No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Lodges

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
6 West Coats Edinburgh, East Lothian, EH21 8PY
Edinburgh Lodges, comprising of The Johnson Lodge and Gartmore Lodge offer simple, clean, safe yet stylish accommodation, just outside of Edinburgh in Musselburgh.

With modern amenities including individual TVs and free wi-fi access for all guests, the lodges represent great value and are popular with families, business travellers and those looking to explore Edinburgh for less.

With 29 rooms available, and rates from £40pn, the lodges offer great value Edinburgh accommodation.
Picture of Edinburgh Lodges, East Lothian at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 46 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
84% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to stay here as other places booked up due to Open Golf.
Room was very basic, looked very old and tired and room had odour when doors/ windows had been closed. No towels on arrival had to go and ask, I was offered no apology just a remark 'oh there isn't is there' which seemed to imply that someone may be not doing their job. Toilet seat loose. Accommodation really not what I expected.
Would of expected to pay no more than £25 a night when comparing to what you get at premier lodge etc which is to a much higher and modern standard. I paid £50 for this, no way worth it.
Apart from that nice setting and close to main routes.

Reviewed by
P Orton

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2013 Bunbury Golf society
Excellent accommodation, just a couple of spiders in the beds......would have been a 6 otherwise!

Reviewed by
A Lawrence

From Tarporley, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wild Goose Chase
The hotel is outside Musselburgh and the woman at reception was kind enough to offer me a ride into the village so I could have a look around. She told me I could get a bus back, emphasizing "Take bus 40 to Penicuit." She was very adamant about repeating the name of Penicuit and repeating it over and over. Take the bus to Penicuit. She also told me all the bus drivers knew where I should get off in order to walk up the hill back to theotel. The bus to Penicuit, she kept saying. So, I took the bus to Penicuit. After an hour so I started to fret, thinking I had indeed been sent on a fool's errand.; but trusting that the bus would eventually come back around and drive round the back of the hotel. Once in Pnicuit, NOBODY knew of the hotel, not the bus driver, nor the resident's of Penicuit! So back on the bus and an 8 pound taxi ride later, I figured out that what she had meant was take bus 40 to the bottom of the hill, 2 miles outside the village. This bus also goes to Penicuit. When givivg directions to foreigners, one need be so careful to be precise. She cost me three hours and eight pounds,

Reviewed by
cathe p

From salem, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine fresh cheap
Exactly what it said on the tin! Although the only grumble worth mentioning is that it is hard to find the reception due to lack of signs and there being a second reception adding confusion which never has anybody there! Other guests had the same problem. Thankfully we were pointed in the right direction by fellow holiday makers who had informed us they had stood for half an hour waiting before they phoned for help.

Reviewed by
C Pottinger

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room. good value for money, be prepared to take your own food as carbury tower restaurant is really expensive

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful haven in the woods
Edinburgh lodges was a surprise having lived in the area in the past, was not aware how nice the location was, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are very helpful and pleasant the rooms,clean and comfortable,tea making facilities are an added bonus. I also liked that we could have breakfast in Carberry Tower, a truly remarkable place, wish I had known its existence before now. but better late than never!!.

Reviewed by
R Wilkinson

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh lodges
The lodges are beautiful, the room was spotless and well kept. The only down side was there appeared to be no sound barrier between the rooms could hear everything from people talking to them going to toilet so wasn't the best sleep i have had.

Reviewed by
Lyndsay L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Small room
The room was clean but very cramped. Wi-Fi was broken when we stayed. That was an inconvenience as I needed a connection to contact people overseas. I found the rate of the room to be quite expensive for the size of the room. You could hear doors slamming in the night, and shower temperatures were erratic.

Reviewed by
P Williams

From Oklahoma City, USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country Location
Peacefull stay on a country estate.

Reviewed by
Nancy M

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and comfortable
The accommodation at the Edinburgh lodges was very clean with a comfortable bed. The bathroom was a little small and basicl but the shower was powerful enough with plenty of hot water. Guests are free to use the bar and other facilities in the adjoining Carbury Tower. As we were playing golf in nearby Musselburgh this was an ideal location and would certainly use it again for a similar break

Reviewed by
M Brown

From Ryton, UK
Who stayed in May 2013

Group of men

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next