No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX
With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 338 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We were transferred to the Grand Instead
It would have been nice but we never actually stayed here as they transferred us to the Grand instead. I wanted to avoid the grand because of the norovirus outbreaks but had no choice. In the event it was quite nice and very good value for money but I did succumb to the vomiting bug after my stay which proves the point about the grand somewhat.

Reviewed by
andrew b

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in January 2015

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Another visit to the Clifton
We have stayed before twice and enjoyed our stay this time we were on the third floor the room was ok size wise the bed linen and towels were clean the room had been hoovered but the shower had mold in it which only needed to be wiped with a cloth with bathroom cleaner on it, there was dust on top of the door architrave, the door itself was dirty, things just need to be wiped with a cleaning solvent not hard to do next time i will only stay if i can select the room.

Reviewed by
john hirst

From Mirfield, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton Hotel, Scarborough
Ask for a sea veiw room but got stuck in the back of hotel. With no veiw.

Reviewed by
s nolan

From harrogate, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great stay
Great stay, room we stayed in was newly refurbished, very smart but maybe a little small. Staff great. Breakfast delicious. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
Calvert B

From Skipton, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Twixtmas at The Clifton
This was our third Christmas visit to The Clifton and once again a very good choice. Ground floor sea view room which was very compact and would have benefitted from a set of drawers or extra shelves in the wardrobe. The bed was very comfortable and a good size. Freezing temperatures outside did not spoil our stay as we knew we had a warm, comfortable room to return to each day. Breakfast included and a very good selection of food and cereals, all self service. We had one evening meal in the hotel and the three courses on offer were very good and lots of choice. The hotel has a skeleton staff and is run very smoothly at this time. Very friendly and welcoming. Very clean hotel and would recommend. Paid for onsite parking as you have a space allocated and knowing when you arrive you just have to look for your name on the board is good, we like this. Will hopefully return next Christmas.

Reviewed by
L Horn

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton Hotel, Scarborough
We booked here to stay as we had come up to see family, We booked a double room which was £35 incl Full English. The staff was very friendly and helpful, The room was clean and modern, The only downside was the breakfast, Could of been a little fresher instead of frozen sausages but was ok, Cant grumble at £35.

Reviewed by
Amber Russell

From Beverley, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton Hotel, Scarborough
Lovely one night stay, great value

Reviewed by
David K

From UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good weekend
We stayed at the Clifton for two nights over a weekend and enjoyed our stay, we have no real complaints to speak of. The staff were very friendly and helpful right from our arrival to our departure. The hotel seams to have under gone some refurbishment and as it is an old building we did not expect plush new rooms. As it is an old building it comes with what I am told is shabby sheik look and we liked it. The food was very good, no complaints there either, hot fresh food. Don't be put off by some reviews, yes it is not the Ritz, but it is a very pleasant old style hotel and very good value for money. When we visit Scarborough again we will definitely stay in the Clifton again.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Carnforth, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

break in scarborough
overall this is a great hotel in a fantastic location overlooking the north bay and views to the castle. easy parking. room could have ben a bit cleaner? mainly bathroom. food is plentiful and a good choice. we always stop here as its very good value for your money.

Reviewed by
ron reeves

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

ANOTHER ENJOYABLE STAY

Reviewed by
DAVID RYLAH

From Goole, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next