No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Edinburgh Lodges

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
6 West Coats Edinburgh, East Lothian, EH21 8PY
Edinburgh Lodges, comprising of The Johnson Lodge and Gartmore Lodge offer simple, clean, safe yet stylish accommodation, just outside of Edinburgh in Musselburgh.

With modern amenities including individual TVs and free wi-fi access for all guests, the lodges represent great value and are popular with families, business travellers and those looking to explore Edinburgh for less.

With 29 rooms available, and rates from £40pn, the lodges offer great value Edinburgh accommodation.
Picture of Edinburgh Lodges, East Lothian at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 48 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
85% recommended this accommodation to a friend 85% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fringe Time Alternative
Staying just off central Edinburgh for regular 2-night business trips becomes ridiculously expensive at this time of the year.
The 2 - multi-room lodges (in the grounds of Carberry Hotel) provide a low cost alternative, within easy commuting distance via the nearby A1.
The rural location is slightly isolated so transport essential.
Car parking is adjacent to the lodges.
Although fairly basic, my single room was very clean & comfortable, with tea & coffee making facilities, as well as small flat screen TV
Most other occupants seemed to be tourists, some German.
Although noise carried through thin walls (particularly doors banging shut as children went from one room to another, ) everything was quiet by 11 pm on 2 -peaceful nights.
On both evenings - arriving at the lodges 6 pm ish, the corridor smelt of cigarette &/or pipe smoke
which had infiltrated my room.
On checking out, I asked if some of the rooms were smoking & was told not & they would be looking into it.
I could not find the usual room brochure of facilities / where to go or eat (I assumed that the main hotel would be too expensive for breakfast & dinner & was not told that it was an option when checking in).
I did ask if there were any drinks / snack vending machines & was told that there were not.
A few miles away I found a pleasant old fishing harbour at West Musselburgh., The Weatherspoons was full with locals so I bought fish & chips & sat on the promenade watching the sunset over the Firth of Forth - which came for free!
This is probably a good base for outdoor types to explore the area from.

Reviewed by
david r

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The accommodation was very good and certainly value for money. There was a bit of noise from other guests but you get this in top quality hotels.

Reviewed by
c warden

From UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Had to stay here as other places booked up due to Open Golf.
Room was very basic, looked very old and tired and room had odour when doors/ windows had been closed. No towels on arrival had to go and ask, I was offered no apology just a remark 'oh there isn't is there' which seemed to imply that someone may be not doing their job. Toilet seat loose. Accommodation really not what I expected.
Would of expected to pay no more than £25 a night when comparing to what you get at premier lodge etc which is to a much higher and modern standard. I paid £50 for this, no way worth it.
Apart from that nice setting and close to main routes.

Reviewed by
P Orton

From Stockport, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

2013 Bunbury Golf society
Excellent accommodation, just a couple of spiders in the beds......would have been a 6 otherwise!

Reviewed by
A Lawrence

From Tarporley, England
Who stayed in July 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wild Goose Chase
The hotel is outside Musselburgh and the woman at reception was kind enough to offer me a ride into the village so I could have a look around. She told me I could get a bus back, emphasizing "Take bus 40 to Penicuit." She was very adamant about repeating the name of Penicuit and repeating it over and over. Take the bus to Penicuit. She also told me all the bus drivers knew where I should get off in order to walk up the hill back to theotel. The bus to Penicuit, she kept saying. So, I took the bus to Penicuit. After an hour so I started to fret, thinking I had indeed been sent on a fool's errand.; but trusting that the bus would eventually come back around and drive round the back of the hotel. Once in Pnicuit, NOBODY knew of the hotel, not the bus driver, nor the resident's of Penicuit! So back on the bus and an 8 pound taxi ride later, I figured out that what she had meant was take bus 40 to the bottom of the hill, 2 miles outside the village. This bus also goes to Penicuit. When givivg directions to foreigners, one need be so careful to be precise. She cost me three hours and eight pounds,

Reviewed by
cathe p

From salem, USA
Who stayed in July 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fine fresh cheap
Exactly what it said on the tin! Although the only grumble worth mentioning is that it is hard to find the reception due to lack of signs and there being a second reception adding confusion which never has anybody there! Other guests had the same problem. Thankfully we were pointed in the right direction by fellow holiday makers who had informed us they had stood for half an hour waiting before they phoned for help.

Reviewed by
C Pottinger

From Shetland, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very small room. good value for money, be prepared to take your own food as carbury tower restaurant is really expensive

Reviewed by
Chris D

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A peaceful haven in the woods
Edinburgh lodges was a surprise having lived in the area in the past, was not aware how nice the location was, the grounds are beautiful, the staff are very helpful and pleasant the rooms,clean and comfortable,tea making facilities are an added bonus. I also liked that we could have breakfast in Carberry Tower, a truly remarkable place, wish I had known its existence before now. but better late than never!!.

Reviewed by
R Wilkinson

From Washington, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Edinburgh lodges
The lodges are beautiful, the room was spotless and well kept. The only down side was there appeared to be no sound barrier between the rooms could hear everything from people talking to them going to toilet so wasn't the best sleep i have had.

Reviewed by
Lyndsay L

From UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Small room
The room was clean but very cramped. Wi-Fi was broken when we stayed. That was an inconvenience as I needed a connection to contact people overseas. I found the rate of the room to be quite expensive for the size of the room. You could hear doors slamming in the night, and shower temperatures were erratic.

Reviewed by
P Williams

From Oklahoma City, USA
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 Next