No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 395 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend in Scarborough
The room was quite nice until you got into the bathroom, which you could hardly move in. The shower only had cold water in the morning, there was no hairdryer in the room and the breakfast was disgusting.

Reviewed by
T Hewitt

From Barton upon Humber, England
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good shower and breakfast

Reviewed by
A Martin-Sheppard

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean and functional
Our room was quite compact and had a lot of furniture in it but was clean and served its purpose as a comfy place to crash after an impromptu day at the seaside. Breakfast was self service but plentiful and well staffed.

Reviewed by
Becca K

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Clifton Hotel.Scarborough
An excellent good value stay

Reviewed by
Anthony Neal

From York, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

perfect for our relaxing weekend break
We used the hotel as a base for the area, ideal location good food and pleasant service
I will be going again

Reviewed by
A CLARKE

From Ripley, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful aspect from seaview rooms rooms are a bit tired

Reviewed by
michael g

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great location - rooms in need of some tlc
Location of the hotel could not be better - great views from the front of the building.
We were dealt with very well on arrival (Len was particularly helpful). Tthe lounge and bar area was comfortable and clean. Equally, the dining room was nice and breakfast was excellent.
The room, however, was a different matter - "tired" would be the polite way of describing it. The bathroom was particularly poor. The enamel on the bath was chipped and the white sealant was black in many places. Worst of all the shower was cold and sprayed all over the place. The wash basin held about two pints of water (not good for shaving or cleaning your teeth). Cleaning was superficial - when we moved the chair it was obvious that the "grotty" carpet had only been hoovered around the furniture and the windows badly needed cleaning.
If you stay here bring plenty of cash - there is a charge for using both credit (£2) and debit cards (50p).
The staff were generally excellent.

Reviewed by
R Stevenson

From Wellingborough, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent
Great clean place staff very helpful booked as a last minute thing and now this could be the place we go back to with the kids.......food was great slept good and as I said staff great help with anything I needed

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice location
Nice location with great views; bit chaotic with the parking situation but eventually resolved-not sure about the £6 charge though.

Reviewed by
steve mason

From Burntwood, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

bewildered ?
We booked for 2 days,on entry we were told there was a booking for only one person (myself) although I had a print-out of the booking which stated 'Two adults' that was sorted out after a few minutes. The room was lacking some where in the bathroom to put all the bits and pieces you normally have in a bathroom, My wife always has 2 hot baths a day, it helps relieve the pains she suffers from in her legs and hips, when she come to get a bath the first night, there was no hot water coming out of the bath taps or shower. I informed reception they said they would sort it out .we were told the next day it had been fixed, when we tried it again, it still wasn't working. I asked reception if it could be arranged to use a bathroom in another room they organised that, when we tried that was the same, i told reception again, I could see the girl behind the counter was horrified and ashamed, she was very nice, helpful and friendly. At this point we give up as we were going home the next day. We couldn't help but notice all the outside windows including ours were absolutely filthy and had not been cleaned for years by the look of them, the curtains wouldn't close properly they were partly hanging down where some one had pulled too hard and pulled it of the hooks. It is a nice hotel (apart from what I have just imparted) and in a stunning location, the staff were curtious and helpful.

Reviewed by
Harry I

From Skelmersdale, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next