No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Black Dog Farm Bed & Breakfast

4Visit England Assessed Farmhouse Ratings explained
Black Dog Farm Near Longleat, Near Warminster, BA13 4AE
Black Dog Farm is a Grade II listed Georgian farmhouse close to the Wiltshire/Somerset border. We have created an elegant, comfortable home whilst retaining much of the traditional detail. A warm welcome awaits our Bed & Breakfast guests and after a good night’s sleep in one of our spacious en-suite bedrooms, a delicious breakfast will be on offer to start the next day. We have three large bedrooms available; all have facilities for making tea, coffee and hot chocolate and also have digital TV, DVD and free Wi-fi

Please note that the standard latest reservation time is 12 mid-day on the day of arrival and the latest check in time is 10 pm. Requests for exceptions to this policy should be made directly with the proprietor on 07878 954563.

The farmhouse dates back to the 1600s and is situated between the World Heritage Sites of Stonehenge (20 miles) and Bath (14 miles) It is d a 10 minute drive from Longleat and the market towns of Warminster, Westbury and Frome. Westbury offers a high speed mainline rail link to London Paddington and the South West. Warminster has rail links to Cardiff, Salisbury, Southampton and London Waterloo.

A bridle path leads from the farm into Chapmanslade village and there are some lovely woodland walks, especially in bluebell time. Deer, badgers and other wildlife can be seen from the farm, and we encourage wild birds. We can recommend several exceptionally good local pubs and restaurants for an evening meal and there are many interesting places to visit locally.

Our Somerset room has views across the Somerset and Wiltshire countryside, a 6’ double bed and we can add a child’s bed or cot if you need one. There is a pretty en suite bathroom with bath and shower.

The Wiltshire room has twin beds and a view across the Wiltshire countryside to Westbury. The en-suite bathroom has a shower with a whirlpool bath and a sofa bed for an extra guest if required.

Our Standerwick room is a lovely old beamed room, furnished in a farmhouse style. There is a comfortable queen-size bed and an en-suite shower room. The pretty arched window looks down on the kitchen garden as well as the ponds and stream.

All our guests are offered a full English Breakfast or Continental Breakfast. This is a very important meal and we hope to set you up well for the day ahead! Fraser makes an art form of the traditional English breakfast and really enjoys producing mouth watering, freshly cooked food. We have an extensive list for you to choose from and can cater for special diets on request. We make every effort to source our fresh food from local butchers and farms. The eggs are from our own flock of free range chicken and the bread is made freshly on site each day. Honey and marmalade are made locally and other produce is bought from Fair Trade sources wherever possible..

We really enjoy the garden and are happy to share it with our Bed & Breakfast guests. It is nice to sit with a glass of wine in the evening on the bench under the cherry tree where our Pekin Bantams range free in the garden during the day and go to bed at sundown. They earn their keep by ridding our garden of bugs, and are also very entertaining! We encourage a wide range of wild birds to feed in the garden and there is a very good view of them, as well as the bantams, from our breakfast room.

Picture of Black Dog Farm Bed & Breakfast, Near Warminster at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 17 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room, good size bed, excellent hosts!
Fraser & Lyn were so welcoming and catered very well for us and our 2 year old son (especially with bringing out a toy castle for him at breakfast to keep him entertained!). They also advised us on things to do locally and cooked a lovely breakfast. We would definitely re visit if we ever went back to the area.

Reviewed by
Lucy H

From Hastings, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely quirky farmhouse, a home from home. Nothing is too much trouble for Fraser and Lyn and we were well looked after. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
Melanie Westwood

From Halesowen, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best breakfast..................
Room was dated but in character I guess for an old farmhouse, no hot water available when arrived to run a bath and only just managed to get some in the morning, luckily the shower was electric and worked fine. The beds were comfy and we managed a pretty good nights sleep considering the B&B was on the main road (A36). The host was friendly and welcoming but above all the breakfast was out of this world and with homemade bread too!!!!

Reviewed by
C Young

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A friendly welcome
Outstanding bed breakfast , friendly welcome nothing to much trouble and good food what more could you ask , highly recommended.

Reviewed by
d whatley

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well received and most professionally run.
Absolutely no complaints whatsoever. Will use again when in the area

Reviewed by
Chris D

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly
Very accomodating nothing was to much trouble would stay again

Reviewed by
Terry T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Guest House
This is a beautiful guest house at a working farm.
The room was very comfortable, very spacious, and the beds were incredibly comfortable.
The room comes with a tv with an integrated dvd player. We took our on dvd's, but there is a small selection available to borrow from the hallway. There are also books and magazines.
The food was excellent and there's a brilliant choice. All done however you would like.
Every morning we were greeted with a very warm welcome and freshly baked bread! Fraser and Lynn were happy to speak with us and ask our plans and offer advice. We also talked about their lovely chickens quite a bit too.
The garden is beautiful and you should definitely spend some time there. There's also a bridal path running along side the house.
I couldn't fault this B&B at all and would recommend it to anyone. Be warned that breakfast is served rather early - 7:30-8:30. That was the only surprise! But the food was worth getting up for.

Reviewed by
Kelly R

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Charming and Friendly
My daughter and I stayed in the Somerset Room (double room) here for 2 nights, which was a very clean, big and comfortable room, with lovely views over the surrounding countryside. The hens were also entertaining and we really enjoyed watching them from our window overlooking the garden.

The cottage and the gardens were absolutely charming, beautifully restored with much love and care. During our whole stay we were looked after so well, nothing was too much trouble.
The breakfasts were just delicious, (the homemade bread and whisky marmalade were scrumptious).
We highly recommend this B & B, it is a great base for exploring the beautiful Wiltshire/Somerset area.
Thank you so much for looking after us so well.

Reviewed by
Helen W

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very warm welcome to attractive Georgian Farm House.
Warm and friendly welcome by Fraser and Lynne to their attractive Georgian Farm House. Lovely big bed room with two Georgian sash windows including original shutters and heavy curtains which reduce any traffic noise so no problem sleeping, fab views and all mod cons to large bathroom. Very large comfortable bed with very good quality bedding. Fantastic choice of breakfast with freshly laid eggs, home baked bread all perfectly cooked by Fraser.

Reviewed by
Vivian Newby

From Southwell, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home from home
You will receive a warm welcome when you arrive.The room was spotless and spacious.You are given a menu of what is available for breakfast and can have as much of as little as you like.You wake up to the smell of freshly baked bread every morning,bu twhat makes this B&B stand out from the rest are the owners Frazer and Lyn.From the time you arrive until the time you leave nothing is too much trouble.I would recommend this B&B to anyone.

Reviewed by
L White

From St Leonards on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next