthew on his mobile, he was on a bus to a private meal and told me I had to wait for about half hour. After 6 hours long drive I was desperate to go out and get my food. He told me I could leave my stuff in the room and they won't get stolen. Well, as a tourist from outside it was not easy for me to get my mind into that kind of relaxed mode. Asking me to hold on for a short while, he called me back and told me he found someone to come in about 20 minutes to sort out the wrong keys. So, I had to put my luggage (fortunate a light one) back into the car and drove out for my meal. It was comforting that later on he left a text message that the right keys were left in a place for me to pick up. I told him I'd leave about 6.30am in the morning, so would miss the breakfast. Obviously I was prepared for this and didn't expect any discount. But it would be nice if some kind of helpful gesture was offered, for example, maybe just offer a bottle of water - not kidding, very often good costumer service is in little things to show you are concerned about your guests, and giving wrong keys is the last thing you would expect from a professional service even it's only a B&B.

Reviewed by
Charles C

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful place,

Reviewed by
aiden tarpey

From Ruislip, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My second visit to Norden House
As the title implies I have stayed at Norden House before and found everything most satisfactory, which is why I returned. It is also very handy (walking distance) for Norden station to use the steam train to Corfe castle and Swanage.

Reviewed by
J Wildish

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Cheeky break
From the warm welcome by Matthew to the fabulous full English breakfast great place to stay, highly recommended.

Reviewed by
Claire B

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a good clean friendly place

Reviewed by
Josephine O

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very friendly, convenient and comfortable place; Good value for money
Only a few minor niggles - such as the drippy tap in the shower room & need for an extra shelf for toiletries & wash bag; Otherwise good value

Reviewed by
Julian S

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly service
First time visiting Dorset , found the staff very friendly and accommodating. Bed very comfortable, be prepared to be woken early by the peacocks. Breakfast was excellent!

Reviewed by
d crooks

From Rochford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice clean and cosy hotel, excellent food.
Hotel was nice and clean, well presented but could do with a few small updates, namely the water taps, they need new screw units. The food was fabulous, the breakfast was wonderful, the bacon was more like gammon and the eggs were a proper shade of yellow! I had one evening meal and again it was excellent, the costs were also very reasonable, I would use it again.

Reviewed by
J Faulkner

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boys sea kayak trip
Excellent base for our sea kayaking trip with first class breakfast to get the day off to a good start

Reviewed by
Mark T

From Berkhamsted, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a pleasant stay
The Guest house was run by a very pleasant young man(Mathew) who was on hand if required but not overly present. The gardens were quiet and pleasant to sit in and when the climate warms up I am sure that they will be well used. Good position for the general area and a fantastic breakfast
was enjoyed everyday.

Reviewed by
JAMES BRIERS

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next