No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 376 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night surprise stay
The staff were all very polite and helpful. The room was quite basic and the bathroom could do with updating, grout missing from floor tiles, rusty towel rail and pubic hairs in the bath! However, for a one night stay and for the price, it was very good value and we would book again. We even had a sea view, and the breakfast was great too.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton hotel - Scarborough
Booked with LateRooms.com for one night at this hotel on 17 July 2014. Have previously stayed at this hotel on a few occasions without any major problems. Paid for our double room and shown our small room which apparently had been converted at the edge of the building. This had small frosted windows at the top of the wall with no vision through and couldn't be opened. It looked like a toilet conversion. We refused this room and asked for an an alternative but none available. We then asked for a refund but the offhand receptionist told us it had to be done through you as they couldn't do it even though we had just paid them. (According to your email the contract was between the customer and the hotel?) After deliberation we were reluctantly given, (where from?), a twin bedded room in the annexe (accessed unpleasantly through the dining room) which was only a marginal improvement but had a small patio door which couldn't be safely left open as it led to the public car park just outside the window and cars parked a few feet away from the window. Being excessively warm that night and without any air conditioning, it was stifling all through the night. Very little space in the room to move around, one tiny wardrobe (no space for much else) and not one drawer to put anything in.
Breakfast in the morning was substandard. Food was either burnt or undercooked and the tea was in flasks and was stewed. Spoke to another lady on the way out of the dining room in the same annexe as us and she was complaining about her room too and the attitude of the staff at the reception desk when she too had complained.
First time we've ever booked with LateRooms.com and not a good experience.
Clifton Hotel website shows double rooms looking nothing like what we were given. Does LaterRooms.com just get the dross that's left?

Reviewed by
R Lumsdon

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value foe money
Excellent value, clean and comfortable room. Limited car parking spaces the only drawback.

Reviewed by
Denise M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although our room was abit noisey we did enjoy our stay staff where helpful and friendly good breakfast the windows could do with a good clean so that we could really enjoy the great views

Reviewed by
sandra cruickshank

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a gem of a hotel
we stopped for 1 night, we were greeted by a lovely lady on reception, our room we couldn`t fault, patio doors to a little seating area where we could see the sea and views of the castle very pleased.

Reviewed by
ron reeves

From South Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff are really friendly and helpful. The breakfast is amazing and the locality means it's great to travel further afield to take in the great Yorkshire countryside.

Reviewed by
K Kirk

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton Hotel - Two night break.
Our recent stay at the Clifton Hotel was very disappointing to say the least. We arrived after a 5 hour journey and were greeted by the receptionist "what name is it?" Our allocated room was at the top of the building, it was tiny, dark,dingy and in a very poor decorative state. On the second day we informed reception that our room had not been cleaned properly. After a debate between the two women at reception about whether or not it had been cleaned, the response we received was
" I will have a word with her" , I assume she was referring to the chamber maid. We received no apology for it not been cleaned properly. We walked past the reception desk on numerous occasions and not once did the receptionist on duty acknowledge us. On the second evening which was a Saturday we went to the restaurant at 7.40 only to find that it was closed. Apparently the restaurant is only open from 6pm until 7.30pm. On a positive note, the breakfast was piping hot and the ground floor of the hotel was beautiful. The cocktail bar staff on both nights were polite and helpful. The location of the hotel was also superb and had wonderful views.

Reviewed by
P Simonsen

From Cheltenham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good basic accommodation, ideally situated.
A well situated Hotel with a good view over the bay. We stayed on B & B basis and found the breakfast to be well cooked with plenty of choice. It would have been nice to have had fresh tea served at the tables as it was in jugs which gave it a stewed taste. Rooms were basic with a tv and tea making facilities and nice comfy bed. Bit of a noisy room with traffic passing right by the window but staff were lovely and lots of comfy seats in the bar with not bad prices.An overall good experience and very central for visiting York, Whitby etc. Parking was a bit of an issue!

Reviewed by
ROSE R

From Bexhill on Sea, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Terrible room
On arrival at the hotel all staff were lovely the hotel looked nice and clean great dining area,checked in when we got to our room we was shocked we booked a double this room had never been a double it was tiny very dated obviously it was once a single room as there was still a single bed head board up and they had put what looked like a 3/4 bed in,the room itself was tiny the carpet was very shabby the shower had old shampoo bottles left in,all in all terrible room.on the plus side breakfast was great and nice staff.

Reviewed by
Emma C

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

night away
The hotel is still an ongoing project of refurbishment but a marked improvement from our first stay. Just dont expect the Ritz. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful.

Reviewed by
T Foster

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next