No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Roundabout Hotel

4AA Assessed Guest Accommodation Ratings explained
Monkemead Lane , West Chiltington, RH20 2PF
The Roundabout Hotel steeped in history and olde world charm was designed by Reginald Wells in 1925. Trained as a sculptor at the Royal College of Art in the 1890s, Reginald moved to Storrington with a dream of creating “the perfect English village”. He went onto achieve that dream, building more than 30 cottages in an estate that became known as Roundabouts. In early 2012, the hotel was refurbished to a high standard and now boasts a mixture of original features which sit in perfect harmony with its recent enhancements.

This country house hotel has been awarded the 4 Star AA Guest Accommodation Certificate. It has 26 Ensuite bedrooms which include charming, superior and luxury suites. There is a private resident’s lounge, a large comfy bar with exposed beams and open fires, which also provides access to the terrace and gardens, an a la carte restaurant, breakfast room, private dining and additional reception and meeting rooms.

Flat screen televisions, free Wi-Fi throughout, tea/coffee making facilities, bottled water, toiletries and Egyptian cotton bed lined are all part of the luxury that is offered at The Roundabout. All rooms are non-smoking

From the leaded light windows and feature turrets the beautiful Sussex countryside can be viewed. An idyllic spot, in West Chiltington, the Roundabout Hotel is the perfect haven for those wanting to escape the hullabaloo of today’s life. Cyclists can explore the local area; guests can enjoy nature walks or visit the local village church which is adorned with paintings dating back to the 12th century.

Despite this semi-rural picturesque location, Gatwick is only 40 minutes away with Storrington, Worthing, Brighton, Fontwell and Goodwood are all easily accessible.

Picture of Roundabout Hotel, West Chiltington at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 57 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
94% recommended this accommodation to a friend 94% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great Hotel
Staff Excellant
Good Parking
Nice spacious room
Bar meal and breakfast very good
Will use it again

Reviewed by
Graham Miles

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect
The best accommodation in a long while. Brilliant customer service, very friendly and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very spacious for a single, modern and very clean.
I would definitely stay here again and would recommend this to others.
Food was lovely and the grounds and setting -very relaxing.

Reviewed by
S Thomas

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Very Pleasant Experience
I had not stayed here before, and booked this hotel as it was reasonably close to my morning appointment and the offer price was good. I was very pleasantly surprised by the hotel - first impression on entering the car park was really good. Then the relaxed atmosphere and customer service up to a really nice room over the front that was not at all noisy.
The food was plentiful and excellent.
Staff interacted with guests with ease.
And I slept well - which is always a good impression!

Reviewed by
C Brennan

From Caerdydd, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room 106
fabulous hotel, very friendly and helpful staff, superb breakfast. We had room 106 and although it was roomy and very clean the noise was a problem, small window in bathroom overlooking the enormous and noisy chimneys, not a problem we thought as it was turned off at night, however another noise to the front all night long, a sort of droning and quite loud, can't say i had the best nights sleep !!! if we had stayed longer we would have asked to have been moved. Would stay here again but in another room.

Reviewed by
elaine faulkner

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would be happy to return.
I stayed with my daughter and we both felt very comfortable there. Afternoon tea was sourced for us even though it was past the time available, and was delicious. Breakfast was tasty and very well presented. The shower in the bathroom was excellent and the beds very comfortable. My only observation would be that the signage from the main road was a little lacking from the direction we came, though once we realised we must have missed it and turned around we did see one!

Reviewed by
E Kearey

From Rainham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My stay at the Roundabout
Everything was excellent, thank you.

Reviewed by
C Boodle

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good but sterile
Very impressive hotel that looks fantastic. it is. Real picture postcard look. The room was immaculate with a comfatable bed and breakfast is very good, if a little military in its service.
The resterarant is very good quality if a little pricey but like the bar; lacking in atmospher.

Reviewed by
phil r

From Middlesbrough, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night stay
We were both taken back by the charm of the hotel,,The quality, and the friendly staff.

Reviewed by
robert h

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Posh hotel
First class hotel.Highly reccomended,

Reviewed by
Walter Morris

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice hotel but food lets it down
We got a great price via Laterooms for this hotel and it's very nicely located in beautiful countryside. The decor of the hotel is very nice and the rooms spacious and of a good standard. Our room was in the roof and did get very warm though although it was a muggy night weather wise. What lets the hotel down though was the food. The evening menu was very limited and the portions on the small side although it tasted ok. Also at breakfast whlist the full English for me was fine the choice for those wanting a continental would struggle as there was some cheap cereal and not much else.
Improve the food choice, portions and availablity and this would go from a good hotel to a great one

Reviewed by
Nick H

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next