No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Assaha Hyde Park apartments

3Self Classified Serviced Apartments Ratings explained
16 WESTBOURNE STREET , LONDON, W2 2TZ
Less than a 5-minute walk from Hyde Park and 15 minutes’ walk from Oxford Street, these apartments boast free Wi-Fi throughout. Bars and restaurants are within easy walking distance, and you can reach Paddington Station in 5 minutes on foot.

Kensington Gardens are a short walk away, and guests can take a picturesque stroll through the park to reach Harrods in 30 minutes.

The Assaha Hyde Park Apartments all have a kitchenette, fridge, stove and toaster. There is also a TV with satellite channels for guests to enjoy. Reception and the concierge service is available 24 hours a day.

Bedrooms at Assaha Hyde Park are traditionally furnished and have simple décor. Each has a wardrobe for storage space
Picture of Assaha Hyde Park apartments, LONDON at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 64 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
54% recommended this accommodation to a friend 56% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay
Great location but the room was small and a long way up - no lift. However, the bed was comfortable, the linen was clean and the Wifi worked very well. Some ingenuity needed in the shower to prevent flooding the bathroom. Limited channels on TV and kitchen not well stocked - only one teaspoon, one dessert spoon, one soup spoon. We didn't ask for more, so they probably would have been provided. Some work on the windows and blinds needed - the windows opened, but had no real latch, and the blinds had to be removed from their Velcro attachments to open them at all! However, we wanted a place to sleep and it was fine for that. I wouldn't choose it as a place for more than a couple of nights.

Reviewed by
William I

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location and price. Ten mins max walk to oxford st. My son and I were in room 19 top floor. Lots of stairs and no lift so don't bring a big bag! Room was small but comfy bed and good shower. Didn't give top rating for clean as shower not to my home standard but then I'm Fussy. Kettle toaster microwave and fridge. So adequate for basic self catering for a longer stay. We only stayed one night. Traffic didn't keep us awake and it was warm but we shut the window. Nice fan in room to cool us. Would happily stay again

Reviewed by
Deb H

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location: But both better and worse than expected
Other reviews were pretty polarized, but the price was good, the location was ideal, and we were only staying one night.
It's an impressive old building that desperately needs a makeover. The "Executive" room was in the basement and a bit quirky due to the age of the building (the bedroom and en-suite are under the pavement/sidewalk). The apartment was spacious and surprisingly well lit for a basement room, and the critical features (bed, toilet, refrigerator, stove) were all clean, which was a relief after reading some other reviews.
However, paint was peeling everywhere, the tile floors desperately needed a thorough cleaning and re-grouting, the TV had a satellite box with no power plug (reception provided one, but there turned out to be no satellite connection either) and so the TV was BBC only. Lastly, the room chosen as a bathroom was very low with a domed ceiling, meaning the shower head was roughly 5 ft high (I'm 6'5" which meant showering on my knees).
We had an infant and a travel cot with us, so the apartment worked out fine, but I would not have wanted a toddler crawling around on those floors. But the price was good by London standards, and the proximity to Paddington station, Hyde Park, and Grosvenor Square was perfect for our needs.
Staff were helpful and friendly when they could be found, but there was no one available for an 8:15am checkout meaning we couldn't take advantage of the bag check service and had to make other arrangements.
In Summary: It's a cheap place to crash if you really just need sleep, and don't want to be too far from Paddington/Kensington/Grosvenor Square, but don't raise your expectations too high.

Reviewed by
J Gee

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It feels like home - not!
I don't know which room is shown in the details, it certainly wasn't the one we stayed in. I made this booking days before travelling and although I read the reviews, I also understood there had been refurbishment. However, to be on the safe side, I telephoned the apartments ahead of my visit to seek reassurance that it was suitable for myself (single female) travelling with daughter aged 10 years. I explained my concerns about the reviews and was told I would be moved to one of the nicer rooms. I dread to think what the original room was like. It did not bear a resemblance to the pictures advertising the hotel - why not? If they think the other rooms are ok, then why not be truthful about it? The ensuite bathroom had had some new tiling, but the shower could have benefited from Dettol mould and mildew remover! The sheets on the bed were at least clean. The chest of drawers nearly fell apart when I opened them, so I didn't use them. The wardrobe was new but low quality. Their card says "It feels like home" ... it didn't feel like my home! Thankfully I was only staying one night and didn't spend much time there. I would not stay here again.

Reviewed by
Patricia T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hmmmmm!
Not so cheap or cheerful but wasn't the worst place I ever stayed in. The chap at the desk was pleasant but the photos on the Laterooms website bear no resemblance to the reality. This is disappointing as I would expect Laterooms to be much more honest. There are enough places online trying to rip consumers off. In my opinion it's suitable for students only which is hardly surprising given that is what it is used fro during term time. That I said I have stayed in out of term time student accommodation several times and it was excellent.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Average room in an average establishment only redeemed by brilliant central location!
This hotel did what it says on the tin. Great central London location with nice shops and cafe nearby and a stones throw from Lancaster Gate tube station. Very ordinary simple establishment, room average but bed was comfy. Not too much traffic noise either. Did the job, that's it!

Reviewed by
D Tolhurst

From Altrincham, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Convenient Location
Good location directly opposite Lancaster Hotel, but tired, rooms grimey and despite promise of no-smoking rooms, who place smelt.

Reviewed by
Simon M

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a little more attention to detail when cleaning , inside of fridge was dirty

Reviewed by
kay williams

From , UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

After having read some of the less favourable reviews, we were concerned about staying at the Assaha Hyde Park Apartments, in particular we did not want room 18, so we called them in advance of our arrival. The woman explained that the apartments were undergoing refurbishments and would make sure that we stayed in a nice one. We did in fact stay in room 18 and it was warm, clean, comfortable, lovely lighting, newly decorated and looked exactly like its photo. The only negative was the smell of drains when you flushed the toilet. There was no problem with it being on the top floor, it was in fact more secluded.

Reviewed by
V Francis

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Look elsewhere!
I've stayed in many Laterooms properties and many around Paddington and frankly this is by far the worst of the lot. Tatty, unclean, noisy road and no double glazing, dodgy electrics, damp - you name it, it's all here. There are many better value options to be found.

Reviewed by
Peter K

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 Next