No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Royal Oak Hotel

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
Royal Oak Hotel, High Street , Sevenoaks, TN13 1HY
This 18th-century coaching inn is 500 metres from the town centre and a mile from Sevenoaks Rail Station. It offers free parking and good access to central London and Gatwick Airport.The Royal Oak is a few minutes' drive from the M25 and M23 motorways. Central London is 32 minutes away by train and there are regular trains to Ashford International Rail Station for the Eurostar.

Queen Victoria stayed at the Royal Oak when she visited nearby Knole House and deer park.

Food is available in the bar, in the conservatory and in the restaurant. 24-hour room service is available. The hotel has FREE unlimited WIFI throughout.

Picture of The Royal Oak Hotel, Sevenoaks at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
45% recommended this accommodation to a friend 62% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

scruffy and smelly
We booked for two nights to help our daughter move house.I had to be in London the first night and rang my wife who was simply aghast at the antiquated scruffy room with a prewar type bathroom.Also smelled but difficult to explain,just foisty.When I arrived we were stuck for a few hours receiving deliveries at my daughters house.I could not believe it when I finally saw the room-it was awful.We had seen the dodgy reviews on tripadvisor but paid extra(115 pounds per night!) to be in an executive room and assuned it would be better.Worst room i have ever seen in a so called hotel.Laterooms you should remove it immediately-have you no quality filter???

Reviewed by
peter chappelow

From Ilkley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A old and new hotel in equal measures...
Quirky hotel, in obvious need of a refurb certainly in the room we stayed in. Quite a bit of character though; very squeaky stairs led up to our room, with its low ceiling, and dated wallpaper and wardrobes. Bathroom was poor I must say, and the room needs a total refurb. Comfy enough sleep, though I was worried about a ghost coming in the room, it was that sort of stay...pleasant staff, very polite.

Reviewed by
M Phillips

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was not clean, the decor was tired, the wash hand basin was cracked, the furniture was uncared for and one of the walls looked as if it had paint thrown at it. It took 20 minutes to organise five drinks and the barmaid needed to be told that gin and tonic should have ice and lemon. She had to go to the kitchen to find a lemon.

Reviewed by
C Smith

From Bognor Regis, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bedroom very modern, as was the shower room. Obviously had the designer treatment , and it was attractive. The 'common parts' were very tired and badly needed updating to the standard of the bedrooms. Staff pleasant if a bit dozy.

Reviewed by
S Ashworth

From Burford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Royal Oak, Sevenoaks
Old building, clean and fresh inside.
Friendly staff, good beer. Didn't eat there, so don't know about the food.
Nice clean room, slept well.
Cost relevant to the area.
Would stay here again.

Reviewed by
C Lewis

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful Weekend
Room + ensuite extremely comfortable. All staff very friendly and willing to help us. Hotel provided space for us to entertain visitors. Food very high quality. Could not have found a better place to stay.

Reviewed by
Mary M

From Republic of Ireland
Who stayed in January 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

adequate for purpose
Quite a sweet little single room but there was quite considerable road noise, not helped by the fact that the sash window wouldn't close properly. I was fairly surprised at the cost for the size / quality of room but there didn't seem to be a better alternative on short notice. It was a short stay so i didn't have an opportunity to test out any of the other facilities.

Reviewed by
J Goodson

From Mayfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming hotel near lovely Knole park
Charming hotel with very good food near lovely Knole park

Reviewed by
Nina H

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired town centre hotel
From the outside the hotel is promising. In a great location in the town centre within an easy walk of shops, restaurants and banks. Just a shame the place was run down. The room was functional, not sure why the heating was on full blast in July with the window open.. not very green. Some hot water, or even luke warm water, in the shower would have been nice. I gave up waiting to be served for breakfast and walked into town to find a nice coffee shop instead so can't comment on the food. Disappointing in the extreme.

Reviewed by
Diana C

From Redditch, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant stay

Reviewed by
Bryan W

From Stafford, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next