No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 141 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There is no Parking facility. Hotel must make an arrangement with the Council to allow free parking in the Car Park

Reviewed by
A G Karim

From Little Chalfont, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Always enjoy staying here, so relaxing.

Reviewed by
Jonathan Banyard

From Tavistock, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good stay, could have been great
I just stayed here for two nights this August and it was generally a very pleasant stay, I might stay again but there were a few minor points that, for the price of the accommodation might make me think twice. The room was large and quiet, the bed very comfortable and the bedding was excellent. Plenty of towels and I particularly liked all the different lighting options and the speakers in the bathroom. Another nice touch is the fresh milk in the fridge for making tea.
There were a few minor points... the ipad connection wasn't always reliable, it kept cutting out - we had to reset the tv and the ipad dock to get music to play. There was also an old tea/coffee stain going up the wall.. I couldn't easily find any information about when breakfast was served and it wasn't explained when we arrived, also, when you do arrive it's not that easy to spot reception - most hotels have a desk - this one has a piece of wood. It looks groovy but also looks a bit like a private meeting room..especially when you arrive tired...
I was a bit disappointed with breakfast - couldn't fault the staff, they are totally lovely but the actual cooked food is less than I was hoping for. Under done scrambled eggs, one piece of bacon, rather nasty mushrooms etc..
This is a nice hotel and I did have a lovely stay but having just stayed in a similarly priced hotel in London there were just these minor tweaks that could have turned a good stay into a fabulous one.

Reviewed by
H Murrie

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful
Very much luxury. Lovely rooms, great location. Wonderful gardens and pool. Helpful staff when we momentarily lost our 5 year old!

Reviewed by
J Mason

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why aye, canny hotel

Quite a surprise behind the auspicious looking facade.
The grounds of the hotel are surprisingly spacious and relaxing, with many areas inside and out for working / socialising / eating & drinking.
The hotel is very well decorated and our room was well laid out.
The free minibar went down a treat!
The ipads allocated to each room are a great idea, along with the rest of the great technology provisions in the room, including the mood lighting and very decent digital TV coverage.
Although there was no parking left outside the building by the time we arrived, there was a car park opposite, where it was possible to pay for the next morning in advance so as not to interrupt our lie-in.
Breakfast was lovely, with a great choice of a la carte options (we particularly recommend the Eggs Benedict, it's well yum).
We appreciated the easy going yet efficient nature of the staff.
We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone,

Reviewed by
L H F

From Sevenoaks, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overall opinion
The room was pleasant but very small, it did have everything we needed. Bit disappointed to get a very dirty belt on one of our bath robes. We went to the Spa and they kindly changed it.

Reviewed by
S Hale

From Weston Super Mare, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Old eye hospital tastefully restored , 10 minute walk to city centre , good breakfast on terrace in sun , did not use spa/pool but looked fine. ipad a waste of time , room a bit small for price one is charged , easy to miss as not sign posted well if coming from Motorway from Heavitree area. Carparking for very few cars so if you are unlucky you have to park on council flat short term carpark with no concession for guests so expensive addition to stay

Reviewed by
philip c

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Surpassed our expectations
We stayed in a Feature Room with our baby and couldn't fault the hotel. Every detail is thought about and the iPads for each room are such a fantastic idea I'm not sure why other boutique hotels aren't doing it. You can order room service with a tap of the screen - perhaps this should be kept away from little hands!! The beds are comfy, pool small but inviting, food delicious and whole experience well worth it. We would definitely go back!

Reviewed by
Kitty P

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very relaxing stay at the Magdalen Chapter
Really enjoyed our stay here. The pool was smaller than expected but heated to a perfect temperature for our 16 month old. Food was excellent, particularly the dinner. However, the rooms are quite expensive for their size, even taking into account the discount we got through LateRooms. Would only stay again if at a discounted rate.

Reviewed by
R Patterson

From London, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mag-nificent

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next