No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Clifton Hotel, Scarborough

3Self Classified Hotel Ratings explained
QUEENS PARADE , SCARBOROUGH, YO12 7HX

Simply the Guest Awards Winner

Category: Most Improved 2013
Based on 100% genuine guest reviews.

With inspirational sea views across the North Sea and Scarborough’s magnificent castle headland, the Clifton Hotel Scarborough boasts many return guests. The hotel offers a wide range of bedroom types, in both traditional and contemporary styles and a restaurant renowned for its high quality Yorkshire fare using fresh produce.

The Clifton Hotel Scarborough has 70 delightful bedrooms, all with en-suite facilities, direct dial telephone, colour television and welcome refreshment tray. Many rooms have spectacular sea views, so you can enjoy watching the local surfers and fisherman in the North Bay from the comfort of your room.

The hotel’s elegant Castle Ballroom also offers a delightful setting for social functions from Cocktail Parties to Birthday Parties, from Wedding Receptions to Dinner Dances.

At the end of a perfect day where better to relax and watch the world go by, than in the large hotel lounge or the traditional British bar – where you can enjoy your favourite tipple whilst watching our large screen TV’s. The hotel offers FREE wifi to all guests.

North Bay is heaven for families with a host of activities all year round including Peasholm Park, offering pedal boats, shows and the famous Navel Warfare and the striking pyramids of Scarborough Sea Life Centre where you can go beneath the sea with even getting we, coming face to face with everthing from shrimps to sharks.

The hotel has a small car park (15 spaces) which can be booked in advance or works on first come, first serve basis for a price of 6,00 £ a night.
Picture of Clifton Hotel, Scarborough, SCARBOROUGH at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 394 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
66% recommended this accommodation to a friend 71% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

not such a nice experience
I am afraid we will not visit this hotel again, the experience was really unpleasant. We had bookedmtwo rooms, the first rooms toilet, toilet were smelly, and stained. Carpet very worn. In our room, it still had the smell of urine, ragged carpets, only one window could be opened to allow for ventilation. The double bed was also sunken.
There was no fresh water to fill kettle up or enoughtea facities on the plus side we did have s wonderful viewm.

Reviewed by
J Thomas

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

my observations
the bathroom left a lot to be desired, the bath panel was chipped in several places, there was a broken shelf above the sink the taps and plug hole was covered in lime scale. The shower door only opened inwards and the toilet was backed up for three days
The breakfast was plentiful However, no fresh fruit
The linen was clean and the room was clean However, was thick with dust around the legs of the furniture.
The TV DID not have freeview/sky this is important for young childre, could only recieve terestrial channels
the lift was in a very difficult place, leaving very little room to enter or leave especially with suitcases. There was no alloted parking unless you reserved parking and that was at an additional cost of £6 per day.
I dont feel I could revisit the stablishment

Reviewed by
margaret b

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with young children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The staff helped me, when late rooms got my acomadation mixed up.
Late rooms.com got my accommodation mixed up.

Reviewed by
andrew paterson

From Bradford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly surprised
Wasn't sure what to expect when I booked a twin room at the Clifton, having read mixed reviews. In fact I was pleasantly surprised. I arrived early to book in but was allowed to use the car park ahead of the allotted time. An encouraging start made possible by helpful reception staff. The hotel is old and looked to have seen better days but that should not be seen as a criticism. Improvement work is obviously on-going and we were lucky enough to get one of the refurbished rooms which was very clean and spacious. Paid £65 including a full English and definitely got value for money

Reviewed by
Bill Allen

From Manchester, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

first time reviewer
Unfortunately when we arrived we had only been booked in for one night instead of three. The Reception staff sorted the problem quickly and we were given a room for three night.

Reviewed by
Carol H

From Northampton, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very enjoyable weekend we had , comfy clean bed ,very good breakfast and very helpful friendly staff, Will defently go back again

Reviewed by
c markham

From Grantham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Don't go on " The forth floor"
We booked one night supreme room £85.00 and a single standard we ended up in box type attic room with very high window although view of sea was good that was the only good thing about the room and our sons standard room was next door same layout but even smaller costing £45.00 very very poor rest of hotel looked ok and breakfast was very good i come from wilfred owen country and i would'nt like to see what sort of poem heed create about this. I would stay again but not on" the forth floor"

Reviewed by
PETER OWEN

From Shrewsbury, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

staff not really interested in complaints. only one lift with old fashoined doors that needed two people to operate, after waiting ten minutes for the lift to get to your floor. on-suite shower room tiny, and door not fitting properly. door threshold not fitting properly. breakfast not very appertising, as we were only staying one night it didnt seem worth making too much fuss.

Reviewed by
i dervin

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very friendly staff and a lovley big room would stay here again
the lift needs to be bigger you can just get in a wheelchair and 1 person in and the breakfast was cheap food and did not taste nice

Reviewed by
L Czartowski

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family with teenage children

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

This hotel is a bit dated , as it is a very old hotel. But my room was very spacious and nicely decorated.(I was on the 1st floor). The breakfast was great. The only thing I would say is ask to not be on the 4th floor as the rooms are a lot smaller and there is only one lift which is very show.

Reviewed by
S McGregor

From Harrow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 Next