Wrea Head Hall

3

WREA HEAD, SCARBOROUGH, YO13 0PB

Price From 191.98 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map

Directions

    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine LateRooms.com customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (9)

78% would recommend it to a friend

Cleanliness

Customer service

Food quality

Room quality

Value

  • Kenneth L

  • March 2015

Good Stay but glad it was only 1 night

Room up with the gods.

Glorious views. Toilet not working. 'Fixed' used once and same problem.

  • F Laxton

  • March 2015

Cosy grandeur.

A beautiful country house expertly refurbished.

Capable and efficient staff. Gorgeous food and quality wine, all combining to make a truly pleasant experience.

  • P Haigh

  • September 2014

Weekend Stay

It cannot be doubted that this is a very nice place to stay.

It is away from the hussle and bussle of the city centre located very close to the centre of Scalby with easy acces to all the main roads leading North to Whitby, South to Filey and West to Pickering etc. The staff are exceptionally helpful and very pleasant all round. There were however a number of disappointments:

1. We were - rightly or wrongly - under the impression that we had a garden view...but were put into Room 20 which has no view other than the tall pitched tiled roof a couple from meters from the window completely obscuring any other view and I mean completely, not just a little bit. 2. One evening we chose to eat in and opted for the fixed price menu option at £22 (each) for two courses. We chose the main and sweet option for our two courses.

The food - although fabulous - came in quite small portions and despite having the fixed price I did not fancy the sweet options available and had to pay an additional £7 for cheese and biscuits....which having paid £260 for a two night stay and then £45 for dinner - I have to say I was a bit miffed about.

This along with not having the garden view we thought we would have, while did not spoil our stay, did leave us feeling a bit hard done too. The hotel is undergoing restoration, and where its been completed looks fabulous...there are signs of work underway, but it in no way spoils the experience....but the points above...and other details like a £10 corkage charge that is applied if you bring your own bottle of wine to the hotel for dinner...and £4-50 for a pint of larger is, given the cost of staying there and eating there, something the hotel should re-consider...that sort of thing just hacks people off.

  • P Pickthorn

  • August 2014

A hidden gem.

Beautiful grounds, relaxed atmosphere, room and service very good indeed. Best cooked breakfast we've had in a hotel. We would have no hesitation going back if and when travelling North again.

  • Alan G

  • January 2014

A gem of a find

The hotel is gradually being modernised to very high standards.

reception is friendly and highly efficient. The room that I stayed in was newly refurbished to a high standard. Dinner was beautifully cooked and well presented. The hotel has tried to maintain some of the features of the old house whilst offering contemporary fittings and in the dining and bar area this has been done highly successfully. Plus all of this at a rate that was highly competitive.

  • Christine B

  • December 2013

Weekend stay

Amazing.

What a little gem we found will be back

.

  • brett r

  • December 2013

Fantastic don't hesitate to stay here!

It's as you would expect from a hotel that was once a large country house, its furnished to a high standard and the service is excellent, whatever you want the staff will help you, they are all very friendly and the service is excellent.

The rooms are furnished (as is the rest of the hotel) to a very high standard. The food is excellent, forget the diet when you check in you can always go back on it when you leave. Very highly recommend you eat at the hotel. Very nice surroundings, lovely countryside views, lawns, gardens, etc and in a nice peaceful location. Will stay agian and again!

  • Richard M

  • October 2013

Wrea Head on Sunday Night

This country hotel sits outside Scalby and is ideally situated for the coast and moors of the North Riding.

The single room was compact but I understand that under the current refurbishment it will be incorporated in a larger format. Dinner was excellent and served in a spacious dining room. Breakfast in the same rom was a combination of Buffet and waiter .ervice providing a splendid start to the day. All the staff were attentive but discreet. Thoroughly recommended.

  • B FAIRHURST

  • July 2013

A Gem of a find

Service was above and beyond - excellent service, food