No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY
The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 130 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
93% recommended this accommodation to a friend 93% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best hotels I have stayed in. Room could easily be kept at the required temperature. Towels of wonderful size and thickness. Wonderful bed and duvet. Excellent lighting in room and bathroom, could see to read and apply make-up! All simple things but very rare that all are present.

Reviewed by
Rose d

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

There is no real parking
Hotel was fine, but there are 11 car parking spaces for 59 rooms.It would be better to have no parking but a 'drop off' area. It was chaos getting in and out with bags. They shoudl subsidise teh local pay and display car park for guests

Reviewed by
P Brown

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel
Room great ,food fantastic, staff friendly, bed very comfortable what else can I say though not a cheap option still worth paying the extra for - oh and nice pool too!

Reviewed by
S Field

From Bourne, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lush place to stay
Fantastic modern hotel. Luxurious rooms and great location. Staff were very attentive and knowledgeable of the area. We would definitely recommend . Thank you

Reviewed by
Gemma F

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, lots of character with unique features.
Rooms are very well appointed with the extra touches that you would expect for the price.
Bed and bedding were really comfortable.
The food in the restaurant in the evening was a little disappointing as was the service, with one member of staff in particular being annoyingly over familiar, however a little guidance from an experienced member of staff would set her on the right path to being an extremely capable waitress.
Breakfast was excellent.
Overall a super place to base yourself to enjoy Exeter.

Reviewed by
C Garrud

From Spalding, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A bit let down
I stayed here with my mum for a treat for the two of us. I picked this hotel as I thought it looked a nice boutique hotel with the added luxury extras.
On arrival the receptionist was pleasant but did not give us any information, directions to the room and wasn't overly welcoming.
On arrival to our room, I noted it was quite small (superior room), cramped and not very clean - There was hair in the shower still, crumbs on the floor and smearing on the mirror. Furthermore the fridge or cooler as they called in when we complained wasn't working - They did nothing to resolve this, So we ended up having warm drinks.
In addition to this, there were no what i call extras; i would expect for the money a vanity kit, or some extra shower toiletries, maybe a welcome book or something.
The decoration was modern, although it looked like it needed touching up with scuffs, chipping paint and mould in the bathroom and room.
I am not a fussy person and will accept anything but i felt that I had paid a fair ammount for this hotel, and was epxecting to find a little bit of luxury in a lovely boutique hotel. Unfortunately I wasn't pleased with my room, and found it to be a bit of a let down.

Reviewed by
holly j

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great city break
Booked in for one evening after a days shopping and before a days walking.
Staff very friendly and helpful and the room was fabulous. Everything very clean.
Enjoyed a swim in the pool (in the rain!) followed by a great dinner in the hotel restaurant. Would definitely recommend hotel to anyone wanting a chic stay in Exeter.

Reviewed by
D De Beer

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel - we'll be back
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay - all the staff were really friendly and helpful, the room was great with lovely toiletries and a complimentary mini bar, and the bar and restaurant were excellent. Loved the design and artwork around the hotel.

Reviewed by
Clive P

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice but missing a few minor details
Hotel is nice and modern, with good facilities. The Ipad is a treat upon arrival however I did feel that it lacked in the information provided. It does not give you the bar/dinner menu or cocktail menu which I thought a bit strange. It doesn't explain minor details such as breakfast times or menu; which we had to ask at reception as the info was not provided when we checked in either. There is a lot of mod cons in the room but again, I do feel that it is not fully explained how to use things and what things are. In fact we almost felt that there was to much technology that it was a bit wasted on us and we are a young couple in our 20's. There is a volume switch in the bathroom but it doesn't explain anywhere what it is or how to use it. The room has clearly been designed by a man as the hairdryer (although stretchy) does not reach the mirror which is a real minor but important factor for us girls. There was a dressing table with room to sit and dry your hair but no mirror. The room was not very clean, a lot of things had been missed. Breakfast was dreadful. The pool facilities were nice but yet again not enough information available about the lockers/changing facilities etc which was a shame. Bit of a disappointment for the price.

Reviewed by
K Morrison

From Deal, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very poor parking
Considering the extreme lack of parking for a premium priced hotel I think the nearby car park should be credited to the room.

Reviewed by
S Hatfield

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next