No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Malvern Hills Hotel

3AA Assessed Country House Hotel Ratings explained
Wynds Point , Malvern, WR13 6DW
Here at the Malvern Hills we look forward to welcoming you for a relaxing break, delicious meal or a quiet drink in front of the fire. The Malvern Hills Hotel nestles high on the majestic western slopes of the Malverns, in the heart of an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty and just a stone’s throw from the Iron Age hill fort, British Camp, also known as the Herefordshire Beacon.

Forming part of the hilltop border between Herefordshire and Worcestershire, the hotel provides an ideal base for walking or a centre for touring. Constructed in the early 19th century, it follows a five hundred year old tradition of a hostelry located on this picturesque site.

Local attractions include The Malvern Festival Theatre, Eastnor Castle and the Three Counties Showground. A short drive takes you to the historic city of Worcester, where you can visit the Cathedral, Worcester Porcelain and the Commandery.
Picture of The Malvern Hills Hotel, Malvern at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money
Only stopped over for one night when visiting the Malvins on a short break but found the team very welcoming. The arrival was nice and smooth with rooms already prepared. Reasonable view from our room (number 100) and although next to the road we did not experience any traffic noise. Room was comfortably furnished to a good standard and very clean. Breakfast the next day was good and plentiful and unhurried. Would recommend this as a place to stop - the rates were very good and to be fair much better than other establishments near by, but depends very much on your budget and what you want.

Reviewed by
Keith Harris

From Walsall, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Everyone we met there was very welcoming and couldn't have been more friendly or helpful. Our evening meal in the conservatory was delicious and breakfast the following morning was just as good. Our room faced towards British Camp and the A449 so there was some traffic noise through the night as we needed to open the window for ventilation, but I suspect there are quieter rooms. The location is perfect if you are walking in the Malvern Hills.

Reviewed by
June H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely location for walkers
We stayed here some years ago and returned because of the wonderful location; there is a footpath opposite the hotel up onto the Malvern Hills and the views are fantastic on clear summer days.The beds are soft and comfortable and the English cooked breakfast is very good: there's plenty of it and its filling. We had no difficulty finding a parking space and our room was ready when we arrived shortly after 1pm. Our only criticism is that the hot water in our bathroom was mostly lukewarm but as we didn't want a bath we weren't worried about it. We were lucky to be able to get a last minute booking in such beautiful weather.

Reviewed by
Helen R

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

malvern stay
We had a wonderfull stay at this hotel . The location is excellent. The staff were really nice.The room we were given was on the small side but the view made up for that. We had two evening meals and two breakfasts and all were very good, We were going home but decided to stay an extra night. \i would deffinately recommend this hotel.

Reviewed by
s bownes

From peterborough, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed 1 night, couldn't fault the welcome, room, food & general cleanliness. Evening staff worked very hard to ensure I had a pleasant experience. In the morning, however, I seemed to have been transported to another hotel, the only person on breakfast duty appeared surly, asked if I wanted tea/coffee whilst I had a mouth full of cereal & by the time I'd swallowed she'd disappeared never to return. So no coffee & no breakfast!! On attempting to check out (hungry) the reception was initially deserted until a guy eventually appeared telling me that all was dealt with, all paid, nothing to sign, following day I had a call from Laterooms accusing me of not paying my bill! called the hotel & paid, asking for a receipt by email which did not arrive & mentioned the breakfast issue. Not interested...just pay the bill was the impression I got. Shame, nice hotel but let down by the attitude of the morning staff. Stay again? probably not.

Reviewed by
Roy D

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Outstanding..couldn't fault the hotel in the slightest

Reviewed by
Sarah E

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

over night stay
we only had one night, a little short for a review. Our room was comfortable and clean with fresh towels and a selection of tea/coffee . the heating was on but could not feel heat extra electric fan heater in cupboard available worked well Shower needed a bit of adjustment .Very nice meal in the bar/ restaurant. lunch time and dinner.

Reviewed by
R MacDiarmid

From England
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel
Room was very clean and comfortable - we felt it was a little overpriced at £100. Shower was rather lacklustre and no little extras. Staff very pleasant and helpful - we ate in the bar and the food was good. Breakfast was varied although the omelette was disappointing. We enjoyed our stay and the area was great ( even in the pouring rain!) - nice little hotel with quirky high points!

Reviewed by
Judith M

From Todmorden, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our second stay at this lovely hotel
Once again we received a warm welcome from the staff. After a small mix up with which room we'd been allocated we found ourselves with an upgrade to a beautiful 4 poster room with a luxurious, spacious bathroom. The bed itself was incredibly comfortable and I had a lovely night's sleep.
The only drawback with the bathroom was that it had no extractor, so it remained steamed up for qjuite a while after using the shower. Some form of underfloor heating would have been nice too - but that's because I forgot my slippers, and the bathroom floor struck rather cold in the middle of the night!
Apart from that, faultless. We had a meal there too which while a bit on the expensive side was well worth the treat as the quality and presentation were lovely. The bar and waiting staff were polite and professional (not to mention very cheery) and nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly peaceful
Husband and stayed just one night on 22nd December 2012 while visiting the area. There was a warm welcome for us by the reception staff. We were actually shown to our room instead of just being given the key which makes a nice change.
The room itself was on the first floor away from the bar and restaurant noise and I was pleased with its location as I have trouble with too many stairs. The room was very clean, beautifully decorated and the bed incredibly comfortable. I slept really well!
My one gripe about the room was that it was too hot even with the windows open.
We ate at the restaurant and I have to say the food was well presented and delicious.
We enjoyed our stay and will be coming back at the first opportunity.

Reviewed by
Linda B

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next