No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Royal Oak Hotel

3AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
The Cross , Welshpool, SY21 7DG
Centrally located in a small market town this Grade II listed hotel offers complimentary Wi-Fi , Restaurant, real ales and secure free parking. Just 17 miles from Shrewsbury on the Welsh border, this magnificent building offers a warm friendly welcome and is the perfect gateway into Wales. The Royal Oak Hotel has been welcoming travellers for centuries, including recently Her Majesty the Queen of England. Whether relaxing in winter by an open fire in the snug, enjoying good quality food in the restaurant or just exploring the beautiful surrounding countryside, it is the ideal refuge for all travellers.

With a choice of standard, contemporary or classic, all bedrooms boast complimentary Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TVs, room service and tea & coffee making facilities. Guests can look forward to a range of different features, including elegantly carved French beds, delicate fabrics or perhaps more modern boutique style furnishings.

The Royal Oak Hotel offers traditional cuisine with a range of mouth-watering delights to discover. Wherever possible the Hotel is committed to using fresh, locally sourced produce and ingredients, including Free Range Eggs, old breed free range sausages and Welsh Lamb - all from the hotel’s own farm. With a tempting Wine list, an impressive range of real ales and even an on-site Costa coffee bar, guests are sure to find the perfect drink to compliment their dining.

Recognised as the ‘Gateway to Wales’, Welshpool offers an endless array of things to do and places to see. Nestled within the upper reaches of the picturesque Severn Valley near the border between England and Wales, the town is surrounded by the rolling hills of Montgomeryshire and the glorious unspoilt Welsh countryside. There is also an eclectic selection of inns, restaurants, cafes and pubs to choose from, offering everything from classic Welsh dishes to contemporary dining. The town is also the first stage of the journey on the Welshpool & Llanfair Light Railway.

The Hotel is within walking distance of the world-famous Powis Castle and Gardens. Once a medieval fortress home to generations of Welsh Princes, it features an awe-inspiring collection of paintings, sculpture and furniture. Chirks Castle is also just a 30 minute drive away, while the Welsh Coast and Snowdonia are within an hour’s drive. For those who enjoy the great outdoors Offa’s Dyke National Trail is one of the most beautiful walks in the UK, Featuring 177 miles of high wild moorland and the nearby Montgomery Canal offers a scenic cruise-way through the picturesque Welsh marshes.
Picture of Royal Oak Hotel, Welshpool at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
82% recommended this accommodation to a friend 80% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

IT was fine. Car park difficult/small
As above.

Reviewed by
Paul Doodson

From ATTLEBOROUGH, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great stopover in Welshpool
We only booked with few hours notice. Very pleased with the hotel. Efficient, friendly. Great location. Breakfast was good as well.

Reviewed by
Jenny k

From UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

On the way up
A slightly tired hotel that is trying very hard to wake up, The staff all seemed very committed and very helpful. Dinner menu was varied but an extra vegetarian dish may have been helpful. Breakfast was adequate. Room was comfortable and décor interesting.

Reviewed by
B Sharma

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

what a gem
We booked this as a half way stop after taking our son back to uni in Aberystwyth, we arrived at 8:15 pm , the check in was fast and very polite (Nathan).who offered to take our bags to our room ,doesn't happen that often does it.He also offered to see if a table was available in the restaurant, top notch food and friendly staff, affordable and good quality/ quantity. Try the beetroot cheesecake you will be surprised. The room 215 3rd floor very clean view up the high street ,it was a suite very roomy ,only fault the radiators where full on v hot. And a BT work crew started to dig up the high street at 7:30am .looking forward to go back.

Reviewed by
B Kittle

From Holywell, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

no positive comments

Reviewed by
gwen r

From Porth Tywyn, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Getway
I booked the hotel only hours before we arrived and even on the phone they were welcoming and polite. On arrival the receptionist was very funny and soon we were settled into our room. Our room was lovely and I can happily say it was one of the best I have ever been to. Value for money was incredible.
I would most certainly go back.

Reviewed by
T Keatley

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very hot attic room (although fan was provided). In fact we had 2 linked rooms with TV in separate seating area). In need of decorating/updating and re-carpeting and the shower was inadequate. Have stayed before in a room on the first floor, which was far superior to the one allocated to us on this visit and had no reason to be unhappy then but this visit was very disappointing for the £85 paid for one night.

Reviewed by
Tracy T

From UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tired Hotel.
Not much choice of Hotels in Welshpool. This is an old and tired Hotel, in need of a refurbishment.

Reviewed by
stephen y

From Alnwick, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The only hotel in the village
Nutshell: The Royal Oak is a great hotel and will certainly cater for your needs.
The longer story:
I stayed Sunday-Wednesday on business. I'm a realistic, friendly person. If you are a suited, booted business type, your perception of the hotel may differ from mine.
The contemporary room (108), while wonky (it's an old building) was perfect for my needs. The single glazing did a poor job of keeping out vehicle noise at night (someone has a very revvy car and it seemingly takes a while to get it going) but otherwise I was very comfy and happy. The bathroom could do with a look over - there was some mould on the tile grouting at the tap end - but was very clean in every other aspect.
Staff were friendly and chatty and helped me find my way around town. Breakfast was generally good and my evening meals enjoyed in their restaurant were generally good value and very tasty. The fishcake was particularly good!
I had no problems with parking or hotel noise, but there were no events on over my stay so I guess I had an easy ride.
A three night stay cost £200 compared to an out of town B&B which would have been £120. It's 10 minutes walk from the station so it is very convenient.
The Royal Oak clearly has a monopoly on Welshpool - I couldn't find any other central hotel and it seems to be the only place in town offering any kind of entertainment to the locals. However, while the management could sit back and not bother, they do make the effort to keep guests happy. The hotel itself is lovely. The corridors are a bit Fawlty Towers but the main areas are well furnished with a great choice of Readers Digest style books. There is a great book by Robert Rankin in there too. No idea how that got there...
All in all, I would definitely stay again if I could get a good rate on the room. It certainly beats a trek in from deepest darkest Powys.

Reviewed by
Amy H

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in February 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent everything!
This place is a gem. A lovely hotel with fantastic room and excellent food. The staff made me feel very welcome. I booked in a single and because the hotel wasn't fully booked they gave me a free upgrade. I can't believe how much I got for the price I paid! The food in the restaurant was phenomenal. The issue with the parking is not nearly as bad as everyone makes it out to be. Strange detour to the car park. Yes. But a minor inconvenience for the quality and value of this hotel.

Reviewed by
Mark B

From Canada
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 Next