No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The White Horse Inn

4Visit England Assessed Inn Ratings explained
246, The Street Boughton-under-Blean, Faversham, ME13 9AL
The White Horse Inn is a historic pub restaurant with more than its fair share to offer guests. Not only is this ancient pilgrims inn mentioned in Chaucer’s Canterbury Tales, but its location in a glorious village within minutes of the M2 but surrounded by hop gardens and orchards recommend this excellent stop before one even ventures inside.

As you may well hope, The White Horse is beautifully traditional within, with roaring log fires, beamed ceilings and a cosy, intimate feel. Meanwhile, outside beautiful landscaping has turned a pleasant pub garden in to an Englishman’s dream.

Our chef, Joe Oxberry, is the man creating quite a stir in the kitchen. Oxberry's locally sourced British food has elevated The White Horse to gastropub levels with his combination of creativity and talent, providing guests with the opportunity to enjoy high level food in the most comfortable of atmospheres. The excellent Sunday lunches are extremely popular as are the themed evenings such as jazz suppers featuring award-winning vocalists Christine Tobin and Georgia Mancio.

For business travellers being located in a village on the outskirts of Faversham, but within minutes of the M2/A2 junction, makes it an easy half hour journey to Ashford, Maidstone, Dover, Folkestone and Thanet, with Canterbury and Whitstable just 10 minutes away.
For visitors there are numerous local attractions such as Canterbury Cathedral, the local Shepherd Neame brewery, Dover and Leeds Castle, golf courses, beaches and Wildwood and Howletts Animal Sanctuary. And if walking or cycling, The White Horse is an ideal place to stay to explore the wonderful Kent countryside; with Mount Ephraim Gardens and the site of The Peasant’s Last Revolt nearby there are many stunning routes on our doorstep.

Our 13 bedrooms are beautiful with everything you would expect from a modern hotel, including free wi-fi, extensive parking, disabled access, a la carte restaurant and bar. We have plenty of free parking and we welcome dogs in some of our rooms.
The combination of the pub’s history and first-class service guarantees return visits.

Picture of The White Horse Inn, Faversham at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
81% recommended this accommodation to a friend 84% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Full of History
Lovely old tradional hotel , our room was clean if a little tired in places . The bar and restaurant area is very cosy and welcoming , the food was excellent and the staff are friendly and very helpful

Reviewed by
Liz H

From Watford, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my stay

Reviewed by
reg b

From England
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely perfect
We loved our stay at the White Horae Inn. Warm and friendly staff, excellent food and thoroughly relaxing.

Reviewed by
Anne-Marie haxell

From belvedere, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Repeat visit - what more do i need to say!
As i'd been here before a year or so ago, I knew what I was letting myself in for, and it was still the same - the characterful rooms with shabby chic furniture and very low doorways, large bath and lovely meals. If you need somewhere close to Dover port or Canterbury, you could do an awful lot worse than here and not many places better!

Reviewed by
Peter Ritchie

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely stay
We stayed at the White Horse as we were attending a wedding near by. Tara contacted me via email around 2 weeks prior to our stay to advise that there was a four poster room available and gave it to us at no extra charge which was lovely. She also offered us early check in for a nominal fee so that we could check in and get ready in our room before the wedding which we were more than happy to pay. The staff were really friendly, and although there were odd bits of redecoration needed due to general wear & tear, we were overall really impressed with our quirky, characterful room (and I am really fussy, so this really is a massive compliment!!). We also opted to have breakfast the following day, which was very reasonably priced and delicious. Overall I was delighted with this lovely pub, and would defiantly stay again.

Reviewed by
Debby Burchill

From Maidstone, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay.

Reviewed by
Chiquita Rajawasam

From Chippenham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Where to stay
Booked in for 3 nights, left after 1 night.
Room smelt of sewage. Husband applied aftershave at 1 am in the morning in an attempt to mask the smell.
Premier room had no bath and dirty marks on both sides of bathroom door, some brown in colour., and on the wall beside the toilet.
4 Star rating!! I would not even give it a 1 Star rating.
Breakfast - Quality and presentation poor.

Reviewed by
M CHAMPION

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Grant h
very nice and friendly atmosphere with fantastic food to finish it off

Reviewed by
GRANT H

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Easter Break
Lovely hotel, great food, great location. would stay again

Reviewed by
Maureen Kelly

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal Kent Stop Over Before Crossing the Channel
Food excellent and comfortable accomodation. Two real ales in the bar from Sheperd Neame. Slight problem with condensation in room 1.

Reviewed by
Nick D

From Scunthorpe, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next