No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since April 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 350 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The room was very small,more like a single room .The deco needs updating and the shower could do with new sealant due to having black mould on it and a good clean

Reviewed by
neil b

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend break
Excellent service, friendly staff. And a room with a sea view to enjoy while relaxing

Reviewed by
carolynn k

From Oakham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really last minute booking
Hotel was nice and comfortable, good value for money. Nicely situated, lovely views of sea and Scarborough castle ruins.

Reviewed by
Shirley W

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely hotel rooms really nice food great enjoyable stay
Rooms lovely, but windows really dirty dificult to see through they that bad.
sevice not that good asked three times for an extra pillow and never received or an explanation as to why, had to pay £6 per night car parkwhich I thought should be included.
but overall an enjoyable stay.

Reviewed by
annette henry

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Walking and cycling break in Scarborough.
We booked the Clifton for a convenient base to explore some of North Yorkshire and found it to be an excellent choice. There is easy rail access to the ancient City of York with its famous Railway Museum and impressive York Minster, both well worth visiting. We also chose to take the coastal cycle path for a day trip to Robin Hood's Bay when the weather was kind to us. There were plenty of opportunities to visit other attractions in North Yorkshire including the fascinating port of Whitby.
As for the Clifton Hotel it was just as we would have expected: an old hotel that was once quite grand in the heyday of the traditional Great British seaside holiday. Now, just like the rest of Scarborough, it feels a bit run down but still hints its original splendid character.
When we arrived we were rather perturbed by the suspicious nature of the staff towards us. I suspect it was the fact that the hotel had recently become part of a large group whose policy is to make sure customers are genuine before registering. However once we had paid we found all of the staff friendly and helpful. We had booked for just bed and breakfast: the food was was good and ample and the restaurant staff very attentive.
Overall we would recommend this hotel for its excellent position, friendly staff and good value for money. But do not expect the full splendor of the 1920s & 30s, only a ghost of that golden era.

Reviewed by
Martin N

From Hemel Hempstead, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Really nice hotel. Excellent location.
Lovely hotel, if a little tired. Very comfortable and spacious room even though I had a standard one without sea view.
Breakfast was plentiful but a bit dry as buffet set-ups often are.
Location excellent - across the road is the sea view and it wouldn't take long to walk down to the beach. 15 minute stroll in to the centre of town. Peashome Park is 2 minutes away and well worth a visit with fantastic Chinese pagodas. There is a cinema behind the hotel and a few local shops within 2 mins walk.
Only complaint - the WiFi signal was too weak to use in my room and I couldn't make the connection work while sat in the bar.

Reviewed by
Phil P

From Leamington Spa, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

business
We had a short stay while working in the area. This hotel was fit for purpose. Quiet and simple with a decent shower and breakfast. Safe parking and good location for food. The hotel meals were cheap and value with an on site bar. Not the place for a lively night life or anything more than it is. I would stay again for the price on LateRooms.com but not for leisure time unless I was over 80.

Reviewed by
I Mackie

From Preston, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

pleasant and fair priced
Lovely building in great location,friendly and helpful staff!Some areas and facilities a bit tired and distressed but room was clean and comfortable!Mornings breakfast was enjoyable,thankyou

Reviewed by
david r

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good - value for money
The overall stay was lovely, my kids (aged 7 and 5) loved it, the bed was really comfy and the food was really nice, also they had happy hour at the bar so the drinks were very cheap (£8 for a round - pint of beer, glass of wine, coke and a lemonade).
The only bad thing which isnt really putting the hotel itself down is that there was only two staff on to do the bar, reception and apparently maintenance, they did a really good job - but please clifton give your poor staff a break! !

Reviewed by
K Gifford

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well, on arrival overall thoughts were "wow"!! Lovely looking Hotel and lovely views. So we booked in and what I was aware, played the final balance of the stay. Went to our room to find it absolutely tiny! There was a bed, wardrobe and table....that's it and there wasn't even room for my wife and I to stand side by side, honestly that small but it was a break so didn't care, we basically just slept there. Everything was perfect really apart from the small room so on departure we handed the keys to reception only to be told there was an outstanding balance on the room! Well as we thought we'd played for our room we argued it only to be threatened with the police, so that in my wife's own words put a complete dampner on the whole break. We reluctantly paid the extra £29 pounds extra.... Including the £78 for the break on arrival to leave annoyed and sad the fact that they, in there words "made an error on booking in and didn't realise until 5 mins before we checked out" , how convenient. Won't be staying there again and the room number was 370 if anybody disbelieves it.

Reviewed by
j Crutchley

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next