No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Malvern Hills Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Wynds Point , Malvern, WR13 6DW
Here at the Malvern Hills we look forward to welcoming you for a relaxing break, delicious meal or a quiet drink in front of the fire. The Malvern Hills Hotel nestles high on the majestic western slopes of the Malverns, in the heart of an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and just a stone’s throw from the Iron Age hill fort, British Camp, also known as the Herefordshire Beacon.

Forming part of the hilltop border between Herefordshire and Worcestershire, the hotel provides an ideal base for walking or a centre for touring. Constructed in the early 19th century, it follows a five hundred year old tradition of a hostelry located on this picturesque site.

Local attractions include The Malvern Festival Theatre, Eastnor Castle and the Three Counties Showground. A short drive takes you to the historic city of Worcester, where you can visit the Cathedral, Worcester Porcelain and the Commandery.
Picture of The Malvern Hills Hotel, Malvern at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 12 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 86% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely hotel
We had a warm welcome and were personally shown to our room which is a service not often given these days. We had a four poster room which, though lovely, was not the one shown on their website. It didn't have a canopy but I can't deny that it had 4 posts. The bed was lovely and comfy. The food quality (we only had breakfast) was superb but sadly the service did not match. The waitress appeared to serve another table and then disappeared, completely ignoring us so we had to wait until she re-appeared before we could order tea and coffee. She came back a while later to take our food order but hadn't given us any menus. We both had a full English and it was delicious - the bacon and the sausage were especially good. I also had a croissant (well, I was on holiday!) and that was fresh from the oven - heaven! Though I did have to ask for it, having already ordered it earlier. It was also a bit cold in the dining room. The heating came on as we were leaving. Checkout was smooth and efficient. Overall a lovely hotel, let down only by the breakfast serving staff.

Reviewed by
Judy M

From Worcester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
We made a last minute booking and were very pleased with the room we were allocated and our stay on the whole. Apart from breakfast, we did not eat at the hotel restaurant as we had been recommended the Wellington Inn a couple of miles away from the hotel. Well worth eating there.

Reviewed by
C Harvey

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel that doesn't rely on its location
This hotel is situated perfectly for walking in either direction along the hills with paths literally adjacent to the buildings - no need for the car. This means the public areas are busy at breakfast and lunch with walkers giving it a warm atmosphere. However the hotel does not rest on its laurels of being well placed; the room was very clean and apparently recently refurbished and the food very good (we had 2 evening meals and 2 breakfasts). The junior staff we friendly and attentive and apologetic and accommodating when there was a mix up with a meal order. When we checked out the apparently more senior person on reception wasn't terribly warm and we felt we had to use our customer service skills to win them over rather than vice versa! Otherwise a really good hotel for the weekend, good value and worth revisiting.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Banbury, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here before about 10 years ago and was just as impressed this time. Clean, comfortable room, good food and beer. Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Mark R

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Only stopped over for one night when visiting the Malvins on a short break but found the team very welcoming. The arrival was nice and smooth with rooms already prepared. Reasonable view from our room (number 100) and although next to the road we did not experience any traffic noise. Room was comfortably furnished to a good standard and very clean. Breakfast the next day was good and plentiful and unhurried. Would recommend this as a place to stop - the rates were very good and to be fair much better than other establishments near by, but depends very much on your budget and what you want.

Reviewed by
Keith Harris

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everyone we met there was very welcoming and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our evening meal in the conservatory was delicious and breakfast the following morning was just as good. Our room faced towards British Camp and the A449 so there was some traffic noise through the night as we needed to open the window for ventilation, but I suspect there are quieter rooms. The location is perfect if you are walking in the Malvern Hills.

Reviewed by
June H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location for walkers
We stayed here some years ago and returned because of the wonderful location; there is a footpath opposite the hotel up onto the Malvern Hills and the views are fantastic on clear summer days.The beds are soft and comfortable and the English cooked breakfast is very good: there's plenty of it and its filling. We had no difficulty finding a parking space and our room was ready when we arrived shortly after 1pm. Our only criticism is that the hot water in our bathroom was mostly lukewarm but as we didn't want a bath we weren't worried about it. We were lucky to be able to get a last minute booking in such beautiful weather.

Reviewed by
Helen R

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

malvern stay
We had a wonderfull stay at this hotel . The location is excellent. The staff were really nice.The room we were given was on the small side but the view made up for that. We had two evening meals and two breakfasts and all were very good, We were going home but decided to stay an extra night. \i would deffinately recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
s bownes

From peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 1 night, couldn't fault the welcome, room, food & general cleanliness. Evening staff worked very hard to ensure I had a pleasant experience. In the morning, however, I seemed to have been transported to another hotel, the only person on breakfast duty appeared surly, asked if I wanted tea/coffee whilst I had a mouth full of cereal & by the time I'd swallowed she'd disappeared never to return. So no coffee & no breakfast!! On attempting to check out (hungry) the reception was initially deserted until a guy eventually appeared telling me that all was dealt with, all paid, nothing to sign, following day I had a call from Laterooms accusing me of not paying my bill! called the hotel & paid, asking for a receipt by email which did not arrive & mentioned the breakfast issue. Not interested...just pay the bill was the impression I got. Shame, nice hotel but let down by the attitude of the morning staff. Stay again? probably not.

Reviewed by
Roy D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding..couldn't fault the hotel in the slightest

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next