The Pear Tree B&B

4

The Pear Tree B&B High Street, Hildersham, Cambridgeshire, CB21 6BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Good

All reviews (11)

73% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Family

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Colin Rowe

  • October 2014

A warm welcome

My wife booked this while I was already on the road so I had no idea what I would find.

I needn`t have worried communication by text giving directions were forwarded and I received a warm welcome by Helen who was waiting before I even left my vehicle. I was shown a self contained suite of rooms bedroom/sitting room with table and chairs allowing me to work comfortably. The continental style buffet breakfast was ample with toaster, kettle and fridge to hand containing all that was needed. I have already booked again.

  • D Lloyd

  • October 2014

Great rooms

Great room with a nice sitting area as well as the bed room.

  • Steve B

  • September 2014

  • R Chamley

  • August 2014

Misleading summary of facilities on Laterooms website

The Laterooms website list of facilities for the Pear Tree Inn include Bar, Restaurant and Wifi - this is not true as non are available.

Furthermore it is a 2 mile walk to the nearest pub and restaurant. Poor value for money - certainly not worth the £80 per night charge. To be avoided - the information on the Laterooms website is misleading.

An dissatisfied customer!

  • A Morgan

  • July 2014

Pear Tree B&B

Garden room was self-contained consisting of 2 bedroom areas 1 with double bed (en-suite/bathroom off it) and 1 with single, the latter also having table and chairs and table top fridge.

The fridge had fresh milk, orange juice, yoghurts and few small bottles water. Plenty of tea/coffee choices, small packets of cereals, a bowl of fresh fruit and a fresh loaf. Clean fresh bedding and towels. Floor a little dusty. Overall very satisfied - worked well for family of 3 with a dog. Owner friendly and gave excellent recommendations for where to eat.

  • R Page

  • June 2014

Quiet position, good location for Duxford and Newmarket.

Paying as a single room supplement is not really best value.

Awkward driveway and parking area, all looking a bit neglected. Inside is OK, a comfortable bed, good TV and an eating area. Shower room is poorly designed and needs some attention. Good selection of light breakfast items available in the room.

  • F Kemenes

  • May 2014

The Pear Tree Inn is a lovely place to stay - stylish, comfy and very spacious, more of an apartment than a room in a B&B.

Dog friendly policy is very welcome, its in an ideal place to start country walks from too if you have the time!

  • A Iles

  • May 2014

The accommodation was fine but more like self catering.

There was a good range of food for a continental breakfast, but my husband was disappointed there was no cooked breakfast.. The owner was very friendly and even gave us a lift into Linton so we could go and have an evening meal there. A very peaceful and picturesque place to stay.

  • Sally E

  • October 2013

The Pear Tree Inn, not open for buisness.

It is never a good start to your break away to discover that the business linked to your accommodation is currently closed.

That was the sign that greeted us when we arrived at the Pear Tree Inn. Looking at the appearance of the premises it looked as though the Pub had been closed for quite some time. We were shown into the accommodation, an annex set in the grounds of the Inn. The first impression was how musty the place smelt. On looking round there were cobwebs, stains on the carpet, mildew around the windows and mould on the curtains. Some of the furniture was also cracked. The room was also cold. It was obvious that dining at the Pear Tree wouldn't be an option as we had presumed. Taking two young children out on a Saturday evening in an area you don't know is not an ideal situation. On a positive note, by the time we returned the heating was on, however the heat in the radiators was far too hot for young skin. Another safety concern was the coiled cables from lamps in the room, a real trip hazard. Our breakfast was served in the Pear Tree Inn. This provided further proof that the business is currently closed. The bar and surroundings were in a state of disrepair. Crockery was brought out to us on arrival, most of which was unclean. A half used plastic bottle of milk was placed on the table with a box of cornflakes, also half empty. The margarine and jam were also served in their packaging. It was clear we were using the everyday food items of the family currently living in the Inn. The cooked breakfast we received was good. The whole experience was very uncomfortable. We are very disappointed by our experience and are struggling to understand why our hosts accepted our booking knowing that their business wasn't ready for visitors.

  • Dave B

  • October 2013

Perfect spot for quiet evenings after a day's work

This family-sized room is attached to a quiet country pub in a pretty little village, but convenient for getting into Cambridge each day for work.

The room was spacious and comfortable, the surroundings very pleasant and my hosts friendly and kind. Breakfast was delicious and the chance to sit out quietly in a pub garden gazing at the stars a rare treat for a townie like me!