No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 132 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

city break
Check in very quick and polite . Car parking at hotel is limited you may have to use municipal parking opposite hotel. Location is great for city and shopping . We have stayed here before and would stay again .

Reviewed by
jeffery b

From Barnstaple, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very comfortable and very dog friendly
Dogs get wonderful treatment here, humans do pretty well too. Everything spotlessly clean and staff very friendly. Food good and service mostly good also, serving staff sometimes a little distracted but that may have been the xmas service effect (e.g. 3 attempts to get coffee at breakfast). Room very compact, would recommend upgrading if you are staying more than a night or two.

Reviewed by
paul m

From Felixstowe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

limited parking is a disadvantage,if you cannot park at hotel(only about 10 spaces you will need to find alternative parking which is very costly.We were disappointed with our cooked breakfast.Our bedroom was tiny.

Reviewed by
k barnes

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Boutique hotel in central location
The Magdalen Chapter is a quirky boutique hotel in what used to be the West of England Eye Hospital . The building has been sympathetically updated retaining many fascinating features such as original signs, however because of the layout rooms can be compact. Ours was perfectly adequate but would have been better with a comfy chair to sit on. The complementary mini bar was a bonus although only beer and soft drinks were provided ; we also had free daily newspapers . The room was very well soundproofed so despite being at the front of the hotel on quite a busy road it was very quiet ( we also had no problems with noise from the bar which was very busy when we arrived ) .
The facilities are well presented, the gym is small but well - equipped and we enjoyed using the indoor/ outdoor pool , swimming in a warm pool at night outside in the rain is a surreal experience!
It is a bit difficult to find your way around the spa and pool and these are across the garden so a bit chilly if you are just in a spa robe, also the staff member in the spa reception forgot to give us locker keys .
Staff at reception were very helpful, the set up is unusual with no reception desk and they give you an iPad on arrival to use in your room which is fine if you are technically savvy. Parking is very limited but this is stated on the website and there is a pay and display close by .Exeter cathedral , town centre and quays are all within easy walking distance and it is a short drive to the University .
I thought the weekend price with no breakfast included was a bit steep for Devon but overall we had a very pleasant stay.

Reviewed by
Francesca N

From Abertawe, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An old hospital that still feels clinical!
I stayed here for one night whilst visiting my daughter at university. Despite the lovely fires in the reception areas, I felt this was a cold hotel. My room was like a prison cell and the laminate floor made it echo like one too! The bed was not soft and welcoming and the duvet was very light, so I put one of their lovely toweling robes on it to add weight.
I had the continental breakfast and my croissant was stale.
Not the best of stays and I would not go there again.

Reviewed by
D Stollery

From Fordingbridge, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Room could easily be kept at the required temperature. Towels of wonderful size and thickness. Wonderful bed and duvet. Excellent lighting in room and bathroom, could see to read and apply make-up! All simple things but very rare that all are present.

Reviewed by
Rose d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There is no real parking
Hotel was fine, but there are 11 car parking spaces for 59 rooms.It would be better to have no parking but a 'drop off' area. It was chaos getting in and out with bags. They shoudl subsidise teh local pay and display car park for guests

Reviewed by
P Brown

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Room great ,food fantastic, staff friendly, bed very comfortable what else can I say though not a cheap option still worth paying the extra for - oh and nice pool too!

Reviewed by
S Field

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush place to stay
Fantastic modern hotel. Luxurious rooms and great location. Staff were very attentive and knowledgeable of the area. We would definitely recommend . Thank you

Reviewed by
Gemma F

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, lots of character with unique features.
Rooms are very well appointed with the extra touches that you would expect for the price.
Bed and bedding were really comfortable.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was a little disappointing as was the service, with one member of staff in particular being annoyingly over familiar, however a little guidance from an experienced member of staff would set her on the right path to being an extremely capable waitress.
Breakfast was excellent.
Overall a super place to base yourself to enjoy Exeter.

Reviewed by
C Garrud

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next