No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX
With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 338 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
67% recommended this accommodation to a friend 72% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Was due to stay at the clifton ....was upgrade to the grand hotel.......what more can i say.........will not be recommending the Grand to anyone

Reviewed by
shaun p

From Guisborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

sandra and george
kerry best service ever room 356 lovely few things could be better needs updating a bit expensive 10 pounds per night

Reviewed by
sandra cruickshank

From Dronfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good service
Old hotel but do not be put off, good friendly service, food good quality 3 course dinner only 10 pounds, rooms comfortable and clean slept well, lounge area nice to chill, single artist on one night we stayed nice easy listening to chill to, certainly would and will return

Reviewed by
J Harris

From Workington, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clifton review
Furniture needs updating. Windows need cleaning inside & outside. Staff were courteous & helpful. Apart from the little things excellent stay.

Reviewed by
T Carr

From Peterborough, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

rubbish
stayed here many times a few years ago before it became a Britannia owned hotel and it was fine, now rubbish. we were put in a room that was obviously previously a single room it was so small and not very clean, also the food was rubbish, all cheap horrible ingrediants. will not stay here again

Reviewed by
Gillian F

From Ossett, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location breakfast poor

Reviewed by
michael g

From huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hotel was clean & tidy, good location overlooking the North bay. Room was a little small but fresh, as was reception and bar area, friendly staff. buffet breakfast and reasonably priced dinner with plenty of choice. I believe the hotel has a 2 star rating and in my opinion it certainly reaches that level.

Reviewed by
William N

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great value
We booked last minute (literally!) at the Clifton to stay for Sunday night as we were booked in self catering holiday from the Monday. Room was a great price for bed and breakfast - my other half greatly enjoyed the buffet style - lots of choice (think Toby Carvery-type breakfast) plus signs stating additional choices could be prepared fresh by the staff if requested. The bedroom was a little small - we found this especially so in the en-suite bathroom which was somewhat tight - and as other reviewers have said there is only one lift so you might have to be prepared to wait if your bags are heavy. All in all though no problems, and we'd use the Clifton again.

Reviewed by
Rebecca H

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Could not stay
We had to leave after less than 30 mins. The room was a disgrace their was dust (and i mean dust) everywhere and the floor had been barely hoovered. The wardrobe was on wooden blocks and the tv in the bedroom was so old it would be t home in a museum. Our son who is eight has asthma and their was no way we could stay a night in their. We did get a refund and leave, Terrible is understatement.

Reviewed by
robert H

From Carlisle, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Hi we stayed in family room for 3 nights in Aug then asked for 1 more night we had to move rooms but thoroughly enjoyed it room was clean lovely bedding and towels staff very friendly read reviews before we came and could not understand what all the bad ones were about I don't know what some people expect the bar staff and receprion staff brill especially len we called him 10 from len as on farm foods advert definitely stay again

Reviewed by
Sarah Ball

From England
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next