No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vermont Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11RQ
The Landmark Vermont Hotel is proudly positioned in the heart of the City next to The Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall. The Vermont Hotel boasts an enviable city centre postcode; conveniently located just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station, not to mention the many shops, bars and attractions of Newcastle town centre.

Promising the perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Vermont Hotel Newcastle combines its proud 1930’s grandeur with modern 4 Star luxury. A stay in any one of its 101 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. Finished in soft relaxing colours, with facilities to allow you to sit back and relax in a comfortable arm chair, enjoy a drink from your personal bar or work at your dedicated work desk with high speed Wi Fi internet access.

Free internet access is now available throughout The Vermont. Catch up on a little bit of work, check your emails or surf the internet to find your perfect day out near The Vermont.

The impressive venue, with our fresh, vibrant and personal approach to hospitality is what will ensure an enjoyable, refreshing and unforgettable experience by you, our guest.
Picture of The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 201 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The outside of the hotel and the location was stunning. However the quality of the room was dated and tired. Disappointed. Front of house staff need to raise a smile once in a while and make their guests feel welcome. If you don't like your job, get a new one!!

Reviewed by
Victoria A

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not 4*
I got this room at a bargain price, and this was certainly reflected in what I was given. The hotel entrance and lobby were stunning, really setting the scene of how good this hotel should have been. The staff were polite but I left them feeling rushed and they weren't exactly friendly. The standard double room I was given was ok however I feel a modern premier inn room would have been nicer. The wallpaper was peeling, the tiles in the bathroom had mould on the grout, the tv tuning was poor to say the least (4 channels and not the main ones, fuzzy picture) When it came to the 'valet' parking I had to do this myself and walk back up from the car park - only a few hundred metres away but this was meant to be part of the service. I suppose if I was driving a Aston Martin rather than a Corsa it would have been. I understand top hotels want to fill their rooms so offer them cheaper when they aren't selling them, but I still expect the normal service associated with that hotel. If this was supposed to be 4* then i've been staying in 5* budget accommodation as i've had better service and facilities in £30 a night rooms than this £70 a night one.

Reviewed by
A Lee

From Bedford, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First Impressions are not always correct!
First impressions good, lovely location in the old part of the city. Impression reinforced by Reception area: lots of marble/dark wood/deep buttoned velvet upholstery/etc. At £69.00p for room only, pricier than many other hotels in the area. Reception decor not indicative of bedroom decor which was drab and dated. Poor choice of TV stations and no radio. Shower didn’t work. Bath and sink cold water taps didn’t work. Hot tap to bath jammed and could not be turned off, resulting in a race against time to finish bathing because when the hot water ran out the bath filled with cold water. Call me a wimp, but a cold bath was a bit too exhilarating for me! A plumber had to be called to resolve the problem. Finally, we were woken in the night by a drunken hen party. Although we were disappointed, I must say, the ‘hens’ sounded very happy – perhaps they had working taps and decent TV. Or maybe they were just lookign forward to a nice cold bath...

Reviewed by
E Lane

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is faultless ! ALL the staff are very helpful and friendly - they couldn't do enough for us!
The restaurant and bar are lovely and had a great atmosphere. Will definitely return to The Vermont!

Reviewed by
Gaye E

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location.
Vermont Hotel is an impressive building and has a great location. The entrance and reception areas are lovely and the breakfast room tastefully decorated. Bed was very comfortable and bed linen immaculate. However, the bedrooms are in a need of an update! The carpet in our room was very worn and the decor outdated. Although this is an old hotel, it's bedroom furnishings shouldn't be. I appreciate that this was a discounted room and perhaps these rooms are used for discounted offers but these things do leave a lasting impression.

Reviewed by
lynne c

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great night out
Brilliant location for a night out..quality service by all the staff. good food and service... we enjoyed ourselves in Livello aswell

Reviewed by
Michael B

From Seaham, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

birthday treat
my husband and I stayed here for my birthday when the hotel knew this we were upgraded to a suite with no extra charge! the whole stay was amazing the room and food and staff were all excellent and we are planning to return soon!

Reviewed by
s lowery

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2nd stay
Great everything once again!

Reviewed by
D Nicholson

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel offering a good service and lovely presentation.
Very friendly staff.

Reviewed by
Wayne Andrews

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel very poor breakfast
Ordered breakfast to room and it was inedible

Reviewed by
R Wheatley

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.