Reviews - The Millstones Country Hotel & Restaurant


436-438 Tavistock Road, Roborough, Plymouth, PL6 7HQ

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (32)

72% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Steve W

  • October 2015


Feel the photos are very misleading and the whole place needs bringing into the 21st century, couldn't fault the breakfast, however the room 3 has no heating in the bathroom and even when the heating was on in the bedroom, radiator was only cool at its best, the whole room had a bad smell to it down to possibly a faulty soil pipe in the bathroom, if we hadn't been using just as a base for sleeping for a couple of nights I don't think we would have stayed

  • Bernard D

  • June 2015


Excellent hospitality from all staff

  • Ian S

  • April 2015

Nice accommodating owner - but this is not a country house hotel!!

The picture for this property is misleading, this is not a country hotel, it may have been a long time ago - there is no grass entrance with impressive wood and trees.

Perspective the room was £69 and the owner was extremely accommodating when my booking was wrong, maybe an online issue who knows but he gave my son and I a room each - hotel is old but clean - decided not to do breakfast. In terms of value for money if its just a bed you want it was a clean hotel run by a nice guy. If you are holidaying and thinking of staying in a country hotel, in the countryside, this is in a built up area of Plymouth and not nice. Nice guys, misleading name and add, maybe time has moved on from this establishment.

  • olusola o

  • April 2015

Value for money

Accommodation was in a convenient place and has easy access for us.

  • j SUTTON

  • March 2015

Very disappointed

In need of a well deserved re-furbishment.

Very dated and photos need updating. Carpets need replacing in the room I stayed in. Did not give a good look at all. Could'nt wait to leave.

  • S Weemes

  • November 2014

A little dated

Nice and friendly, but all in need of some attention.

  • V Gorman

  • October 2014

Millstones Country Hotel and restaurant

On the approach to the hotel i have to say it initially didn't look too well maintained.

However once inside although the decor is perhaps a little dated, it was clean and comfortable. The evening meal in the restaurant was superb and the staff very friendly and approachable. My room was clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities. Breakfast the following morning was absolutely superb. Well cooked and brought direct to my table... No buffet style fare here and i liked that a lot. My whole bill including meals cost less than the room only rate for the nearest Premier Inn.. Very pleased about that :)

I would definitely stay there again if i have to be in that area.

  • Mel F

  • October 2014

Reasonable hotel and good value but dated and in need of some renovation

We stayed here for one night and cannot complain about the friendliness or attentiveness of the staff.

The room was large and reasonably well equipped, good wifi is included as is a good breakfast served freshly cooked in a conservatory at the rear of the property. However, this hotel needs quite a bit of work: the grounds and gardens are untidy, the furniture, carpets, ensuite and decoration all need renewing or repairing and whilst the hotel has character, it is dark and not entirely inviting. We prefer to avoid the 'standard' chain hotels, and always try to seek out good independent places, so overall, were a little disappointed with the overall condition of this hotel.

  • Silvia J MARQUISS

  • August 2014

Helpful staff lovely building

We stayed at the Millstones Country Hotel for its closeness to the local hospital, where I had to attend for an appointment.

The lady that welcomed us on arrival was polite, friendly and professional, she showed us to our room herself and made sure that we knew everything we needed to. She also gave us information about finding the post office which we needed to do urgently. We had a four poster bed in our room, tv and tea/coffee facilities, a fabulous shower, and a room looking over the garden. The bathroom was clean and well presented. Breakfast was very reasonable considering the choices that you were given any you could have breakfast right up to 9.30am which is unusual nowadays, plus it was freshly cooked when you came down, not left under lamps to dry out for heaven knows howlong. I know some people have been unkind about this hotel, but as far as we are concerned they provided everything we needed. Maybe in the future when finances allow a programme of decoration will be put in place, but it is certainly not as bad as some unkind people have said. We will definitely stay again. The house has a great deal of history attached and is a wonderful building with many features that are worth exploring and learning about. Thank you to Sarah and her staff for looking after us so well.

  • D Whittle

  • August 2014

Quaint, very helpful staff, Julia who did everything. Needs updating and new decor.

Hotel needs updating, but very clean and comfortable, apart from creaky brass bedstead and wardrobe that didn't open.

Julia the only staff on arriving was extremely helpful, cooked amazing food and was a very happy and cheerful person. would recommend to friends but does need new windows and new decor. Enjoyed my stay.