No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Magdalen Chapter

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
The Magdalen Chapter Magdalen Street, Exeter, EX2 4HY

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Categories: Boutique & Historic 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

The Magdalen Chapter formerly The Edwardian West of England Eye Hospital has been transformed to offer all the sophistication of contemporary English living combined with true hospitality and opened in 2012.

In the heart of Exeter, a 15-minute walk from Exeter Central Rail Station, The Magdalen Chapter hotel is just 20 minutes’ drive from Exmouth.

Our interesting collection of bedrooms have been individually styled to respond to the charm of the room. Every room is bright and airy with beautful high celings. Each room has an iPad, and a Nespresso machine, not to mention the extraordinarily comfortable beds and indulgent bathrooms with generous REN toiletries.

The Restaurant with it’s theatre kitchen and stone hearth oven, offers a daily changing great British menu focusing on the changing seasons.

For a bit of indulgence, try the Spa nestled in the walled garden and enjoy pampering REN spa treatments.
A dip in the “ inside-out “pool is a must. The fireroom with inside pool is just the place to unwind, take a “pew” and enjoy the experience. For those that like the fresh air, slip through to our outside pool and take in that Devon air!
Fitness more your thing? Our state of the art fitness room has it all sewn up.

* We offer FREE use of WIFI and I pads

Arriving by car? The hotel have limited parking, and it is on a first come first served basis however The Magdalen Street car park is adjacent to the hotel where parking is free overnight (6pm-8am), and is subject to pay and display charges throughout the day.

Breakfast can be added to any room only rate at the booking stage for a discounted price of £7.50 per person.
Picture of The Magdalen Chapter, Exeter at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 134 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
97% recommended this accommodation to a friend 97% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great hotel, central location, very comfortable and relaxed
We have stayed in this hotel a number of times, and have found it comfortable and convenient for the City Centre - certainly the best hotel in the area. We still can't work out why we are given an ipad when we visit the hotel (it cannot be used for internet, but is meant to be used to find your way around the hotel and find out more about the facilities, which is not really necessary)! The pool, spa, bar and restaurant are first rate and rooms atmospheric and comfortable. We recommend anyone to stay here.

Reviewed by
Wendy H

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Heaven in the middle of the city
The people make this hotel exceptional - they do more that I expect. They take the initiative and anticipate. the location is a haven of calm in the city. There is a middle eastern twist to the menu which makes it interesting if something of a voyage of discovery - The afternoon tea, breakfast and supper that I enjoyed was cooked was cooked exactly as requested.
Thank you for a great stay - I hope to be back soon

Reviewed by
Susan S

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location
We enjoyed our stay but as other reviewers have commented, customer service levels did vary greatly from staff member to staff member. The room was great and it wasn't the hotels fault that we had an inconsiderate guest in the room above who woke us up at 3am but why you can't have soft close doors I don't know. The restaurant couldn't accommodate us and many other guests that night (a nice idea would be to leave a few tables free for guests so we can have a table on booking in or advise guests in advance that pre reservation is recommended). We did have a great evening in the lounge instead with food at the time we wanted so all was good. The spa was brilliant and staff very welcoming and we had good weather so the amazing walled garden came into its own. We would stay again but have minimal expectations of staff customer service

Reviewed by
K Sutton

From Truro, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room we stayed in was a double standard room and it was superb. The standards of the room were really high and we, as a couple would definitely stay again in a moment.

Reviewed by
E Distin

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely building
A lovely position for the town, clean comfortable rooms. However pool could have been a bit warmer not to happy with communal changing rooms and toilets at pool! Resturant very nice and food was lovely.

Reviewed by
Laurence C

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
Great hotel full of technology

Reviewed by
r tyler

From Romsey, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The magdalen..... hotel of pure quality
Had the most fantastic stay at this hotel . Nicol at front of house was so welcomeing great first impression and even better lasting leaving impressions. Food and drink were top quality and customer service was pure class!!!! Room 101 had a serious room with a view very elegant. Will be returning to this hotel again and will highly recommend it to Anyone. A must see hotel

Reviewed by
T Taylor

From Plymouth, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad
We had a really great time here. The garden was especially lovely place to sit and relax. Staff were very helpful, friendly and seemed quite genuine. Food was good, tiny bit expensive maybe, but certainly a lot better than a lot of places we have stayed (that charge similar prices). We had a three course meal plus drinks which came to around £150 (two people).
Great touches too.. The iPad is a great idea and free mini bar was a good touch.. So what if only a couple of free drinks!?
Only bad points: the room was a touch too Ikea for me and all a bit style over substance, with bits of it being badly thought out. The mini bar fridge was rubbish and didn't keep the drinks cold. The pool is small. The lounge bar could have a better selection of beer.. Some proper grown ups ale would be a good start. I also thought the wine list was a bit limited and a tad unoriginal.
And.... When we checked out, being presented with our bill and asked "did I want to see a break down", which I thought I'd better had, there was an extra bottle of fizz added to the bill (£28). I pointed out the error and the chap did finally remove it from the bill, but only after some awkward moments and repeatedly asking me "are you sure you didn't have two??.." And running off to find the receipts, which didn't prove anything anyway! They'd obviously just rung it through the till twice, by mistake. I assured the lad, if we'd had all those drinks plus that extra bottle, between just the two off us; I would not be up that early.
I noted the couple attempting to check out next to us having a similar conversation actually, about a phantom main course that had made its way to their tab.. So, point being: check your bill! I don't think for one second they were trying to fleece us, just all very busy at service and mistakes obviously made.
This would not stop us going back. We had a great time and it's a really lovely place; great food, fantastic location.

Reviewed by
Mark S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room and shower room were both quite small but the bed was very comfortable. There was a lack of hanging space for work clothes. However, the food was very excellent and consistently good over the three days. Parking was a problem as the nearby car park was on a nasty bend for crossing the road to the hotel. Better to travel by train.

Reviewed by
Lesley T

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasant hotel
Stayed in this hotel while attending a family party. Service was efficient, asked for our room to be available earlier than the advertised check in time and this was accommodated. Standard room a little small but well appointed, modern, clean, bed comfortable. Good breakfast choice, with some things different from the usual full English.
Would have
Iked to try the spa and pool, but family commitments prevented us having the time. May well come back when more time available to try it then and have longer to look around the pretty city and surrounds.

Reviewed by
Angela J

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next