No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lakeside Guest House

4Self Classified Guest House Ratings explained
118, Abingdon Road , Oxford, OX1 4PZ
Welcome

At Lakeside we are constantly working on the property to provide a contemporary and comfortable environment for our guests. We are a family run guest house that has now been offering bed and breakfast within our home for over 23 years.

Assembled within an impressive semi-detached Victorian residence, Lakeside is situated on the Abingdon Road which can be followed directly into the City Centre. We are ideally located less than a mile from Oxford City Centre giving convenient access to Oxford's vast attractions. Next-door to us is Hinksey Park perfect for leisurely summer activities which contains an outdoor swimming pool and children's play area.

We offer a range of accommodation including single, double, twin and family bedrooms. All our rooms are decorated and furnished to a 4 star standard, as rated by The England Tourist Board. We strive to provide beyond that.

Along with our rooms we offer facilities such as off-street parking and wireless internet. Our complimentary breakfast allows a choice of a self service selection of continental style breakfast or a traditional English breakfast cooked to order. A variety of cooked options are available to suit your fancy including a vegetarian breakfast.

We hope you will choose to stay with us and find your time in Oxford to your delight.

Regards, Mr and Mrs Shirley.
Picture of Lakeside Guest House, Oxford at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
90% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice B&B
Very efficiently run. Best plus: best shower I had in England.

Reviewed by
Jeff B

From San Diego, USA
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a very pleasant stay here. The B and B is within walking distance of Oxford and served our purposes well.

Reviewed by
B Morley

From Yarm, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely friendly hotel, excellent location, fantastic decor and dining experience

Reviewed by
Emma P

From Cambridge, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ring, Ring, Ring
When we arrived to book in, the front door was locked even though we had a booking in time of 4pm so we had to ring the front door bell quiet a few times just to get into the accomodation, when someone finally let us in we were ushered to our room asap and left to it. Some of the things that were detailed in the booking were not in the room when we arrived . When leaving no-one could find a receipt. I looked at alot of places at laterooms I did not choose the cheapest as i wanted it to be special. I was disappointed.

Reviewed by
t white

From Bournemouth, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An excellent B&B near the centre of Oxford
My partner and I received a very warm welcome when we arrived and as it was winter and there were not many other guests we were given an upgrade to a lovely room overlooking the park. The bed was comfortable and everything spotlessly clean. Breakfast was very good. The only slightly negative thing was that with the house being situated on a main road, traffic noise was quite loud despite the double glazing.

Reviewed by
M Holme

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Guest House in Oxford
Just a 10 minute walk into town with off-street parking, decent guest house with lovely breakfast. Very friendly cat too!

Reviewed by
C Common

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&B
Really nice B&B, room was v comfy, free wifi and the breakfast was a highlight.

Reviewed by
Andy A

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

satisfied customer
accommodation lived up to its description

Reviewed by
Noel W

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Exceptionally clean, well presented accommodation.
The Lakeside Guest House was a really lovely place to stay. It is about a ten fifteen minute walk into the centre of Oxford and easy to acces from the ring road along the Abingdon Road. It was absolutely spotlessly clean, all furniture and furnishings seemed new and very well looked after. And the breakfast was delightful. Couldn't recommend highly enough.

Reviewed by
D Brown

From York, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very cosy and comfortable
It was freezing when I arrived but I had a very warm welcome and my (upgraded) room was excellent, with lots of thoughtful extras.
I've stayed in many Oxford B&Bs and this is the best!

Reviewed by
S Peters

From UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next