No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY
The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 123 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great First Visit - upgraded on arrival to a lovely spacious, contemporary room. Will be back!
Excellent standard of cleanliness and comfort. Loved the bath, separate shower and separate toilet facilities which were both practical, high quality and offered plenty of space. Although we did not use the lounge, bar or library area, they looked inviting and the ambiance offered by the hotel is good. We were lucky with a parking space outside the hotel, but the public car park is just next door, so no real problem. Breakfast was OK, but not exceptional.
Great location - easy walk to the cathedral.

Reviewed by
Rosalind S

From Winchester, UK
Who stayed in February 2015

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Gorgeous boutique hotel
The Magdalen Chapter was a lovely find. Attentive staff, polite and helpful. A beautifully clean and modern room. The small spa and pool (inside and out) were perfect, even if only on our overnight stay!

Reviewed by
L Farmer

From Weybridge, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another Great Stay!
This is our second stay and was just as good as the last time. This time we ordered room service and the food was excellent and easy to order on the ipad each room has. The service was brilliant too. I also had a treatment in the spa and again service and treatment was brilliant. The hotel is also in walking distance to the shopping centre. Will be returning again soon! 😊

Reviewed by
victoria s

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Magdalen Chapter
Lovely hotel , very friendly staff , can't wait to go back

Reviewed by
N Bacon

From Bodmin, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Magdalen Chapter
Beautiful hotel, especially loved the indoor - outdoor pool which was magical at night time.
Amazingly comfortable bed, and nice touches with the REN toiletries and Nespresso machine.
We couldn't work our air con but this wasn't a major problem or we would have gone to reception to sort it.
The only thing that was a negative was no toothpaste in the rooms! We assumed the hotel would provide a small tube so were left having to do a midnight run for some.
Other than that minor detail a fantastic stay, will definitely return next time we're in Exeter.

Reviewed by
Rosie P

From London, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Arrived slightly early than check in but told our room was ready. We arrived in our room slightly smaller than last time we stayed but lovely nonetheless. A request for Champagne and card were required but the card was for someone else and no champagne. Called reception and they remedied it by sending two glasses on the house and a card to the right person this time. Made good use of the lovely pool definitely a must. The restaurant was lovely as always, attentive service but not overdone and a lovely menu to choose from. The ipad kept sticking when trying to play music. Overall a nice stay definitely would recommend and return

Reviewed by
J Birch

From Sherborne, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Check in very quick and polite . Car parking at hotel is limited you may have to use municipal parking opposite hotel. Location is great for city and shopping . We have stayed here before and would stay again .

Reviewed by
jeffery b

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and very dog friendly
Dogs get wonderful treatment here, humans do pretty well too. Everything spotlessly clean and staff very friendly. Food good and service mostly good also, serving staff sometimes a little distracted but that may have been the xmas service effect (e.g. 3 attempts to get coffee at breakfast). Room very compact, would recommend upgrading if you are staying more than a night or two.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

limited parking is a disadvantage,if you cannot park at hotel(only about 10 spaces you will need to find alternative parking which is very costly.We were disappointed with our cooked breakfast.Our bedroom was tiny.

Reviewed by
k barnes

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique hotel in central location
The Magdalen Chapter is a quirky boutique hotel in what used to be the West of England Eye Hospital . The building has been sympathetically updated retaining many fascinating features such as original signs, however because of the layout rooms can be compact. Ours was perfectly adequate but would have been better with a comfy chair to sit on. The complementary mini bar was a bonus although only beer and soft drinks were provided ; we also had free daily newspapers . The room was very well soundproofed so despite being at the front of the hotel on quite a busy road it was very quiet ( we also had no problems with noise from the bar which was very busy when we arrived ) .
The facilities are well presented, the gym is small but well - equipped and we enjoyed using the indoor/ outdoor pool , swimming in a warm pool at night outside in the rain is a surreal experience!
It is a bit difficult to find your way around the spa and pool and these are across the garden so a bit chilly if you are just in a spa robe, also the staff member in the spa reception forgot to give us locker keys .
Staff at reception were very helpful, the set up is unusual with no reception desk and they give you an iPad on arrival to use in your room which is fine if you are technically savvy. Parking is very limited but this is stated on the website and there is a pay and display close by .Exeter cathedral , town centre and quays are all within easy walking distance and it is a short drive to the University .
I thought the weekend price with no breakfast included was a bit steep for Devon but overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Francesca N

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next