No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Lodges

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
6 West Coats Edinburgh, East Lothian, EH21 8PY
Edinburgh Lodges, comprising of The Johnson Lodge and Gartmore Lodge offer simple, clean, safe yet stylish accommodation, just outside of Edinburgh in Musselburgh.

With modern amenities including individual TVs and free wi-fi access for all guests, the lodges represent great value and are popular with families, business travellers and those looking to explore Edinburgh for less.

With 29 rooms available, and rates from £40pn, the lodges offer great value Edinburgh accommodation.
Picture of Edinburgh Lodges, East Lothian at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 45 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A hidden treasure
I stayed for two nights while I visited friends and family. I used to live in a nearby village for 13 years and didn't know this place existed.
The woodland is stunning, wildlife can be seen and the birds can be heard singing.
It was so relaxing and calming.
The staff provide an excellent service. We mustn't forget the domestic staff who maintain an extremely high standard of cleanliness.
I would definately reccomend to others.
Faultless and a hidden treasure.

Reviewed by
L Bartrum

From Beith, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very good place to stay, very (pleasantly) surprised with what we were offered
Looking for a stop-over during a long journey returning from holiday, travelling as a couple with teenage daughter. Took pot luck booking on LateRooms and did not really know what I was booking. Was amazed to be taken by the SatNav up a drive of a manor-house and have a lovely secluded car park right next door to the accommodation. Check-in was a disappointment, the reception for the rooms is not in use and check-in was in the main reception, in the main building a couple of minutes away - not a problem, but a sign on the disused reception desk would have helped, fellow guests had to advise us where to go to get our key. Room was clean and for the money, very high quality indeed. Bathroom was worn but perfectly adequate and was clean throughout. Very good night's sleep, bedding and mattress very good quality, sockets by both beds (unusual), good wifi rabbits running outside the window, just lovely. Did not request breakfast so cannot comment on food. Thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewed by
Charles C

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

It was good but had to swap rooms as shower was not working but was good after that

Reviewed by
Robyn F

From Troon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Returned to Edinburgh Lodges with Partner to enjoy the History in the evening whilst working
Return to these Lodges this time with my Partner, whilst she is now retired, she was a heavy Business Traveller, the Lady was impressed, the Staff were helpful, & we were able to enjoy the Main House Bar and tour some of the Rooms,
As we both work & I Lecturer in History, this place is a Hidden Gem

Reviewed by
Douglas Chapman

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edingburgh Lodges perfect for Business & leisure
Been here before, this time they upgraded me,
For the business Traveller, this is a small but important matter,
I am due back , intend to pay little extra for larger room & bring my Partner the 300 or so miles that we can mix a little pleasure with Business.
If only other Hotels & leisure accommodations were to treat Business people with a little more respect , they too would get the extra business I will give these Edinburgh lodges.

Reviewed by
Douglas Chapman

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh Lodges
Excellent Setting, probably one of the most relaxing I have ever stayed in .

Reviewed by
D Chapman

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very clean and comfortable enjoyed stay only quibble was the telly kept on loosing signal so unable to watch it.

Reviewed by
karen m

From Chester le Street, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Local Lodges are good value for money. And set in amazing surroundings
My initial thoughts were, I can't afford this on my Budget. Well I could the main house and surrounding areas are magnificent.
The organisation is set up as a high Class events venue, particularly Famous for weddings, the Staff are friendly and bend over backwards to help themselves, working in Edingburgh I usually, change each week,
I am certainly coming back here .

Reviewed by
D Chapman

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely Little Lodge
Myself and partner stayed over one night ,the lodge is situated on the grounds next to a beautiful hotel,surrounded by lovely trees and woodland. we were only in reception of the hotel but it looked great. the lodge was very nice, a little on the small side but very nice and clean, bed very comfortable.We could not fault it. The girl on the reception was very pleasant, We asked for taxi number as we were going out at night, she kindly offered to order one for us.We will definitely go back but stay a little longer .The lodge ,the hotel and staff faultless.

Reviewed by
H McElroy

From Carnoustie, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Smelly and mouldy
The room was very small, and smelt horrible. There was mould all over the shower room floor, the shower was only cold or scalding hot.

Reviewed by
Kirsty M

From Oban, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next