No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
246, The Street Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham, ME13 9AL
The White Horse Inn is a historic pub restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient pilgrims inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village within minutes of the M2 but surrounded by hop gardens and orchards recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside.

As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional within, with roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream.

Our chef, Joe Oxberry, is the man creating quite a stir in the kitchen. Oxberry's locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with his combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. The excellent Sunday lunches are extremely popular as are the themed evenings such as jazz suppers featuring award-winning vocalists Christine Tobin and Georgia Mancio.

For business travellers being located in a village on the outskirts of Faversham, but within minutes of the M2/A2 junction, makes it an easy half hour journey to Ashford, Maidstone, Dover, Folkestone and Thanet, with Canterbury and Whitstable just 10 minutes away.
For visitors there are numerous local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, the local Shepherd Neame brewery, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches and Wildwood and Howletts Animal Sanctuary. And if walking or cycling, The White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside; with Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt nearby there are many stunning routes on our doorstep.

Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, a la carte restaurant and bar. We have plenty of free parking and we welcome dogs in some of our rooms.
The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits.

Picture of The White Horse Inn, Faversham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since May 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 54 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
80% recommended this accommodation to a friend 83% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Kent Stop Over Before Crossing the Channel
Food excellent and comfortable accomodation. Two real ales in the bar from Sheperd Neame. Slight problem with condensation in room 1.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

WHI review
All really good... lovely place

Reviewed by
Neil R

From Orpington, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Accomodation.
Good accomodation with very helpful polite staff. We stayed overnight in comfortable rooms and would recommend to others. A nice breakfast in the morning!

Reviewed by
terry h

From Gravesend, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On balance - only OK
A weekend away - let's start with the positives. Plenty of car parking, comfy, generous sized bed, luxurious bed linen, coffee & tea making supplies and bathroom supplies replenished every day. However, it was difficult to find staff to check in/out even with a sign directing us to the restaurant. Also, luxurious bed linens were at odds with cheap polyester satin curtains coming away from the curtain rails, over windows covered in condensation which made the bedroom smell damp. Although the bathroom had a nice ceramic tiled floor, and a basket of fluffy towels, it would have benefited from a heated towel rail, as there was nowhere to hand damp towels to dry, and a less basic shower cubicle. Generally, the food at breakfast and dinner was well cooked, local produce, although starters were mostly accompanied by bread (not great if you need wheat or gluten free diet) and the odd dish was not so good (very unripe avocado, overcooked scrambled eggs). All in all, The White Horse is overpriced for the quality it provides, especially compared to hotels like Hilton and De Vere which cost less for better quality.

Reviewed by
Nick P

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

just what we needed!
reasonable price with all necessary amenities! on site parking which relieved alot of stress and isn't far located from surrounding visitor attractions.
food was beyond yummy! good quality with pride and care taken! highly recommend their sunday lunch!!
two thumbs up!

Reviewed by
amy h

From Neath, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tyronne and Betty on tour
Great place to stay whilst visiting friends in Canterbury for the weekend; made to feel really welcome and hoteliers accommodated our arrangements of arriving late on our first night. Thank you!
The food excellent with a varied menu; goat curry as good as it gets! Drinks a little expensive.
Would definitely recommend and stay again.

Reviewed by
L Haynes

From Ross on Wye, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Half term break
We stayed four nights and had two adjoining rooms as a family suite. We arrived just as the kitchen was about to close but were made to feel really welcome and serving us was no problem. We loved the atmosphere of the place. Having read other reviews I think it is harsh to judge an inn against luxury hotel standards. No, this wasnt five star accommodation but then the beds were clean and comfortable, the showers worked, the rooms were warm and the pub was next door. The staff worked hard and were friendly. The selection of food was great so over the four nights we had plenty to choose from. It was all freshly cooked and tasty. The idea of a "light breakfast" suited us as a full english is ordinarily too much for us particularly for the kids. We took our bikes and explored the area and will do so again in the future.

Reviewed by
patrick m

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One of the best small places I have stayed
From arriving till leaving the staff were very helpful. For the room rate it was clean and tidy and had an en suite.
I was meeting a friend there, it was easy to find and very quiet which was a bonus because when staying in pubs in the past I have found them to be rather loud, this was not the case here.
If I were to have any negatives it would be that the wifi was non existent in the rooms, I was lucky to get on the internet at all, it was so slow. I did not use the computer in the bar area so I can't say how good it was there. I wasn't there to watch TV but when it was switched on it lost the signal.These are two minor issues. One thing missing was a clock radio
The food at The White Horse was excellent. We ate there both nights, we tried the Specials on the board and could not fault it
If I were in the area again I would come back here, great place

Reviewed by
C de Voor

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not bad!
Nice food in restaurant and reasonable room but could do with updating. Missed out on a cooked breakfast as its not served til 8.30 on a weekend and we needed to be out and about by then.

Reviewed by
Louise W

From Wotton Under Edge, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night business stay
I have stayed here 5/6 times a few years ago & always been very happy with the quality of this small country pub with rooms. This time however was a bit of a disappointmnet. The room was dirty, carpets dirty around edges where vac does not reach. Cobwebs in corners of ceiling, spiders in bath, half full toiletries, obviously been used by a previous guest & not replaced/topped up. Bed was broken, boards dropped out of bottom, I found this at 02.00 due to being very uncomfortable in bed. Evening meal fine, not bad quality & tasty. Breakfast however was a diferrent matter, asked for eggs & bacon, paid for a full english £7.95 & got 2 eggs & one rasher of bacon. I even provided my own bread (Guten Free). In my opinion this place has gone down in quality & needs a good clean in the bedrooms & some attention to detail.

ManagementResponse

Thanks for your feedback. There have been some issues with the housekeeping lately but those are being addressed. And the bed is not broken, just some of the slats had worked their way loose, but that doesn't help you at 2 in the morning. You had pre-ordered and paid for a full English breakfast but you only ordered a light breakfast, which is why you were served eggs and bacon. We offer guests unlimitless tea, coffee, cereals, fruit, cooked full English or a lighter version, or continental breakfast should you prefer. You could have had anything you wanted. But I am sorry you had these experiences, it is not usual for us, and the majority of our guests love staying with us.

Reviewed by
Jerry H

From High Wycombe, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next