No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 390 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Value for Money

Reviewed by
James P

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Started badly and turned out really good.
On arrival we were told there were no parking spaces as we should have reserved on booking. Not a good start. Our room was on the top floor and was small and not very up to date. Tiny shower cubicle and sloped floor toilet area. (shower was great by the way) The bed proved to be so uncomfortable that we decided not to spend another night in the room.
The staff were very helpful and eventually we did find room in the car park for our two motorbikes. They also found us another room, which we appreciated as the hotel was really busy, (ground floor) this time which was lovely and bathroom really nice. (shower again excellent) Had a lovely nights sleep. (the window does not open as is a policy on the ground floor)
Breakfast was excellent both days.
We would definitely stay there again but make sure we reserve a parking space and ask for a room on the ground/first or second floor.

Reviewed by
colin t

From Durham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clifton hotel
we stayed at the clifton hotel on 17 june for 2 nights. the moment we walked in the building we had excellent sevice from the front of house staff. the room couldnt be faulted it was clean. food was very good all staff very friendly. we stayed at the grand in scarborough in april and we didnt enjoy that at all but the clifton we would stay there again. well done to all the staff.

Reviewed by
c watson

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

fantastic
couldn't find anything wrong - staff, room, breakfast excellent

Reviewed by
J Cook

From Ripon, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Room tired but clean.full hotel could do with being updated.all areas we used were clean breakfast was good.

Reviewed by
Keith C

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value Hotel
Having stopped here before I had no qualms about booking again. This time I was travelling alone and the only complaint I had was that the window in the room was stuck shut due to paint. I'm sure they will have addressed it by now. All you can eat buffet breakfast is plentiful and although I overheard a couple of moaners, thought it was a decent set up for the day. To be fair the place is a bit tired looking decoration wise but definitely good value for money and a cracking cliff top location with the added bonus of world cup football on in the bar. (England lost). Been there before and would again.

Reviewed by
glynn sharkey

From Scunthorpe , UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

nice stay
nice hotel but bathroom could have been cleaner. Cheap and cheerful is how I would describe my stay.

Reviewed by
janet w

From Dunstable, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clifton hotel
good clean room food good, friendly staff, would have preferred a double bed, it was two singles, but lovely and clean .

Reviewed by
Wendy Anthony

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good value for money
Only stayed 1 night, the room was fine with plenty of space and very clean.
Breakfast was excellent, my only gripe about it being tea in flasks, as I would prefer my own tea pot.

Reviewed by
Maureen R

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clifton hotel scarborough review
We enjoyed our stay at the clifton, it was clean and tidy, food and service were very good. I would stay again for the price.

Reviewed by
Raymond B

From Halifax, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next