No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vermont Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11RQ
The Landmark Vermont Hotel is proudly positioned in the heart of the City next to The Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall. The Vermont Hotel boasts an enviable city centre postcode; conveniently located just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station, not to mention the many shops, bars and attractions of Newcastle town centre.

Promising the perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Vermont Hotel Newcastle combines its proud 1930’s grandeur with modern 4 Star luxury. A stay in any one of its 101 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. Finished in soft relaxing colours, with facilities to allow you to sit back and relax in a comfortable arm chair, enjoy a drink from your personal bar or work at your dedicated work desk with high speed Wi Fi internet access.

Free internet access is now available throughout The Vermont. Catch up on a little bit of work, check your emails or surf the internet to find your perfect day out near The Vermont.

The impressive venue, with our fresh, vibrant and personal approach to hospitality is what will ensure an enjoyable, refreshing and unforgettable experience by you, our guest.
Picture of The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 201 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
86% recommended this accommodation to a friend 87% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Stay
The Hotel was perfect, very friendly staff, room was lovely, very clean and classically decorated. Fabulous location, would definately stay again. The bar /lounge area had a lovely atmosphere.

Reviewed by
A Wray

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value for money,Ideally situated for bars and restaurants on quayside. If I had to nit pick it would be that the English breakfast was buffet style. Hash browns weren't crispy due to the way that they were kept warm , only fried eggs available and the yolks on these were hard.

Reviewed by
nicola b

From Peterlee, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic Vermont
My wife and i only stayed here for one night, but we loved it.
We booked a suite with a view of the tyne bridge, and we werent dissappointed.
Hotel is ideally located for access to Eldon Square and The Metro Arena, and is aa short walk to the Tyne Bridge, The Baltic, and the Milenium Eye.
Parking could have been an issue, but the chaps on the door have this sorted out if you leave them your keys.
One small issue i had was, someone had apparently booked the bar out for a private drinks function, meaning everyone else had to crowd into the lounge area, which didnt take long to get over crowded, meaning some people didnt have seats.
Breakfast was beautiful the following morning.
Overall i couldnt fault the Vermont, and i cant wait to stay again.

Reviewed by
Tony McDonnell

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fab Hotel
Excellent location. Lovely hotel. Lovely staff. Fantastic cocktails. Couldn't fault this hotel for anything. Stayed in room 1012 which has a lovely view of the river and bridges.

Reviewed by
Caz C

From UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay!
Very friendly and helpful staff and comfortable and well appointed accommodation. The location of the hotel is excellent being in the old part of town, next to the river, but only a few minutes walk from the station and the centre of Newcastle.

Reviewed by
Hilary T

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value
We have staye at this hotel twice before and it is well placed for both the Quayside and City Centre.
We had a nice room on the 9th floor, overlooking the Tyne Bridge. Room hads been re-furbished, with new carpets and lovely comfortable bed. However some of the furniture has not been changed and is looking tired. However this would not put us off going back to The Vermont, as we do "feel at home" there.

Reviewed by
John E

From King's Lynn, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Central location, grand hotel, nice staff
Easy walk to station and quayside, bars and restaurants - penalty for that is risk of noise late into the night. Ask for room at front of hotel as quieter. Helpful but discreet staff service, good breakfast. Rooms slightly dated but evidence of redecoration in progress throughout hotel. Nice bar attached to hotel, gym and sauna. Lovely sitting room area. Recommended.

Reviewed by
Claire h

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic deal
Spotted an excellent deal on late rooms for this hotel! So glad I did. The Vermont has had some renovation work done and it looks excellent! Very elegant without being pretentious! The first nice touch is the valet parking offered on arrival. Toatally hassle free and a great way to start the visit off. The room, I think was a basic one and not yet refurbished but it was more than adequate, clean and comfortable. The location is as we Brits say was 'spot on'! Breakfast very good in very good surroundings. On this kind of deal I would go back regularly! In a word, fabulous!

Reviewed by
Paul M

From Blyth, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Had a great stay at the Vermont Hotel. We stayed in a room on the 7th floor which was very quiet. The room itself was quite large with very high ceilings. We thought it looked quite grand initially, but it was actually a bit shabby in places, especially the bathroom. However, the shower was extremely powerful and the complimentary toiletries were a nice touch.

Reviewed by
Jo R

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

well placed Excellent hotel

Reviewed by
Tracey B

From Trimdon Station, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next