No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wrea Head Hall

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
WREA HEAD , SCARBOROUGH, YO13 0PB
When you choose Wrea Head you will find a perfect retreat - a country house with character and charm, which has been lovingly complemented finest fabrics, antiques and art collection.
Built in 1881, this elegant Scarborough Hotel is set in acres of private grounds in the village of Scalby on the edge of the North Yorkshire Moors National Park.
On arrival, a tantalising glimpse of honeyed stone, from which this country mansion is built, can be seen from the long winding drive - but this adorable country house hotel only reveals its full grandeur once the last corner has been turned.
Wrea Head Hall is set in a truly breathtaking setting and offers uninterrupted views across the Yorkshire countryside.
Picture of Wrea Head Hall, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 14 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
95% recommended this accommodation to a friend 95% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend Stay
It cannot be doubted that this is a very nice place to stay. It is away from the hussle and bussle of the city centre located very close to the centre of Scalby with easy acces to all the main roads leading North to Whitby, South to Filey and West to Pickering etc.
The staff are exceptionally helpful and very pleasant all round.
There were however a number of disappointments:
1. We were - rightly or wrongly - under the impression that we had a garden view...but were put into Room 20 which has no view other than the tall pitched tiled roof a couple from meters from the window completely obscuring any other view and I mean completely, not just a little bit.
2. One evening we chose to eat in and opted for the fixed price menu option at £22 (each) for two courses.
We chose the main and sweet option for our two courses.
The food - although fabulous - came in quite small portions and despite having the fixed price I did not fancy the sweet options available and had to pay an additional £7 for cheese and biscuits....which having paid £260 for a two night stay and then £45 for dinner - I have to say I was a bit miffed about.
This along with not having the garden view we thought we would have, while did not spoil our stay, did leave us feeling a bit hard done too.
The hotel is undergoing restoration, and where its been completed looks fabulous...there are signs of work underway, but it in no way spoils the experience....but the points above...and other details like a £10 corkage charge that is applied if you bring your own bottle of wine to the hotel for dinner...and £4-50 for a pint of larger is, given the cost of staying there and eating there, something the hotel should re-consider...that sort of thing just hacks people off.

Reviewed by
P Haigh

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden gem! Beautiful grounds, relaxed atmosphere, room and service very good indeed. Best cooked breakfast we've had in a hotel. We would have no hesitation going back if and when travelling North again.

Reviewed by
P Pickthorn

From Gloucester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A gem of a find
The hotel is gradually being modernised to very high standards. reception is friendly and highly efficient. The room that I stayed in was newly refurbished to a high standard. Dinner was beautifully cooked and well presented. The hotel has tried to maintain some of the features of the old house whilst offering contemporary fittings and in the dining and bar area this has been done highly successfully. Plus all of this at a rate that was highly competitive.

Reviewed by
Alan G

From Holmfirth, England
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend stay
Amazing. What a little gem we found will be back
.

Reviewed by
Christine B

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic don't hesitate to stay here!
It's as you would expect from a hotel that was once a large country house, its furnished to a high standard and the service is excellent, whatever you want the staff will help you, they are all very friendly and the service is excellent. The rooms are furnished (as is the rest of the hotel) to a very high standard. The food is excellent, forget the diet when you check in you can always go back on it when you leave! Very highly recommend you eat at the hotel! Very nice surroundings, lovely countryside views, lawns, gardens, etc and in a nice peaceful location. Will stay agian and again!

Reviewed by
brett r

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wrea Head on Sunday Night
This country hotel sits outside Scalby and is ideally situated for the coast and moors of the North Riding. The single room was compact but I understand that under the current refurbishment it will be incorporated in a larger format.
Dinner was excellent and served in a spacious dining room. Breakfast in the same rom was a combination of Buffet and waiter .ervice providing a splendid start to the day. All the staff were attentive but discreet.
Thoroughly recommended.

Reviewed by
Richard M

From Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A Gem of a find
Service was above and beyond - excellent service, food

Reviewed by
B FAIRHURST

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A country house treat!
A small and lovely discovery in the countryside that takes you back in time. Currently being renovated in keeping with the country house party experience you feel more like an invited guest rather than a customer. The refurbishment is really well done, particularly in the main hall with its inglenook fireplace complete with log fire and the period features in the dining room and library. Sadly we were somewhat disappointed with our room - although the refurbishment was of excellent quality it was very small and cramped with the lovely sash windows painted shut (so no fresh air!) and the view from our window .....a brick wall and roof! We think it may have been a servants room in the past but don't let that put you off staying there - we would certainly return but would request 'a room with a view' next time.

Reviewed by
Andrew F

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Relaxing time
What a lovely place to stay - my wife and I stayed for only 1 night, as we were travelling on elsewhere - but we really enjoyed the whole atmosphere.

Reviewed by
M Buckley

From Basingstoke, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

40 year gap .Now its getting the Wow factor.
Just returned from spending the night at Wrea Head . We were shown our room by Anne and our reaction was WOW ! crystal chandalier and subdued lighting the dimensions of the room would have graced a small ballroom for want of a better discription.The views from the windows fantastic,rolling countryside( no wilderbeast however ) Bed huge and canopied. I stayed here 40 years ago on a further education course and remember the then house keeper saying we would never sleep on matresses as comfortable again as they were made of all feathers. We had the standard evening meal menu poached pheasant for myself which was succulent and hubby the vegetable option, from bunk beds to super king enjoyed my time there 40 years ago, what a contrast to the luxury now. Would I go again most definately..and wish the present owner every success in bringing it back to its former glory pre education days. Thanks laterooms for a great price and hotel.Stayed in room 4.

Reviewed by
r pinder

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next