No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Priory Hotel

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
THE SQUARE , CARTMEL, LA11 6QB
Ideally situated in the heart of Cartmel village within walking distance of everything that Cartmel has to offer, the newly refurbished hotel has stuck to the traditional features and introduced modern facilities that make the hotel stand out amongst others in the area.

The hotel consists of six large beautifully decorated rooms all of which have stunning en suite bathrooms.

You will be greeted with a smile in this family run hotel and we will endeavour to meet and exceed your every need while you stay with us.
Picture of Priory Hotel, CARTMEL at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
96% recommended this accommodation to a friend 96% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value and location
Very good all round. Beautiful hotel, very good staff and excellent breakfast.

Reviewed by
Andrew O

From UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

B&B in Cartmel
A typically friendly Lancashire welcome. Hotel was refurbished some 18 months ago and remains fresh. A comfortable bed. Recommended!

Reviewed by
C Pearson

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic little hotel, great staff, clean well decorated room. and the breakfast was great too!

Reviewed by
Alec H

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic stay

Reviewed by
A Harrison

From Prescot, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A night at The Priory.
We began with an excellent light lunch and a lovely bottle of wine and were then collected from directly outside the hotel for a carriage ride. I had asked if our room could be ready early to facilitate this and there was no problem. We continued to enjoy both the food,wine,company and service at the hotel for the remainder of the day and were only sorry that the restaurant was not serving Monday evening. The room was spacious and the bed extremely comfortable. An excellent breakfast was only marred by a hangover! The owners and staff made us feel welcome and relaxed and we are looking forward to our next visit.

Reviewed by
P Thompson

From Earby, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Recomend this hotel
Lovely stary at the hotel, room, food excellent. Friendly attentive staff.

Reviewed by
m palmer

From burnley, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our room was in the roof so, although appearing large, usable space was limited. It was however really clean, the bed was comfortable and having lived in a house with a similar room we found it very acceptable. I can thoroughly recommend the Priory for a stay in Cartmel

Reviewed by
Douglas M

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly and comfortable hotel in a beautiful location. Room lovely and staff welcoming and helpful.

Reviewed by
M Summers

From Niederkruchten, Germany
Who stayed in August 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nicely furnished and clean. Potential to be a really nice hotel but service levels had a ceiling and we felt they could have tried a bit harder considering the price of the rooms.
The weather was nice which meant our room was really warm. No air con and an enquiry about a fan fell on deaf ears. Manager commented that she couldn't be responsible for the weather. Had to leave bathroom windows open and then room was filled with smell of smoke from next doors staff smoking area. Rear room so only window was the bathroom window and there was a glass door from the bedroom into bathroom and no blackout curtains so room was too light for our liking.
Our friends stayed in another rear room. Their room was really warm too and the opposite of ours, very dark. Their major gripe was that the manager/owner entertained her friends in the bar on Friday night, below their room, and the noise kept them awake until the early hours.
Breakfast was good B&B standard, but again weren't offered extra tea and coffee and staff could have been more attentive. Had evening meal one night. Food was nice. Potted shrimp was not potted and toast was not buttered. Clotted cream icecream noted on the menu but it was just plain vanilla. Minor issues perhaps but detracted from overall experience. Expected a better class of hotel with attention to detail and we were disappointed. Probably try somewhere else next time although extremely handy if you were attending Cartmel Races.

Reviewed by
K Begley

From England
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We stayed here during the heatwave so it was the perfect setting.The hotel was very clean and the rooms were nice,due to the hot weather the room was very warm at night but we were offered the use of a fan.The young staff were very polite and courteous.All in all a very nice break.

Reviewed by
ian g

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next