No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection

4Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
6 12, Queen Square , Bath, BA1 2HH
The Francis Hotel has been restored to its former glory following a £6 million refurbishment. In the heart of the historic city of Bath, this Regency style townhouse hotel, a member of the MGallery Collection, boasts 98 individually designed bedrooms, many with four poster beds and views over the city. Our stylish Bar, lounge and sitting room offers a haven of tranquility after a day exploring the many attractions of this world heritage city. Enjoy Dining in Brasserie Blanc that adjoins the hotel. Free Wi-Fi throughout the hotel
Picture of Francis Hotel Bath - MGallery Collection, Bath at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 95 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous
Could not fault this hotel it is perfectly situated to walk to all the attractions, bars and restaurants in the city. The feature room was just devine and perfect to celebrate our silver wedding anniversary with a lovely view over the square. The breakfast was lovely and the cooked food was always hot and well presented. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. We will definitely visit again soon. Thank you.

Reviewed by
David G

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

significant birthday celebration
We stayed two nights at the Francis to celebrate a significant birthday. The hotels central location in bath was one of the reasons we booked and it was a pure joy to be able to step out the front door and be in the real centre of Bath. While this hotel is maybe a little grander than our usual bookings, it was worth every penny, and we would surely think of booking there again.

Reviewed by
peter withey

From Stonehouse, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location
The hotel is in a great location, close to restaurants and museums. Central yet relatively quiet. Beautifully refurbished, our room was both elegant & comfortable. The staff were very pleasant and welcoming. The only down side was that breakfast was quite expensive, so we gave that a miss and enjoyed visiting 'Sally lunns' for breakfast instead ! Parking wasn't guaranteed.

Reviewed by
D Blandford

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location nice hotel but not cheap

Reviewed by
A Greene

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautifu, boutique hotel
We picked the Francis Hotel due to it's boutique feel as we don't tend to stay in 'mainstream' hotels. The Francis did not disappoint. We were welcomed by the concierge and the front desk staff, who helped us with all our needs, providing us with a map of the city and pointing out all the sights.
The room was beautiful and so comfortable. The bar staff were fabulous, creating cocktails for my wife and keeping me topped up with pints!
We had an amazing time in Bath and would thoroughly recommend the Francis hotel as the place to stay. It has a central location, friendly staff and beautiful decor.

Reviewed by
A Nash

From Chesham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Review
Nice boutique hotel in a great location.

Reviewed by
katie w

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely recommend
Great location and beautiful hotel, clean and the customer service was great. Nothing bad to say.

Reviewed by
Catherine C

From London, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent, comfortable, wonderfully friendly staff and high level of service
Thoroughly recommend this hotel could find no faults.

Reviewed by
Kim Pringle

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mostly great, but a couple of small suggestions
Firstly the good things. The bedroom was spotlessly clean, room very tidy. The decor was very plush, and the carpet had a nice bouncy feel to it. I liked the old-style telephone and the extravagant gold mirror, the oversized lamp, and the cartoony pictures on the walls.
The bathroom was also brilliantly clean, and it's very unusual (but nice!) to have both an overhead shower, and the type you can remove and hold in your hand - in same room.
It's very difficult to photograph, because it's black and white all around, and the mirror reflects that pattern.
The bed WAS nicely made, but like a fool I took some of these pictures the morning after, and after we'd messed it up.
Plug sockets were perfectly placed. Two under the TV (above a table and chair - perfect for a laptop), and one either side of the bed (for charing your mobile phone).
The only thing in the room that slightly let it down (and it is very slight), is that the controls for the shower has started to develop rust.
The checkin staff were excellent, and very helpful.
We didn't eat an evening meal at the hotel during our stay, but did have breakfast.
I think they undersell themselves here. There were no baked beans (shame) but the sausages were delicious. They gave local butter with the toast, but this wasn't mentioned at all (I'd be advertising that fact, if I were them).
The food labels were a bit sparse. Some things were labelled for example "fruit cake" and some things had no labels at all. I had to guess between juices, and under a dimish light, pineapple, orange, - and sometimes even apple - all look much the same. The hot food had no labels at all. Are the sausages pork, beef, or both?
My (vegetarian) girlfriend and I asked two members of staff separately if the mushrooms, hash browns, etc. were cooked in animal fats with the sausages, or separately in vegetable oil. They both said they would find out and let us know, and neither returned. I'm sure they were very busy, but this could have been avoided if there were just some labels (and v symbols) on the hot food.
The hot food I had by the way was delicious.
My girlfriend asked another member of staff on the way out of the breakfast area about the food, who said he thought they cooked everything in Canola oil. I'd never heard of it, but apparently it's the world's healthiest cooking oil (even healthier than olive oil). Surely this is another thing they should write on a sign?

Reviewed by
Ben P

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fabulous stay
For a little more than a B&B you could stay here. Why would you do anything else? Highly recommended

Reviewed by
Andrew M

From Blandford Forum, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next