No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Oak Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Cross , Welshpool, SY21 7DG
Centrally located in a small market town this Grade II listed hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi , Restaurant, real ales and secure free parking. Just 17 miles from Shrewsbury on the Welsh border, this magnificent building offers a warm friendly welcome and is the perfect gateway into Wales. The Royal Oak Hotel has been welcoming travellers for centuries, including recently Her Majesty the Queen of England. Whether relaxing in winter by an open fire in the snug, enjoying good quality food in the restaurant or just exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside, it is the ideal refuge for all travellers.

With a choice of standard, contemporary or classic, all bedrooms boast complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TVs, room service and tea & coffee making facilities. Guests can look forward to a range of different features, including elegantly carved French beds, delicate fabrics or perhaps more modern boutique style furnishings.

The Royal Oak Hotel offers traditional cuisine with a range of mouth-watering delights to discover. Wherever possible the Hotel is committed to using fresh, locally sourced produce and ingredients, including Free Range Eggs, old breed free range sausages and Welsh Lamb - all from the hotel’s own farm. With a tempting Wine list, an impressive range of real ales and even an on-site Costa coffee bar, guests are sure to find the perfect drink to compliment their dining.

Recognised as the ‘Gateway to Wales’, Welshpool offers an endless array of things to do and places to see. Nestled within the upper reaches of the picturesque Severn Valley near the border between England and Wales, the town is surrounded by the rolling hills of Montgomeryshire and the glorious unspoilt Welsh countryside. There is also an eclectic selection of inns, restaurants, cafes and pubs to choose from, offering everything from classic Welsh dishes to contemporary dining. The town is also the first stage of the journey on the Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway.

The Hotel is within walking distance of the world-famous Powis Castle and Gardens. Once a medieval fortress home to generations of Welsh Princes, it features an awe-inspiring collection of paintings, sculpture and furniture. Chirks Castle is also just a 30 minute drive away, while the Welsh Coast and Snowdonia are within an hour’s drive. For those who enjoy the great outdoors Offa’s Dyke National Trail is one of the most beautiful walks in the UK, Featuring 177 miles of high wild moorland and the nearby Montgomery Canal offers a scenic cruise-way through the picturesque Welsh marshes.
Picture of Royal Oak Hotel, Welshpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 38 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
83% recommended this accommodation to a friend 81% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent hotel and location
We stayed at this hotel with our grandson as he was in a judo competition. The hotel was excellently situated for the venue (5 minutes drive), and the hotel was perfect for our needs. The food was excellent, the lounge had very comfortable leather seating, the rooms were spotless and overall we could not find any fault.

Reviewed by
Lorraine Lee

From Staleybridge, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Family break
The hotel was clean and comfortable. The food was lovely and the staff were very accommodating and cheerful.

Reviewed by
Brenda N

From Hinckley, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great staff
The staff at this hotel are exceptional, very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. The hotel is an old building so narrow staircases etc but well worth a visit, the food was great as well

Reviewed by
Chris Adamson

From Bristol, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Restaurant
The only complaint I have is about our dinner in the restaurant. I ordered the shank of lamb at about 7.30p.m. When it came, I had forgotten I had ordered the shank and I was actually served lamb cutlets with chips and a pile of rocket! Halfway through eating this, I remembered I had ordered the shank with potatoes and honey glazed carrots! However, the food was good so I ate it but when the waiter came to remove the plates I mentioned the above. He said that the shank came off the menu at a certain time of the evening and only lamb cutlets were available. I said I thought he should have told me before assuming this was acceptable. I think £15 for 4 cutlets and a pile of chips and rocket is rather expensive.
I wouldn't stay here again because I wouldn't stay in Welshpool

Reviewed by
B Shewan

From Tamworth, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely hotel full of character . Was quiet. Nice view of hills from the room.

Reviewed by
Pauline h

From UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight Stay 23.8.14
Very nice accommodation. Breakfast was good and staff were very friendly. Bar area was good and enjoyed a couple of drinks at reasonable prices. All in all very nice place to stay.

Reviewed by
Mark D

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room lack lustre.in need of decorating. Very hot as no air conditioning.no pictures. Clean but no style. Welcome packs(tea/coffee/ biscuits provided but basic

Reviewed by
Frances L

From Kidwelly, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Definitely visit again!
I would definitely return to the Oak, my partner and I were impressed with the room, it was clean, well presented, probably the best nights sleep I've ever had In a hotel and quiet. The staff were pleasant and the breakfast selection and layout was great.

Reviewed by
Victoria G

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed & Bathroom issues
New bathroom, but neither bath nor sink would empty properly. Marble shelf cut short & not secured.
Bath access dangerous unless athletic. Bath surface slippery when using shower. Hot water took an age to come through. Room very hot due to poor ventilation. Hotel kitchen industrial fridge/freezer fans cut in & out throughout the night directly below our window.
No lift. Stairs and landings to 2nd floor an an assault course.
Welshpool is a mucky sad looking town best seen in the rain as it adds some sparkle to a depressed looking Welsh town which pre-Tesco looked prosperous with many privately run shops.

Reviewed by
C Ashworth

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A good base to see the area
Excellent breakfast with all the necessary options for dietry needs. The same cannot be said of the restaurant menu which is good if you can eat rich or fancy food. However there is a Marstons pub opposite Tesco, just a few minutes walk, where the menu is very flexible so no inconvenience suffered. The rooms are a good size and the beds comfy, everything you need for a good stay.

Reviewed by
Ronald B

From Hornsea, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next