Reviews - Royal Oak Hotel


The Cross, Welshpool, SY21 7DG

Price From 135.78 AUD

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (37)

89% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Linda D

  • November 2015

Very enjoyable stay

Courteous and friendly staff, smart and spotless room, hotel very attractively decorated.

Thought the scrambled egg too dry, and didn't hugely appreciate being repeatedly addressed as 'darliing' by the waitress: however friendly and well-intentioned, it felt inappropriate and I wish she hadn't done it.

A very pleasant stay, though, and we'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stuart P

  • October 2015

Good Food Tired Room

Our evening meal was superb.

The quality and presentation was perfect and the service was second to none. The room was clean but tired and in need of redecoration and the bathroom could have been better. Breakfast service was ok but no choice given re the cooked breakfast. Didn't want tomatoes but got them and got scrambled eggs but wanted poached. Never got chance to give my choice.

  • adey S

  • April 2015

Royal Oak Hotel

Staff were courteous and helpful , room was spacious.

The food was excellent both evening and breakfast. The bar got very busy in the evening being a Bank Holiday weekend but still plenty of places to sit.

  • Megan G

  • March 2015

Pyjama Drama Training in Welshpool

We arrived at about 9pm at The Royal Oak Hotel, very tired from a long drive.

Check in was lovely and quick and we were directed straight to our room, with a smile. The hotel was very clean and had a very comfortable atmosphere, and the food was GORGEOUS. I sincerely enjoyed my stay at The Royal Oak Hotel.

  • barry W

  • February 2015

Royal Oak Hotel

Clean and hospitable, comfortable and friendly.

  • M Young

  • February 2015

Central location, friendly staff

This is an old hotel so has the benefits and downsides of that.

The staff are friendly and helpful. Rooms are OK. There were a few niggles which didn't bother us but should have been dealt with. We did let them know when we left so hopefully will be done. Location wise it is right in the centre of Welshpool. They kindly emailed a map of how to find their car park which was very helpful. I would stay here again.

  • Ian M

  • February 2015

Nice Place, Shame About The Other Guests....

Lovely hotel, in the middle of Welshpool.

We stayed there for an event which was held at the Hotel. Nice room, clean & well furnished. Bathroom needed a couple of things fixing though - some loose tiles and a badly dripping Cold tap. The problem was a group of Rugby players staying, who presumably enjoyed the excellent bar to much - and made a lot of noise, late at night, into the early hours. They tried to break into our room..... My partner had a badly disturbed night. We complained and the hotel were sympathetic, offering a significant reduction in cost. However, the Breakfast was superb.... And yes we would stay again.

  • Jonathan G

  • January 2015

Friendly staff and good food

The Royal Oak is a traditional coaching inn type of establishment with just a hint of a modern twist.

Excellent beers and a good food menu. The staff were friendly and helpful. Our only grumble was the bed in our family room was not quite long enough for a tall 6 foot 3 inch guest. We would avoid rooms with a bottom board next time. Overall, bags more style than a chain for much the same price if discounted.

  • Joan Embree

  • December 2014

Warm and welcoming

Arriving at mid-day in early December, we were very happy to find cheerful fires in the fireplaces of the lobby and bar of the "Royal Oak." Staff members were friendly and helpful, allowing us to stow our luggage until check-in time and responding quickly to room requests (improving the functioning of the radiators, allowing me to have a pitcher of water for the room, etc.) The "Oak" is a re-purposed manor house.

It's been allowed to keep its old character in the check-in/stairwell area, but the bar, cafe, and restaurant have been updated to comfortable, modern spaces. The bathrooms are modernized, as well. We enjoyed our two night stay and our rambles around Welshpool. We were there for Powys Castle and Gardens, and they didn't disappoint, even in winter conditions. Welshpool itself has several good cafes, bakeries, and coffee/tea spots. There's a good Tourist Information office for maps and brochures.

  • Thomas C

  • December 2014

A Lovely Weekend

Having booked the Royal Oak last minute for my girlfriend and I, i found the weekend exceeded all expectations.

Before arriving i arranged for a bottle of Cava to be brought up after check-in to surprise my girlfriend. No less than a few minutes after arriving in the room, said bottle was brought up with a couple of glasses - much to her delight.

The classic room we stayed in was excellent and the furnishings and design very aesthetically pleasing.

The hotel is very quaint and ahead of the festive period, was tastefully decorated ready for Christmas. I would stay here again!