Reviews - The Pear Tree B&B


The Pear Tree B&B High Street, Hildersham, Cambridgeshire, CB21 6BU

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (12)

75% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • C Grover

  • September 2015

Deceived and dejected

This property is clearly advertised as "Bed and Breakfast", "Bar & Restaurant" and both are not available Breakfast is self catering with a measly 2 piece toaster that doesn't even fit a normal slice of bread and a small microwave locatedd at nearly ground level, on top of that there is a bowl of fruit and a few packets of cereals - when I stay in an English B&B, I expect an English breakfast.

The pub had stopped trading over a year ago so this description is clearly misleading. The room stank of mould and mildew and we are still concerned what mould spores we have ingested. Place stated as only 5 miles to (small print - outskirts of Cambride) - place is nearer 10 miles and is actually 6 miles to the 'Park & Ride'!!t

This whole experience seemed to be sold as a deception and we would NEVER recommend this place to anyone or even stay again even if offered a stay for free. Extremely dissapointed

  • Nicola C

  • July 2015

Pear Tree Cottage

a lot of room for the money .

Two seperate areas one that had a day bed that can be another bed if required. It was a self service breakfast but lots of different types fruit cereal bread for toast orange juice and milk in the fridge . Coffee and tea plus a microwave if required . Small fridge as well

  • John F

  • July 2015

Quiet, comfortable accommodation

Recently refurbished accommodation with bedroom (double bed), sitting room and en suite.

Get your own breakfeast with good selection of cereals, fresh bread with toaster, fresh milk and selection of jams etc. I thought the provision of a decanter of whisky was a nice touch. Good parking although you will have to find a place to eat an evening meal.

  • Allison Heasman

  • June 2015

Loving The Pear Tree

We just stayed a night at The Pear Tree and it was great, nice size sitting room and separate bedroom with a shower and toilet ensuite.

Helen was great and very friendly, there was plenty of cereal, bread and fruit along with tea, coffee, milk etc for our breakfast.

  • Colin Rowe

  • October 2014

A warm welcome

My wife booked this while I was already on the road so I had no idea what I would find.

I needn`t have worried communication by text giving directions were forwarded and I received a warm welcome by Helen who was waiting before I even left my vehicle. I was shown a self contained suite of rooms bedroom/sitting room with table and chairs allowing me to work comfortably. The continental style buffet breakfast was ample with toaster, kettle and fridge to hand containing all that was needed. I have already booked again.

  • D Lloyd

  • October 2014

Great rooms

Great room with a nice sitting area as well as the bed room.

  • Steve B

  • September 2014

  • R Chamley

  • August 2014

Misleading summary of facilities on Laterooms website

The Laterooms website list of facilities for the Pear Tree Inn include Bar, Restaurant and Wifi - this is not true as non are available.

Furthermore it is a 2 mile walk to the nearest pub and restaurant. Poor value for money - certainly not worth the £80 per night charge. To be avoided - the information on the Laterooms website is misleading.

An dissatisfied customer!

  • A Morgan

  • July 2014

Pear Tree B&B

Garden room was self-contained consisting of 2 bedroom areas 1 with double bed (en-suite/bathroom off it) and 1 with single, the latter also having table and chairs and table top fridge.

The fridge had fresh milk, orange juice, yoghurts and few small bottles water. Plenty of tea/coffee choices, small packets of cereals, a bowl of fresh fruit and a fresh loaf. Clean fresh bedding and towels. Floor a little dusty. Overall very satisfied - worked well for family of 3 with a dog. Owner friendly and gave excellent recommendations for where to eat.

  • R Page

  • June 2014

Quiet position, good location for Duxford and Newmarket.

Paying as a single room supplement is not really best value.

Awkward driveway and parking area, all looking a bit neglected. Inside is OK, a comfortable bed, good TV and an eating area. Shower room is poorly designed and needs some attention. Good selection of light breakfast items available in the room.