Reviews - Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

4

Queen Square, BATH, BA1 2HH

Price From 320.58 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (83)

96% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • A Horton

  • April 2014

the staff in reception were very helpful and friendly.

  • peter withey

  • April 2014

significant birthday celebration

We stayed two nights at the Francis to celebrate a significant birthday.

The hotels central location in bath was one of the reasons we booked and it was a pure joy to be able to step out the front door and be in the real centre of Bath. While this hotel is maybe a little grander than our usual bookings, it was worth every penny, and we would surely think of booking there again.

  • D Blandford

  • March 2014

Great location

The hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and museums.

Central yet relatively quiet. Beautifully refurbished, our room was both elegant & comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The only down side was that breakfast was quite expensive, so we gave that a miss and enjoyed visiting 'Sally lunns' for breakfast instead . Parking wasn't guaranteed.

  • A Nash

  • March 2014

Beautifu, boutique hotel

We picked the Francis Hotel due to it's boutique feel as we don't tend to stay in 'mainstream' hotels.

The Francis did not disappoint. We were welcomed by the concierge and the front desk staff, who helped us with all our needs, providing us with a map of the city and pointing out all the sights. The room was beautiful and so comfortable. The bar staff were fabulous, creating cocktails for my wife and keeping me topped up with pints.

We had an amazing time in Bath and would thoroughly recommend the Francis hotel as the place to stay. It has a central location, friendly staff and beautiful decor.

  • katie w

  • February 2014

Review

Nice boutique hotel in a great location.

  • Catherine C

  • February 2014

Definitely recommend

Great location and beautiful hotel, clean and the customer service was great.

Nothing bad to say.

  • Ben P

  • February 2014

Mostly great, but a couple of small suggestions

Firstly the good things.

The bedroom was spotlessly clean, room very tidy. The decor was very plush, and the carpet had a nice bouncy feel to it. I liked the old-style telephone and the extravagant gold mirror, the oversized lamp, and the cartoony pictures on the walls. The bathroom was also brilliantly clean, and it's very unusual (but nice!) to have both an overhead shower, and the type you can remove and hold in your hand - in same room. It's very difficult to photograph, because it's black and white all around, and the mirror reflects that pattern. The bed WAS nicely made, but like a fool I took some of these pictures the morning after, and after we'd messed it up. Plug sockets were perfectly placed. Two under the TV (above a table and chair - perfect for a laptop), and one either side of the bed (for charing your mobile phone). The only thing in the room that slightly let it down (and it is very slight), is that the controls for the shower has started to develop rust. The checkin staff were excellent, and very helpful. We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel during our stay, but did have breakfast. I think they undersell themselves here. There were no baked beans (shame) but the sausages were delicious. They gave local butter with the toast, but this wasn't mentioned at all (I'd be advertising that fact, if I were them). The food labels were a bit sparse. Some things were labelled for example "fruit cake" and some things had no labels at all. I had to guess between juices, and under a dimish light, pineapple, orange, - and sometimes even apple - all look much the same. The hot food had no labels at all. Are the sausages pork, beef, or both. My (vegetarian) girlfriend and I asked two members of staff separately if the mushrooms, hash browns, etc. were cooked in animal fats with the sausages, or separately in vegetable oil. They both said they would find out and let us know, and neither returned. I'm sure they were very busy, but this could have been avoided if there were just some labels (and v symbols) on the hot food. The hot food I had by the way was delicious. My girlfriend asked another member of staff on the way out of the breakfast area about the food, who said he thought they cooked everything in Canola oil. I'd never heard of it, but apparently it's the world's healthiest cooking oil (even healthier than olive oil). Surely this is another thing they should write on a sign?

  • Kim Pringle

  • January 2014

Excellent, comfortable, wonderfully friendly staff and high level of service

Thoroughly recommend this hotel could find no faults.

  • Andrew M

  • December 2013

Fabulous stay

For a little more than a B&B you could stay here.

Why would you do anything else. Highly recommended

  • Mishele Morgan

  • December 2013

the francis

we had an amazing time and the hotel is fabulous after the recent refurb the food was lovely also cant wait to go back.