Reviews - The Millstones Country Hotel & Restaurant


436-438 Tavistock Road, Roborough, Plymouth, PL6 7HQ

Price From 144.14 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (30)

77% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Tosin A

  • May 2014

Nice Hotel, good service.

It was like home away from home.....

  • Pamela P

  • May 2014

Lovely warm welcome and very comfortable stay at the Millstones Country Hotel, Plymouth

This was a charming hotel on outskirts of town but with every feel of the 'country' with the spacious back garden and front driveway.

The staff were extremely friendly and accommodating and the hotel was lovely and warm to arrive to on a slightly chilly evening. The lounge and bar very cosy and breakfast was delicious with a good choice. Good spacious room with four poster bed and adequate bathroom.

  • G Roberts

  • April 2014

Nice Hotel

A nice friendly hotel, but needs some refurbishment.

Breakfast and evening meals we had were good.

  • Bob F

  • April 2014

Good Value, hotel

When we arrived, we were little disappointed as it looked a little shabby from the front.

But hey, I'm not sending postcards. I'm sure it will look better when the trailing plants are covering the walls. Hotel was clean, comfortable and staff couldn't do enough for us. Booked a double and a single room. Both were plenty big enough (single room had huge bathroom with a bath!!) Clean, warm and comfortable, what more do you want.

Due to our commitments, we needed to leave before breakfast was due to be served. So the staff came in early and sorted out a full English an hour earlier than usual. Now hows that for going the extra mile. My only issue was, unfortunately, we didn't have enough time to fully enjoy it . Now everyone has different opinions on what they want from a breakfast. I've had the B&B greasy spoon all the way through to the corporate hotel, eat as much as you want . But in my opinion, the Millstones got it just about right. Help yourself juice and cereal etc, followed by a superb full English. It is just a little out of town, but, it is next to the park and ride and given the parking in town, I see that as a bonus. If my son gets his place at Plymouth Uni, we will be staying here again for the next couple of years, without thinking twice

  • David C

  • March 2014


Excellent small and personal hotel.

Extremely friendly. Great quality breakfast. Would stay again without a shadow of a doubt.

  • Mike A

  • March 2014

Nice, but

The Owner/Manager, staff were all very pleasant, ok value and everything was ok, but - I think the best way to describe this hotel would be it’s the type of place the "Hotel Inspector" would love to her hands on.

Not that it looked like a failing business but that the decor and general feel was just eclectic (not in the good way) and old fashioned. My bath had an over head shower and a mixer tap/shower on the bath too. When I told a staff member that when I used the latter and water spayed everywhere (broken washer I guess) she replied "Most people don't use that tap!"

Well not twice they don’t. To sum up –

I didn’t hate it

But didn’t love it either.

  • Nicola S

  • February 2014

genuine welcome in Devon

We stayed at Millstones for the first time in January this year.

We were very impressed with how welcoming and helpful the staff were. We felt at home and comfortable and would make this our first choice for future visits to Plymouth. The location for us was very convenient. We had a very good meal one evening and breakfast each day was excellent.

  • Clare M

  • February 2014

Friendly staff, clean rooms, good shower.

Excellent value for money. Good proximity to Derriford hospital.

  • S Van Wedge

  • January 2014

Traditional west country hotel

Friendly and warm hotel.

Gave me a different room than I booked - when that happens I tend to think 'is this for my benefit or yours?!' Good breakfast choice and quality. Only two pillows on the double bed.

  • Daniel D

  • December 2013

Friendly staff

I arrived late at night and they were very accomodating and friendly.