No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Minerva Hotel

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
2-3 THE CRESCENT , NEWQUAY, TR7 1DT
LOCATION,LOCATION,LOCATION. Family run and friendly, situated in the centre of Newquay, overlooking 8 miles of amazing Cornish coastline with outstanding views over the bay. Just a one minute walk onto the beach. Being fully licensed we offer a bar lounge with a separate TV & pool room .all rooms are en-suite with digital TV and tea/coffee making facilities. Towels changed daily and hair dryers supplied if needed along with iron and board. full English breakfast is available with endless supply or tea/coffee and toast cereals are also provided.

Limited parking is available on site, strictly on a first come first served basis.the road we are on is also free parking
Picture of Minerva Hotel, NEWQUAY at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 91 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 89% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hospitality
Hotel was in a great central location. John and Maxine were great hosts, very friendly and couldn't do enough for you. The room was a little tired however and noisy due to pipe work and squeaky doors and snorers! Breakfast was basic yet tasty and they gave you choices of what you wanted in your cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Sophie W

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

John and Maxine make you feel so at home, just a shame the annoying child in the room next door and what seemed to be the local meeting place of all local birds right outside our window meant I was up and awake most nights.

Reviewed by
James B

From Towcester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel and people
Highly accommodative staff made my fiancée and I feel totally at home. Hotel in a perfect location for the beach, town and general sightseeing. Food was cooked fresh on the morning of each breakfast and to order making for a delicious start to the day. Nothing was too much trouble for John (hotel owner and all round great guy) and we were truly made to feel more like family than guests. Rooms are basic but stunning due to the age of the hotel but provide all the essentials for your stay - after all we were on holiday to see Cornwall not to sit in our room. My fiancée and I would happily go back to the Minerva tomorrow if we could! We had a fantastic holiday but the staff at the Minerva made our fantastic holiday a holiday I could relive again and again.

Reviewed by
Matthew Nicol

From Inverness, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Minerva Hotel Great host - tired hotel
This hotel was in a great central location with lovely sea views and close to the town. However this also meant it was quite noisy in the early hours of the morning when others made their way home from the pubs and clubs. Although the hosts were very friendly and the room was very clean it was in desperate need of an update.

Reviewed by
caroline C

From torpoint, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

top hotel
the hotel was excellent in a fantastic location,the food very good and the people that ran it were so friendly and helpful

Reviewed by
p cartwright

From Nuneaton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family of four
Great location with sea views and over looking beach. John & Maxine who run the hotel couldn't have been more helpful & friendly. The rooms are a little out dated, but they are clean and good value for what you pay. Parking can be a bit of an issue as being so central. Would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
k alderson

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very nice hotel, staff very friendly, food good, found it a bit difficult to park but Staff helped with telling us where nearest long stay car park way, hotel is in lovely location, only slight issue was people going out for cigarettes all hours of the early morning, standing right under the bedroom window and there were rather noisy, we would visit again

Reviewed by
Tracey H

From Cannock, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great budget accommodation
Very well positioned for town and harbour - friendly welcome and good value

Reviewed by
Robert H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definitely return!
Great value for money! It is what is is, average hotel, lovely staff, great location, good food. We stayed in the family room with our 2 children 7 & 3yrs. Plenty of space in the room, and its split in 2 with a large opening to give the feel of 2 rooms but without worrying that the children are in a separate room alone. in one part a nice comfy double bed & in the second section of the room 2 single beds. Great that there's a TV in both rooms too!
The hotel could do with a lick of paint and bringing upto date, but for the price I'm not complaining! If I wanted posh decor & mod cons I certainly wouldn't have got it for such a cheap price.

Reviewed by
Rachel T

From Leigh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Landlord John
The owner John is a real diamond. Nothing is too much trouble for him & is always on hand if you need any help or information. The hotel is right by the beach with sea-views & in a road just around the corner from the shops & eateries on the main high street. The breakfasts are superb with more of everything if you want it. I would thoroughly recommend this hotel to anyone. John

Reviewed by
John Magor

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next