Last Minute Accommodation > World > Europe > UK > England > Devon & Cornwall > Devon > Plymouth Hotels > The Millstones Country Hotel & Restaurant
No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Millstones Country Hotel & Restaurant

3Self Classified Country House Hotel Ratings explained
436-438 Tavistock Road, Roborough, Plymouth, PL6 7HQ
Nestled in an acre of picturesque gardens, conveniently situated on the A386 from Plymouth to Tavistock, this traditional family-run hotel offers cosy accommodation, home-cooked food and free Wi-Fi & on-site parking. Boasting an exemplary commitment to customer service, the proprietors are passionate about cultivating a friendly home-from-home atmosphere. Comfort and relaxation are very much the cornerstones of their ethos, and with such beautiful surroundings and comfy bedrooms it is easy to succumb to their way of thinking. What’s more, the Hotel is blessed with a fantastic location. Just a short distance from Plymouth, its University, and the coast, it is an ideal place for both business and leisure travellers alike.

All of the Hotel’s 9 rooms are individually furnished and styled to a very high standard. Each has its own en-suite facilities, complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat screen television with Sky channels, direct-dial telephone and tea & coffee making facilities Single, double and twin options are available, and for those special occasions, the hotel boasts some exquisite four-poster rooms each decorated in its own distinctive style.

There is a cosy bar, two comfortable lounges and a restaurant all tastefully decorated to a high standard in classic period style. Specialising in traditional British cuisine, they serve a delightful range of home-cooked meals from their daily specials board. For those warm Summer days, there is an outdoor patio in the enclosed garden to the rear of the property, perfect for alfresco dining or just basking in the peaceful atmosphere and tranquil surroundings.

The Hotel is located on the A386 between Tavistock and Plymouth; what’s more with free on-site parking it is both convenient and accessible. Plymouth is approximately an 11 minute drive from the Hotel and it offers excellent rail links to the rest of the country. For those flying in, Bristol Airport is a 2 hour and 15 minute drive, or there’s the smaller Plymouth Airport just 5 minutes away.The Hotel is in close proximity to a wonderful wealth of local attractions and tourist destinations. The vibrant city of Plymouth is just over 10 minutes away. With its spectacular sea views from both Plymouth Hoe and the Barbican it is easily one of Britain’s most beautiful waterfront cities. With fantastic restaurants and eateries, a lively nightlife and a wide range of shops it is a great day out for everyone to enjoy. Plymouth is also home to the National Marine Aquarium, the largest of its type in Britain. Taking visitors on a journey across the world’s oceans, it delivers a fascinating and action-packed insight into the underwater world and its inhabitants. For fans of the great outdoors, Dartmoor National Park offers 368 square miles of breath-taking wild open countryside. Enthusiasts can look forward to ample opportunities for a wide range of active pursuits, including walking, rambling, cycling, horse-riding, kayaking and much more besides. Further natural wonders can be discovered at the Eden Project, home to the largest indoor rainforest in the world. As well as creating stunning gardens and putting on fantastic arts and music events it also offers runs several eco-friendly environmental projects and workshops. For history fans, Saltram House, a magnificent Georgian property provides a fascinating insight to country-estate life throughout the centuries. Perfect for the whole family it offers beautiful gardens, guided tours and plenty of fun educational activities.
Picture of The Millstones Country Hotel & Restaurant, Plymouth at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
77% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A little dated
Nice and friendly, but all in need of some attention.

Reviewed by
S Weemes

From Poole, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Millstones Country Hotel and restaurant
On the approach to the hotel i have to say it initially didn't look too well maintained. However once inside although the decor is perhaps a little dated, it was clean and comfortable.
The evening meal in the restaurant was superb and the staff very friendly and approachable.
My room was clean and comfortable with all the usual facilities. Breakfast the following morning was absolutely superb. Well cooked and brought direct to my table... No buffet style fare here and i liked that a lot. My whole bill including meals cost less than the room only rate for the nearest Premier Inn.. Very pleased about that :)
I would definitely stay there again if i have to be in that area.

Reviewed by
V Gorman

From Kettering, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Reasonable hotel and good value but dated and in need of some renovation
We stayed here for one night and cannot complain about the friendliness or attentiveness of the staff. The room was large and reasonably well equipped, good wifi is included as is a good breakfast served freshly cooked in a conservatory at the rear of the property. However, this hotel needs quite a bit of work: the grounds and gardens are untidy, the furniture, carpets, ensuite and decoration all need renewing or repairing and whilst the hotel has character, it is dark and not entirely inviting. We prefer to avoid the 'standard' chain hotels, and always try to seek out good independent places, so overall, were a little disappointed with the overall condition of this hotel.

Reviewed by
Mel F

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Helpful staff lovely building
We stayed at the Millstones Country Hotel for its closeness to the local hospital, where I had to attend for an appointment.
The lady that welcomed us on arrival was polite, friendly and professional, she showed us to our room herself and made sure that we knew everything we needed to. She also gave us information about finding the post office which we needed to do urgently.
We had a four poster bed in our room, tv and tea/coffee facilities, a fabulous shower, and a room looking over the garden. The bathroom was clean and well presented.
Breakfast was very reasonable considering the choices that you were given any you could have breakfast right up to 9.30am which is unusual nowadays, plus it was freshly cooked when you came down, not left under lamps to dry out for heaven knows howlong.
I know some people have been unkind about this hotel, but as far as we are concerned they provided everything we needed. Maybe in the future when finances allow a programme of decoration will be put in place, but it is certainly not as bad as some unkind people have said.
We will definitely stay again. The house has a great deal of history attached and is a wonderful building with many features that are worth exploring and learning about. Thank you to Sarah and her staff for looking after us so well.

Reviewed by
Silvia J MARQUISS

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Quaint, very helpful staff, Julia who did everything. Needs updating and new decor.
Hotel needs updating, but very clean and comfortable, apart from creaky brass bedstead and wardrobe that didn't open. Julia the only staff on arriving was extremely helpful, cooked amazing food and was a very happy and cheerful person. would recommend to friends but does need new windows and new decor. Enjoyed my stay.

Reviewed by
D Whittle

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Refurbishment
That's really it. V clean inside, but could be so pretty at the front n back, plastic chairs in need of a clean. No need to make it sterile or change character, I had a 4poster bed similar to the 1 we slept in, I cut it down n painted it cream, made big difference. Mostly the place needs a lick of paint and change of soft furnishings, borders get rid of them n the wicker units by the bed no need for table and chairs in room, there r 2 good lounges.. Really sorry but our bacon wasn't cooked enough n my wife had to mop up the excess iliquid on plates as poached eggs were v wet, which was a shame. U need to change the name, l live in the countryside n ur hotel isn't ur add n website r v misleading which isn't fair given the price.

Reviewed by
G TYMS

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good stay
This is my second time at Millstones Country Hotel, I enjoyed my stay. My hotel room was clean and comfortable. The staff were all accommodating. Nice Hotel

Reviewed by
Oluwatosin A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A pleasant overnight stop
A perfect stop that was close to my business meeting place. A cosy, quiet single room with a comfortable bed and good size bath. Friendly owners and well presented cooked breakfast.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Norwich, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We found the external appearance of the hotel off putting and, had we not booked, might have looked for alternative accommodation.. However once inside the place and staff were welcoming.

Reviewed by
David A S

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Plymouth Guest House
Very untidy car park area in front of hotel giving a very bad first impression. Staff very friendly. Room was clean and the hotel accepts dogs.

Reviewed by
P Ramsay

From Strathaven, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next