No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 131 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Great hotel full of technology

Reviewed by
r tyler

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The magdalen..... hotel of pure quality
Had the most fantastic stay at this hotel . Nicol at front of house was so welcomeing great first impression and even better lasting leaving impressions. Food and drink were top quality and customer service was pure class!!!! Room 101 had a serious room with a view very elegant. Will be returning to this hotel again and will highly recommend it to Anyone. A must see hotel

Reviewed by
T Taylor

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
We had a really great time here. The garden was especially lovely place to sit and relax. Staff were very helpful, friendly and seemed quite genuine. Food was good, tiny bit expensive maybe, but certainly a lot better than a lot of places we have stayed (that charge similar prices). We had a three course meal plus drinks which came to around £150 (two people).
Great touches too.. The iPad is a great idea and free mini bar was a good touch.. So what if only a couple of free drinks!?
Only bad points: the room was a touch too Ikea for me and all a bit style over substance, with bits of it being badly thought out. The mini bar fridge was rubbish and didn't keep the drinks cold. The pool is small. The lounge bar could have a better selection of beer.. Some proper grown ups ale would be a good start. I also thought the wine list was a bit limited and a tad unoriginal.
And.... When we checked out, being presented with our bill and asked "did I want to see a break down", which I thought I'd better had, there was an extra bottle of fizz added to the bill (£28). I pointed out the error and the chap did finally remove it from the bill, but only after some awkward moments and repeatedly asking me "are you sure you didn't have two??.." And running off to find the receipts, which didn't prove anything anyway! They'd obviously just rung it through the till twice, by mistake. I assured the lad, if we'd had all those drinks plus that extra bottle, between just the two off us; I would not be up that early.
I noted the couple attempting to check out next to us having a similar conversation actually, about a phantom main course that had made its way to their tab.. So, point being: check your bill! I don't think for one second they were trying to fleece us, just all very busy at service and mistakes obviously made.
This would not stop us going back. We had a great time and it's a really lovely place; great food, fantastic location.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and shower room were both quite small but the bed was very comfortable. There was a lack of hanging space for work clothes. However, the food was very excellent and consistently good over the three days. Parking was a problem as the nearby car park was on a nasty bend for crossing the road to the hotel. Better to travel by train.

Reviewed by
Lesley T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
Stayed in this hotel while attending a family party. Service was efficient, asked for our room to be available earlier than the advertised check in time and this was accommodated. Standard room a little small but well appointed, modern, clean, bed comfortable. Good breakfast choice, with some things different from the usual full English.
Would have
Iked to try the spa and pool, but family commitments prevented us having the time. May well come back when more time available to try it then and have longer to look around the pretty city and surrounds.

Reviewed by
Angela J

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Slick... on the surface...
A mixed experience. Bed comfy, room cramped, chic ' modernist/arty' decor looked good but quality not there once you start to look more closely. Food enjoyable , though restaurant staff surprisingly uninformed (when my 'belly pork arrived looking suspiciously like a leg of duck , on asking what it was, waiter said ' it's your erm.. Meat' he went to check then came back with ' it's your duck' - all sorted by his colleague and a glass of wine comped to make up for it.) Kitchen open to restaurant meant arguments between staff and chef at breakfast overheard.
House staff uninformed about featured art work ( the fancy reception 'sculpture' ) but otherwise helpful.
Pool enjoyable.
Staff uniforms a real mystery; dated, Ill-fitting and unflattering, overall staff looked as if bussed in from a premier Inn!
Parking restricted, though car park across the road is close, but expensive.
Overall: go if you can get a deal on the price, and value tech-y gadgets over quality- we wouldn't go back.

Reviewed by
Tina H

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic service , room and food dont look anywhere else
This hotel ticked all the boxes for us.
Old school historic building with all its fantastic architecture with modern boutique interior,
Staff where all friendly and couldn’t help enough, relaxed atmosphere and the pool is great, was raining when we arrived but reception encouraged us to use the pool anyway and it was awesome very warm and no one else using it.
We where planning on going into town for dinner but decided to stay and have dinner which was also great and the wine list has plenty to pick from.
As with all hotels Sunday morning breakfast was very busy but they advice with a note under the door to beat the rush at 9.30 and we took this advise and was in the restaurant for 9 am not very ones idea of a Sunday morning but suited us and everything was cooked fresh to order and we didn’t have to wait what so ever.
We will be staying again as it was simple brilliant

Reviewed by
Jon Julian

From Southampton, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

High quality dog friendly hotel
First class accommodation, including a well stocked up to date library. Enthusiastic and helpful staff. Car parking space limited, public car park across the road.

Reviewed by
Philip P

From London, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We booked late so only a small room available but it was great for the couple of nights we stayed. Comfy bed. Nice communal areas. Service staff were great and seemed pleased to help

Reviewed by
T Farrant

From Bath, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A very high quality room with great food.
We enjoyed two nights here and as well as a complementary upgrade of rooms were also very impressed with the staff and superb food. Our stay coincided with 'steak night' in the restaurant which we were very impressed with, as we were with all our meals. Will definitely stay again when next in Devon, and will remember our swimming costumes next time!

Reviewed by
Tim Martin

From Radstock, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next