No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Poachers Pocket

3Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Nr Burlescombe , TIVERTON, EX16 7JY
The poachers pocket it is a family run hotel located on the A38 on the devon and somerset border with good transport links from J26 and J27 of the M5 and parkway railway station.

The poachers pocket is a quaint 17th century coaching inn with extensive views accross the rolling blackdown hills.

Our comfortable rooms have all been tastefully designed to ensure that you have an enjoyable stay.

We have a popular restaurant and pride ourselves on serving traditional home cooked fayre. We have an extensive wine list and real ales amongst other drinks available from the bar.

Each of our rooms contain-

- Flat screen digital TV's
- En suite or private bathrooms
- Showers
- Country views
- Tea and coffee making facilities

All guests receive a choice of cuisine for breakfast including cooked English breakfast, Toast and Cereals.

Picture of The Poachers Pocket, TIVERTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a liitle gem!
What a little gem - warm welcome and shown to room by the landlord. Quirky un-even floor in the bedroom just added character. Unpretentious menu with excellent home cooked food. Excellent value for money - we will be returning.

Reviewed by
Tony S

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice Country inn, easy to get to, convenient location, friendly host
Stayed 2 nights on a business trip. Very friendly host, good choice of food and drinks for dinner, cooked breakfast included in price. Free WiFi. Only drawback: no pets allowed.

Reviewed by
Michael H

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Picturesque at the poachers pocket
Typical old English style building, spacious rooms with everything you need for a comfortable stay.

Reviewed by
Matthew S

From Epsom, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

three budget rooms in separate corner of hotel with family bathroom.
We have a three year old and two teenagers so this accommodation was excellent for us. The hotel owners were lovely and very helpful. The rooms were described as budget but it was more quality than that. We would stay there again and would recommend it. The only thing that you could improve on is that breakfast was finished by nine and we felt ten was adequate. Also the hotel is on a busy road and no noise was heard from inside the front door was open and exposed and our young son made us uneasy being in the hallway as we feared he would dart out onto the road without some barrier. On a whole. A great stay.

Reviewed by
j jones

From Hereford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing and comfortable hotel
Stayed in lovely family room, lots of space and character. Good quality food and friendly welcome. A perfect stop off on route to Plymouth from Ipswich.

Reviewed by
Deirdre M

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleased with the quality of service from friendly owners and staff. It was pleasantly comfortable to stay for a few days while visiting family. Food very good and plenty of it.

Reviewed by
L Birkett

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Poachers Pocket
We had a very enjoyable stay and were well looked after from the time we arrived until the time we left. The owners were extremely friendly and the home cooked food provided to us was excellent. We would certainly go back

Reviewed by
e messam

From trowbridge, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful old inn
An interesting and beautiful old inn, right on the a38 but with quiet rooms and a friendly landlord. Close to a m5 junction and near the old town of Tiverton.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline T

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Welcoming and hospitable, room comfortable and well-appointed, will visit again when in the area

Reviewed by
John H

From Lancing, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very good, friendly, good food and service could have done with some fans in bedroom as it was very hot at night

Reviewed by
A Adams

From Berkeley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next