No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vermont Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11RQ
The Landmark Vermont Hotel is proudly positioned in the heart of the City next to The Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall. The Vermont Hotel boasts an enviable city centre postcode; conveniently located just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station, not to mention the many shops, bars and attractions of Newcastle town centre.

Promising the perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Vermont Hotel Newcastle combines its proud 1930’s grandeur with modern 4 Star luxury. A stay in any one of its 101 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. Finished in soft relaxing colours, with facilities to allow you to sit back and relax in a comfortable arm chair, enjoy a drink from your personal bar or work at your dedicated work desk with high speed Wi Fi internet access.

Free internet access is now available throughout The Vermont. Catch up on a little bit of work, check your emails or surf the internet to find your perfect day out near The Vermont.

The impressive venue, with our fresh, vibrant and personal approach to hospitality is what will ensure an enjoyable, refreshing and unforgettable experience by you, our guest.
Picture of The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 193 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely old hotel
Room a little tired with wallpaper starting to peel but think it's all being updated

Reviewed by
Ken N

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good location.clean hotel.nice atmosphere.

Reviewed by
r jameson

From Ipswich, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, shame about the breakfast
This excellent hotel has one problem they need to address. Breakfast finishes at the weekend at 10.30, during the week at 9.30. However, the hotel information booklet in the room only mentions that breakfast starts at 7. So if like me you have previously stayed there at the weekend, and come down to breakfast at 9.45, breakfast is over. The staff were lovely and provided breakfast, but there was less choice than there would otherwise have been. Also, the coffee is appalling. That has not changed.

Reviewed by
Glyn Parry

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great bars and communal areas but substandard rooms
Beautiful building from the outside, with stunning bars. Unfortunately the room did not live up to the 4* rating. There was cutlery left on the floor after the room had been serviced, the PAT testing was 7 months out of date on all electricals in the room, and the view was of someone else's room! We were moved to a suite after mentioning the PAT testing (twice!), which on the surface looked lovely, with a great view of the Tyne, although we noticed that the cold tap and plug in the sink did not work, there was no mini bar, and the bath filled up when having a shower. Bar staff were very good, but most reception staff were 'in training'. We were really looking forward to a lovely but didn't have one!

Reviewed by
A Rendall

From London, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
I have stayed at The Vermont previously - and it is always a joy. The staff are unfailingly friendly and accomodating. It is a nice hotel to stay at and I find it exceedingly good value. Great location and views from the upper floors. Car parking right outside the Hotel front door. Sadly, the new owners have deided that pets are not welcome -- which is a great shame.

Reviewed by
A B

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ON HOLD
The Vermont in Newcastle is a hotel in transit as it's currently undergoing renovation. Its location, right by the castle, overlooking the Tyne, is enviable and very central and it's added a lively looking bar, Livello on its ground floor. My room was yet to be renovated and was a bit tired, but clean. I slept badly, but I am perimenopausal so travel with a built in heating system. Very helpful staff on reception and dealing with a faulty tv (haven't seen a tv that size in a while and I don't mean a big flat screen) Let down badly at breakfast - there's really no excuse for a hotel like this offering tinned fruit - it should all be fresh - and with decent yoghurt - not hard to do and would gladden the hearts of many guests I'm sure.

Reviewed by
HARRIET RYLEY

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent Hotel Rooms a bit dated
Checked into hotel customer service was excellent and professional. The lobby was and surrounding area were superb lifts were a bit slow though. When I got into my room I was disappointed the room was clean and tidy but it was very dated décor everything there was no fridge and the TV was an old CRT type not what to expect in a 4* hotel with a Ferrari and Rolls Royce parked outside. Apart from that the hotel and the location were fantastic.

Reviewed by
Paul R

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good location. Enjoyed our stay. Would use again.
Only complaint was the old television in the bedroom. Couldn't watch it - needs to be updated!

Reviewed by
B Hall

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Break
We arrived on Fri evening to find that the hotel was conveniently situated for both easy access to Newcastle Centre, mainline train station & metro.
We were greeted with smiles both at reception & by door porter, and had our case loaded into the lift for us even if not up to our room.
The hotel room was a little dated, with an ancient television and incredibly 'firm' (putting it politely) mattress. The bathroom was really nice with a lovely long bath (I'm over 6') and lots of hot water. There was no safe or fridge unfortunately. We didn't dine in the hotel for the evening meal, but we had the breakfast and no complaints there with the usual buffet style.
In short, there is nothing really wrong with the hotel as such, the décor downstairs is beautiful with a lovely lounge and bar area.
Maybe it is a bit unfair to be too harsh as we understand the hotel is undergoing a refurbishment at present. Would we go back? in its current state probably not, the room quality needs considerable updating to bring it into line with the rest of the hotel.

Reviewed by
Stephen Horsley

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

spectacular value
Fantastic value at the special price offered! Top class food and they parked for me. Late checkout not a problem

Reviewed by
Colin S

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next