Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter


The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (88)

88% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • D Willis

  • March 2015

Seems you get the 'cheap rooms' when you use Late Rooms

Have stayed at the Magdalene Chapter on several occasions, always booking a Deluxe Room and have always been impressed, so much so that I have left glowing reviews on Trip Advisor.

Booked this 2 night stay for my 50th birthday - a deluxe room. Upon arrival was allocated room 303 which I know is not deluxe at all. It is situated by a fire door and by the lift. Windowless (except for skylights) and incredibly poky toilet and shower area. Random huge bath. Had to pay to upgrade to another room, and found Feature Room 221 perfect, it was right next door to the Deluxe Room No:222, I'd booked on my previous visit and of a comparable comfort level, the Feature Room was much bigger however. I am so disappointed by this experience, it's put me off staying there again.

Wonder if it's a punishment for using LateRooms bargain rather than booking with the hotel, because I had emailed them and asked them to pricematch prior to booking as I am aware they pay a premium for using a booking site - I wanted to demonstrate my loyalty as a customer. Such a shame to treat repeat guests poorly. Can't fault any other aspect of this hotel. Food, service, cleanliness and ambience are fab!

  • Tim Robbins

  • March 2015

The Magdalen Chapter


  • ben P

  • March 2015

City break only

Rooms are short on space

  • Rosalind S

  • February 2015

Great First Visit - upgraded on arrival to a lovely spacious, contemporary room. Will be back!

Excellent standard of cleanliness and comfort.

Loved the bath, separate shower and separate toilet facilities which were both practical, high quality and offered plenty of space. Although we did not use the lounge, bar or library area, they looked inviting and the ambiance offered by the hotel is good. We were lucky with a parking space outside the hotel, but the public car park is just next door, so no real problem. Breakfast was OK, but not exceptional. Great location - easy walk to the cathedral.

  • L Farmer

  • January 2015

Gorgeous boutique hotel

The Magdalen Chapter was a lovely find.

Attentive staff, polite and helpful. A beautifully clean and modern room. The small spa and pool (inside and out) were perfect, even if only on our overnight stay!

  • victoria s

  • January 2015

Another Great Stay!

This is our second stay and was just as good as the last time.

This time we ordered room service and the food was excellent and easy to order on the ipad each room has. The service was brilliant too. I also had a treatment in the spa and again service and treatment was brilliant. The hotel is also in walking distance to the shopping centre. Will be returning again soon. 😊

  • N Bacon

  • December 2014

The Magdalen Chapter

Lovely hotel , very friendly staff , can't wait to go back

  • Rosie P

  • December 2014

The Magdalen Chapter

Beautiful hotel, especially loved the indoor - outdoor pool which was magical at night time.

Amazingly comfortable bed, and nice touches with the REN toiletries and Nespresso machine. We couldn't work our air con but this wasn't a major problem or we would have gone to reception to sort it. The only thing that was a negative was no toothpaste in the rooms. We assumed the hotel would provide a small tube so were left having to do a midnight run for some.

Other than that minor detail a fantastic stay, will definitely return next time we're in Exeter.

  • J Birch

  • December 2014

Arrived slightly early than check in but told our room was ready.

We arrived in our room slightly smaller than last time we stayed but lovely nonetheless. A request for Champagne and card were required but the card was for someone else and no champagne. Called reception and they remedied it by sending two glasses on the house and a card to the right person this time. Made good use of the lovely pool definitely a must. The restaurant was lovely as always, attentive service but not overdone and a lovely menu to choose from. The ipad kept sticking when trying to play music. Overall a nice stay definitely would recommend and return

  • jeffery b

  • December 2014

city break

Check in very quick and polite .

Car parking at hotel is limited you may have to use municipal parking opposite hotel. Location is great for city and shopping . We have stayed here before and would stay again .