No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Manor House Hotel

3Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Oxen Park , ULVERSTON, LA12 8HG
Situated on the fringes of South Lakes at Oxen Park,approximately 6 miles north of the historic town of Ulverston. You have a choice of the type of break you would like,whether you want a relaxing walk to take in the beautiful country sites and varied wildlife of the Crake Valley, or for the more energetic you could go mountain-biking or go-ape at the nearby Grizedale Forest. Just a fifteen minute drive will take you to the stunning Coniston Water ideal to watch the Coniston run which takes place every year or maybe to the nearby Lakeside & Haverthwaite railway station where you can book a return trip on the steam train and cruise ship taking you over Lake Windermere to Bowness or Ambleside. Next door to the railway station is the newly positioned Lakeside motor museum.
Whichever break you have you will always find a warm welcome at the Manor House, settling down in front of the log fire to enjoy a few pints of Robinsons finest ales whilst you browse through the extensive menu of home made evening meals which vary from Terrys authentic curries to local supplies of the finest steaks (not for the feint-hearted)
Picture of Manor House Hotel, ULVERSTON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 31 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
Lorraine and Terry were superb hosts, nothing was too much trouble. The food was well cooked and presentd, the portions massive! The location is lovely, quiet, but within easy reach of loads to see and do

Reviewed by
Steve Carroll

From Liverpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hospitality Lorraine and Terry provided, was good, friendly and helpful. The place is in need of updating, if you liked the 1970s you will feel at home here. Terry is a good cook, providing tasty fullsome meals.

Reviewed by
Peter M

From Newcastle, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A truly homely stay in a picturesque setting
My wife and I had a very pleasant experience at Manor house where we stayed for two nights. The dynamic duo Terry and Loraine ensured a magical Lake District experience with a very warm welcome & great food to accompany the spectacular views of the place. We will definitely visit again.

Reviewed by
S Ranjit

From Haverhill, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent short stay
Stayed for 2 nights could not of been more helpful and friendly wee mix up between arrival time but more our fault as working nightshift but made up for kindness. Meals and breakfast are amazing and you really need to see the portions you get. Thankyou for a great stay only one slight downfall try and fix the showers water pressure.

Reviewed by
Ross Irvine

From Ayr, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great little pub / hotel
Really friendly welcome by Lorraine and Terry and they couldn't do enough for us whilst we were there. The room was clean and warm, and really cosy. Breakfast, cooked by Terry, was incredible - a non greasy fry up that powered us up OId Man Coniston!

Reviewed by
K Drew

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect location!
I recently book time off work to get away and I found the Manor House Hotel at the best price so booked it up. Upon arrive I met Lorraine and she was very polite and very helpful. She showed me around and to my room and asked when would I like breakfast in the morning and would I be having any dinner. It was very homely there and very comfortable. In the evening I went downstairs to have a drink and use my laptop. That evening I met Terry, and he was also very polite and welcoming. Lorraine and Terry both seemed interested in what I was doing with my trip and advised me on what to see and do and ensured I didn't get lost.
I think the hotel is in a perfect location so you can do the full circle - Coniston, Ambleside, Keswick and Windermere. I stayed 3 nights, I done so much in the 4 days. It was a great stay and I will be returning in the near future!

Reviewed by
J Taylor

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A great place
Lovely place in the most beautiful setting great for walking. The hosts and the locals could not have been more welcoming and we had two great evenings with them. The food is lovely, huge portions though so don't eat much lunch ;). Would love to go back again sometime. Great value for money. Husband said lovely real ale

Reviewed by
I Chadwick

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just feeling at home......
The owners of this Manor House Hotel in Oxen Park gave us a very welcome feeling. They were kind and willing to forfill our wishes. This house offers splendid food and drinks at very reasonable prices. We felt like home!!

Reviewed by
Rick Matser

From , UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing Time
My husband and I only stayed for 2 nights. However, we were made to feel extremely welcome and would definately use the Manor House Hotel again. The food portions were large and the breakfast probably the best we've ever had and as someone else has already mentioned in their feed back "not for the faint hearted" .So if you have a good apetite then this is definately the place for you. Would like to go back as the winter progresses so that we could feel the warmth of not only Lorraine and Terrys hospitality but also the warmth of the open fire in the bar areas. Thank you.

Reviewed by
D Allan

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

CANNOT FAULT IT
Its rare to come across such genuine warm hosts as those at the Manor House Hotel. The rooms are warm and cosy with a comfortble bed in a really quiet location. The biggest asset is the hosts, they cannot do enough to make you stay a pleasant one. The food is exceptional and the Wednesday curry night should not be missed.
I was surprised by the warm welcome given to me by the regulars in the bar who took a genuine interest in myself and made me feel at home immediately. If you intend staying in this area then give it a go, you will not be disappointed.

Reviewed by
d parry

From Prenton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next