No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 395 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

royal hotel dont go there.
booked for the Clifton hotel due to overbooking we were transferred to the royal hotel. really wished we hadn't , the hotel was old & rundown our room was horrible, wallpaper hanging off, broken rusty windows,damp walls,carpets was loose due to uneven floors, sink was blocked, double bed was 2 single beds pushed together & no headboard, was noisy due to generator outside . we would not go to this hotel again our night away was spoilt!!!!!

Reviewed by
gail s

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Just a one night stay but would've gladly stayed longer.
Checked in on Friday 25th for 1 night and had no complaints at all. The Clifton is exactly as i imagined it would, dated and in need of a bit of a refurb but perfectly comfortable with spacious, clean bedrooms. Excellent location with perfect sea views, footpath over the road leading direct to the beach, with Peasholme Park just around the corner. Buffet breakfast ran well with a good selection, very pleasent little bar too. I left wishing i could stay another night - can't ask for more really.

Reviewed by
Chris H

From Holmfirth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Booked as a suprise of my daughter an son as a birthday gift an a thankyou for wedding
The receptionist was extremely helpful when my daughter rang on Friday 25th July to confirm the booking an also to pay for it, all the staff was lovely an even when my daughter rang me I could only say how lovely the room was an how the staff was really helpful throughout. I would recommend this hotel to others

Reviewed by
Joyce B

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Small bedroom with a sloping floor had to put pillows under mattress to get bed level

Reviewed by
Gary S

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

We had a nice time

Reviewed by
R Ledder

From Keighley, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very disappointing, the hotel is in need of major investment to allow for improvements and updating. Our room was very dated, shabby and dirty.

Reviewed by
suzanne s

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night surprise stay
The staff were all very polite and helpful. The room was quite basic and the bathroom could do with updating, grout missing from floor tiles, rusty towel rail and pubic hairs in the bath! However, for a one night stay and for the price, it was very good value and we would book again. We even had a sea view, and the breakfast was great too.

Reviewed by
Rachel W

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton hotel - Scarborough
Booked with LateRooms.com for one night at this hotel on 17 July 2014. Have previously stayed at this hotel on a few occasions without any major problems. Paid for our double room and shown our small room which apparently had been converted at the edge of the building. This had small frosted windows at the top of the wall with no vision through and couldn't be opened. It looked like a toilet conversion. We refused this room and asked for an an alternative but none available. We then asked for a refund but the offhand receptionist told us it had to be done through you as they couldn't do it even though we had just paid them. (According to your email the contract was between the customer and the hotel?) After deliberation we were reluctantly given, (where from?), a twin bedded room in the annexe (accessed unpleasantly through the dining room) which was only a marginal improvement but had a small patio door which couldn't be safely left open as it led to the public car park just outside the window and cars parked a few feet away from the window. Being excessively warm that night and without any air conditioning, it was stifling all through the night. Very little space in the room to move around, one tiny wardrobe (no space for much else) and not one drawer to put anything in.
Breakfast in the morning was substandard. Food was either burnt or undercooked and the tea was in flasks and was stewed. Spoke to another lady on the way out of the dining room in the same annexe as us and she was complaining about her room too and the attitude of the staff at the reception desk when she too had complained.
First time we've ever booked with LateRooms.com and not a good experience.
Clifton Hotel website shows double rooms looking nothing like what we were given. Does LaterRooms.com just get the dross that's left?

Reviewed by
R Lumsdon

From Morpeth, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent value foe money
Excellent value, clean and comfortable room. Limited car parking spaces the only drawback.

Reviewed by
Denise M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

although our room was abit noisey we did enjoy our stay staff where helpful and friendly good breakfast the windows could do with a good clean so that we could really enjoy the great views

Reviewed by
sandra cruickshank

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next