No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Vermont Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Vermont Hotel, Castle Garth , Newcastle upon Tyne, NE11RQ
The Landmark Vermont Hotel is proudly positioned in the heart of the City next to The Castle Keep and opposite the historic Moot Hall. The Vermont Hotel boasts an enviable city centre postcode; conveniently located just two minutes from Newcastle's Central Station, not to mention the many shops, bars and attractions of Newcastle town centre.

Promising the perfect balance of old character and contemporary elegance, The Vermont Hotel Newcastle combines its proud 1930’s grandeur with modern 4 Star luxury. A stay in any one of its 101 sophisticated bedrooms will leave you in no doubt as to why it is so well known. Finished in soft relaxing colours, with facilities to allow you to sit back and relax in a comfortable arm chair, enjoy a drink from your personal bar or work at your dedicated work desk with high speed Wi Fi internet access.

Free internet access is now available throughout The Vermont. Catch up on a little bit of work, check your emails or surf the internet to find your perfect day out near The Vermont.

The impressive venue, with our fresh, vibrant and personal approach to hospitality is what will ensure an enjoyable, refreshing and unforgettable experience by you, our guest.
Picture of The Vermont Hotel, Newcastle upon Tyne at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 188 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Vermont
Really lovely hotel in a great location with excellent staff.

Reviewed by
Anjie Stevens

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hurry up with the refurb of the rooms
The public areas have been well refurbed. Unfortunately you are brought crashing down to earth when you open your room door. These rooms are not 4 star rooms. TV set from the middle ages with only a few channels. No air con in room.... small fan was inadequate and noisy. Sink leaked from U bend... plug in bath stuck in and had to be prized out. Breakfast was reasonable but you could sole you shoe with the fried eggs... I saw two people take a fried egg and put them back when they realized they were more like fake/joke eggs. If i had paid the normal room rate i wouldve been unhappy. This hotel COULD be fabulous if the rooms compared well with the reception etc. I would rather pay a bit more and stay at hotel indigo

Reviewed by
j morris

From York, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel
Very comfortable hotel suitable for work (desk area) and stay. Toiletries available in the bathroom along with mini bar items. Very comfy and very helpful staff. The tv was a slightly old fashioned model but it came with a DVD player too which I thought was a nice touch. Free wifi. Lovely bar.

Reviewed by
Jennifer E

From London, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

In need of updating
A little disappointed with The Vermont Hotel, our room on the 9th Floor was in much need of updating the decor seemed faded and grubby, the room ? bathroom had a strange smell (? Chlorine) The toilet was difficult to flush and the room safe was locked, when we asked for the safe to be opened we were told that this could not be done and they would need a locksmith ! The "mini-bar" was a cupboard with warm drinks an melting bar of chocolate as no refrigerator .
The cooked breakfast was buffet style, and much of the food was cold/dried out .
On a plus note good location with complimentary parking

Reviewed by
Michaela H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good city centre choice
We booked the Vermont well in advance and were lucky to get a very good price, I would be less willing to pay £100+. The Vermont is a big, traditional hotel very close to the centre of the Toon yet it has adequate parking facilities, although the hotel likes to look after your car keys! The reception is curiously on the 6th floor, which is the ground floor when you arrive by car, but if you take the lift to the first floor you also come out at (a different) street level into the vibrant Livello bar. The room was very good in all respects, although if you wanted to watch a lot of telly, the ancient, CRT, grainy-pictured set may not be to your liking. We did not breakfast in the hotel but used a variety of local outlets including St Nicholas's Cathedral just 2 minutes from the hotel whose café opens at 8am.

Reviewed by
Nick C

From Stamford, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good hotel in a great central location
Pleasant staff, excellent free parking and a good breakfast. Room was in need of modernisation, but the hotel is clearly doing this in stages and the communal areas are all very well done. Good choice for a Newcastle break and the staff were all very helpful.

Reviewed by
scott t

From Warrington, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value in the city centre
Slightly old fashioned room in contrast to the very modern decor in the public rooms but it had everything we needed. Comfortable bed, all facilities and a breathtaking view over the Tyne and the famous bridges. The only strange thing - the TV was tuned to BBC Norfolk! It was so useful to be able to park the car walk into the City centre or use the Metro. The staff were very friendly and went out their way to help us.

Reviewed by
R Lipfriend

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really enjoyed my stay

Reviewed by
E Thomas

From Pontefract, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel, would definitely recommend

Reviewed by
Annette Reeder

From Rotherham, England
Who stayed in June 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Why stay in sterile chain hotel?
I have used various chain hotels in Newcastle and the Vermont was a wonderful change of pace. Helpful staff and a room with some character. Great location. Near the train station which is good but minor noise. Some might say the Vermont is dated but I say classic. It is not the Ritz but a comfortable place to come back to after a day of work. The food in the restaurant is wonderful. The staff in the restaurant seemed a little confused at times, but any mistakes were fixed at once and apologies (and complementary treats) provided. I will return to the Vermont.

Reviewed by
Dennis G

From San Jose, USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 Next