No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Lodges

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
6 West Coats Edinburgh, East Lothian, EH21 8PY
Edinburgh Lodges, comprising of The Johnson Lodge and Gartmore Lodge offer simple, clean, safe yet stylish accommodation, just outside of Edinburgh in Musselburgh.

With modern amenities including individual TVs and free wi-fi access for all guests, the lodges represent great value and are popular with families, business travellers and those looking to explore Edinburgh for less.

With 29 rooms available, and rates from £40pn, the lodges offer great value Edinburgh accommodation.
Picture of Edinburgh Lodges, East Lothian at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Spring Weekend 2013
My partner and I really enjoyed our stay, our particular room was lovely and spacious which we really appreciated. The setting was lovely, quite and a little romantic to boot and its rural setting suited us and was very relaxing. All of this and more was wonderful, but the downside was that unlike us, if your not a walker, then you will either have a long walk or a taxi ride to the local railway station, as a car or bikes are by far the best way to get around. As for the room, the only issue for us was noisy water pipes, but to be honest that's nothing to get upset about. When we stayed, we pretty much had the place to ourselves, but I had heard that thin walls was another issue, but I can't speak to that... Finally, there was not much in the way of hotel information, especially regarding checkout, so its best to plan ahead on that kind of thing...
In summary this is a lovely, freindly place and we really enjoyed our stay. Even our stay was at the tail end of winter, we would very much like to come back when its warmer and there are leaves on the trees and we will reccomend this hotel to friends and family....

Reviewed by
A Duff

From Alloa, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

First impressions aren't always right
Stay was on room only basis, room was comfortable and warm. However, Reception was unmanned on arrival and we had to go off to the main hotel for the room key, which was disconcerting when it is dark and the car park deserted, and you are in unfamiliar surroundings in a wooded area - a bit like ' The Shining'!

Reviewed by
Alex C

From UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room very nice and very clean good value.
Room very good but Duvets far too small

Reviewed by
M Henry

From Dundee, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh City Break
Excellent, excellent find on this piece of Scotland. Natural beauty and lodge surroundings were outstanding. Could not eat at the Carberry Tower next door due to a wedding being held on the day but what a shame I had not booked more days to stay here. Would definitely recommend to anyone and everyone. My wife and I were surely impressed. Staff excellend and the lodges were very lovely and quaint.

Reviewed by
F Cotto

From Barrow in Furness, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic value for money
Exceptional value for money, booked an extra night at the same price as original booking. We stayed for a week and didn't want to leave. Set in beautiful wooded surroundings, only slight problem was missing the turning and having to drive half a mile down a mud track, take the carberry tower turning!
Lodges are part of a castle complex which we had access to, including a full size snooker table :) Food available but we ate elsewhere, I would expect this to be high quality too given the rest of our experience.
Plentiful parking and late check in too. Only 2 miles from park and ride to Edinburgh.
All in all I would recommend the lodges to anyone & everyone.

Reviewed by
Simon L

From Redruth, UK
Who stayed in November 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Brilliant value
We just needed a bed for the night - the room was fantastic value for money! Not far from a park and ride into Edinburgh (essential as parking in Edinburgh can be a nightmare), receptionist was lovely and helpful. Room was clean and tidy, no frills, but perfect for our sleepy heads.

Reviewed by
Steven O

From Milton Keynes, England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap clean lodges lovely staff at tower
i stayed here for 2 nights with my 3year old nd partner the rooms were spotless so clean and the cleaner came in every day and changed the towels troll and filled the tea/coffee tray bak up which is nice. there isnt alot to do as ur quite a bit away from things so always make sure u go in a car. the tower and surrounds are beautiful and we were allowed to look about i would recommend that if u go dont take children coz the walls are really thin and my wee girl was up alot with the hall door bangin all the time and also we couldnt sleep beacause 1 neighbour was so rude and disrespectful a woman was screamin not in a bad way and my child go woke up its disgustin but the place was cheap really clean and overall a good weekend we had :)

Reviewed by
natalie m

From glasgow, Scotland
Who stayed in October 2012

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

My wife and I required accomodation for a weekend visiting family, consequently we only used the lodge for overnighting. Hugh and comfortable bed (2 singles together), and efficient shower - all that you could want for overnight. A lot of noise from adjacent rooms can be ignored! Both Continental & Full Scottish breakfasts at nearby Carberry Tower were tried, these were only adequate in comparison to similar hotel chains.

Reviewed by
Brian K

From England
Who stayed in October 2012

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic hotel. Pleasure staying there

Reviewed by
mark annett

From Johannesburg, South Africa
Who stayed in September 2012

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

positive experience
Beautiful setting.Quiet.Every thing you would need for a good night's sleep. Room a little on the small side but the bed very comfortable.

Reviewed by
ALAN R

From Whitby, England
Who stayed in September 2012

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next