No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since August 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 376 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Families are the future
This hotel fails to see the importance of family guests. Children won't return in later years if all they can remember is lack of things to do and broken beds and mouldy walls. Children are the future customers and mine will not remember this for the right reasons. Very poor. We asked for one of our childrens beds to be replaced as it was not fit for purpose, we had been asked if we could manage for the night, we told them it was broken. It wasn't replaced on asking and my son had to sleep in our bed. The next day again, this being the third time of asking it got replaced, the replacement was equally as bad and again my son had yo sleep in our bed. The hotel is old and I understand its work in progress but beds in a hotel is simple straight forward practice. I personally would avoid this hotel and check in to the more welcoming family run b&b's located around the town.

Reviewed by
Jason S

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great service.. Our first room only had a shower in but really wanted a bath... Went and asked if we could swap rooms and this was done without any problems... We enjoyed our stay..

Reviewed by
C Robinson

From Scarborough, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

clifton hotel Scarborough
Dated hotel that needs a lot of attention, staff friendly and polite, food needs improving. All in all not the best of hotel's

Reviewed by
J Mcandrew

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short holiday stay
The hotel was very spacious but a bit old fashioned.its position is excellent.the staff ere ok but could have been a bit more helpful.the room itself was good value but to have to pay to park your car wasn't good as not in the town centre.also the drinks in the bar were very expensive.overall i would recommend for a short stay.

Reviewed by
c dean

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful stay!
We had a wonderful stay the room was large and well equipped. The breakfast was second to none and had a lot of choice!! Only TINY downside was our room was right next to the carpark and on the ground floor so the view was of a car and not much sea but it didnt really matter it was a tiny detail! they also let us check in early which was brilliant. In all a lovely hotel would recommend to anybody

Reviewed by
A Smith

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great weekend
The Staff was very friendly and quickly rectified a booking error on their par, hotel was very clean and food was lovely, only downside was the room was a bit small but was great value for £47 which included breakfast

Reviewed by
Andrea S

From Hull, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good for a budget hotel!
We stayed for 2 nights, the staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel was clean but a little dated and could have done with a coat of paint ( they were painting reception area when we were there, so they are working on it.) This I think would make it feel cleaner. The room was comfortable exactly what you would expect to find. Fantastic views of the sea. Small sofa, double bed, huge TV, bathroom was functional. We had breakfast at the hotel and it was very nice. Lots of choice. Cooked breakfast or \and cereal, fruit ,toast, no complaints about that!

Reviewed by
s mason

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

most improved late rooms hotel 2013 are you blind
We combined our stay with business and pleasure we looked at the late rooms site and some of the reviews ,On our arrival firstly we had to park on the street as you have to ring the hotel and book a parking slot of which was not on the reviews or hotel description ,we were given a room on the 3rd floor on exiting the lift it looked as if we had stepped back in time with dirty hall way and the bedroom door had,nt had a lick of paint since the hotel was built.
The room was dated to say the least the window sashes were very hard to open and only opened 2 inches there was a separate room with the TV in the remote did,nt work the sash window on opening exposed a large crack in the window frame with the glass loose ,The on suite bathroom was extremely dirty ( see pics) The bed we had booked a double room they had pushed the 2 singles together with no head board in the middle made for an uncomfortable nights sleep .
Worst of all my partner went for a shower picked up the towel and it had a large brown stain upon it as we are regular customers of laterooms we had the foresight to take towels with us as this is common with self rating hotels however I would say that laterooms also bear some responsibility with particular booking as they have given a prestigious award as most improved hotel 2013 did we complain yes but staff said that since the new owners took over Brittania Hotels took over it has went down hill ,Why did we stay we got there at 3pm and had a meeting at 5 so didn't have the time to look or book elsewhere this hotel room had a supposed large discount of around £90.00 we paid £71 .00 with a credit crad charge of £2.00 Please Laterooms get your act together. don't stay in this hotel I have stayed in better travelodges for less money and that is saying something.

Reviewed by
steven mcconnell

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent location.
My partner and I love this location. Jogged every morning along the promenade. Apart from noisy residents slept well. Been before and will probably visit again.

Reviewed by
Carol R

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

one night short break
We booked this hotel as we were unable to stay in the hotel we normally stay in and had mixed views on staying here. We were pleasently suprised by the whole experience. The staff were friendly especially to our 6 year old daughter and took time to talk to her and answered all of her questions. The room was much bigger than we imagined, normal family rooms can be small and you fall over one another, but the room we had was very spacious with fantastic views over scarboroughs north bay. Beds were comfortable but only one pillow per person. The ensuite had a bath with shower over.
The breakfast choices were adaquate with the options of cereals, toast, fruit and cooked breakfast, small selection of fruit juices and tea and coffee, which you helped yourself to. We didn't have to pre book a parking space but we were lucky and a free one was avaliable when we arrived but during busier periods it is definatly advised.
We have already recomended the cliffton to family and friends and will definately stay there again.

Reviewed by
gary p

From Dewsbury, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family with young children

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next