No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast

4AA Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Sockbridge Tirril, , , Penrith, CA10 2JT
Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast provides stylish accommodation in two double rooms in a converted 18th Century watermill surrounded by a large garden. The rooms are tastefully furnished with original beams, oak doors, artworks and textiles. There are tea and coffee making facilities in the bedrooms, and wi- fi in the hall. Breakfasts are served in the large historic room, where the mill wheels used to grind wheat from the Eden Valley. TV is available in the adjacent guest sitting room. We bake every day, and serve home-made preserves, and locally sourced produce as far as possible. Pets are welcome by arrangement only, with a surcharge of £5 per night. If booking 'The Hayloft', please note that your dog will have to sleep in our dedicated pet accomodation downstairs.

This unique location, on the banks of the River Eamont attracts a wide variety of wildlife. You may see herons, kingfishers, woodpeckers, numerous moths, butterflies, frogs and other animals. You can go on pleasant walks along the river, and in the nearby woods, or to our local award winning pub, The Queen's Head, Tirril, Rheged or the Alpaca Centre for a coffee and a bit of shopping. Your hosts are both practising artists and will be happy to show you around their studios in the garden.

We are located just outside the Lake District National Park, 3 miles from Lake Ullswater and 4 miles from Penrith and Jct 40 on the M6. In Penrith you will find a range of facilities including a leisure centre with a climbing wall and swimming pool etc. We are 4 miles from Pooley Bridge on Lake Ullswater where you can take a trip on the steamer, and enjoy a range of outdoor activities: sailing, climbing, fellwalking, canoeing. Within easy reach are a number of historic houses and gardens, such as Dalemain, Hutton–in–the-Forest, and the newly opened restoration project of Lowther Castle and gardens. We are happy to suggest tours and itineraries.
Picture of Sockbridge Mill Bed and Breakfast, Penrith at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Off the beaten track, with birdsong, original art and a beautifully restored mill to inspire you. And a most hospitable welcome.

Reviewed by
Simon Ray

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable accommodation, excellent hosts

Reviewed by
J Wheeler

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Idyllic pastoral setting
Delightful Debbie and Gary, the owners and talented artists as well as long time residents of the beautifully redecorated mill house were delightful to get to know a bit...we loved the quality and furnishings, many of which were imported from Nepal. Friendly atmosphere right from the beginning. Next time we stay in the north of Cumbria, we'll definitely book the Sockbridge Mill B & B!

Reviewed by
Carole I

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent stay ot Sockbridge Mill
What a wonderful find, I would recommend this place to anyone wanting a quiet break with fabulous food.

Reviewed by
Julie Hirst

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

batteries recharged
This is how a bed and breakfast should be.
The rooms and beds are second to none. The owners are lovely and can't do enough for you.
I will stay here again.
Thankyou for recharging my batteries :-)

Reviewed by
stephen palmer

From Alfreton, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A wonerful relaxing place to stay.
Excellent in every way. Such friendly hosts, delightful surroundings and charming room and bathromm plus wonderful breakfasts. (nothing left to wish for.)

Reviewed by
M Armstrong

From Dunster, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful setting, remote but accesssible. The welcome was spot on and the host had just the right level of greeting. Information available was excellent and the relaxed way in which we could come and go was just right. To be recommended 100%.

Reviewed by
Margaret B

From UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tranquility, comfort & warm reception!
We were so pleased to discover the sockbridge mill B&B ! A beautiful Mill conversion that was warm & welcoming! Facilities were A+ & we couldn't have asked for more. Breakfast was something to look forward too! Sourced locally & organic! Our hosts made us feel extremely comfortable & showing us around their art studios was a treat. Highly recommended! A+++

Reviewed by
M Kelly

From Carramar, Australia
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.