No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Talbot Hotel

4AA Assessed Hotel Ratings explained
Talbot Hotel Yorkersgate, Malton, YO17 7AJ
Welcome to the Talbot Hotel Malton, where we are writing a new chapter in the story of this historic Grade II* listed building.

The Talbot Hotel has recently been fully restored. Classic British design now meets traditional values of comfort and service for an elegant hotel with 26 bedrooms, landscaped gardens and a great restaurant overseen by executive head chef James Martin aiding our own Head Chef and his team in creating menus which source some fantastic local produce from Yorkshire suppliers.

We are in the heart of the North Yorkshire market town of Malton, 20 minutes from the city of York. Visitors here are spoilt for choice. Compiling a list of 101 things to do proved easy. You won't, of course, have time to do all of these things in a single stay – so there is only one on which we insist: relax and let us look after you.
Picture of Talbot Hotel , Malton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since December 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

weekend anniversary break
excellent hotel, great staff, great food

Reviewed by
Glenis MacBeath

From Rotherham, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wonderful overnight stay
Excellent general rooms and bar for guests, lovely secluded gardens and ample safe car parking

Reviewed by
Mike T

From Chesterfield, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Sleepers beware
Room the cheapest at £95 was in the attic , it did smell a little damp. The room overlooked the main road and if window was open for fresh air the noise was not acceptable and resulted in a very sleepless night. Dress for evening meal is smart. Staff were excellent as was food. Would stay again but in a better quality room away from the road noise.

Reviewed by
C Sedman

From Dunmow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Hotel!!
Fantastic hotel!! Right on the centre of Malton!! Beautiful food.... Attentive staff and fabulous rooms!

Reviewed by
Helen S

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely room with very comfortable communal area. Chef went out of his way to improve breakfast experience when I said I was vegetarian and have me things not on the menu.

Reviewed by
Julie M

From Edinburgh, UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The Hotel is in a very easy to find location .
We were very impressed with the way we were received, the Staff were so helpful they gave us a very Yorkshire hospitality. keep up the good work!!!!!

Reviewed by
John M

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful hotel
everything really was lovely. just had to wait for the complimentary tea to come.

Reviewed by
hilary f

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A superb hotel
My husband and I stayed at the Talbot last weekend .
The hotel and staff are fabulous it is one of the only hotels I have stayed
In that I would definitely go back to . There is a gorgeous open fire to sit round
And have afternoon tea or drinks. coffee and tea are complimentary that is served in your room
Or downstairs lovely touch .
The bedrooms and bathroom are of a high standard .
The restaurant food is delicious .
Everything about this hotel is second to none .

Reviewed by
N Thompson

From Huddersfield, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Class in a glass
Superb hotel, beautifully decorated and fitted out with the best of everything, obviously for the patron of a richer life and healthy bank account,nice for us minions to experience that side though for a treat, can not fault any part of the stay, very friendly and helpful staff, all dressed wonderfully smart and most polite with it, room was spotlessly clean and very comfortable, bathroom was a joy, fitted out with the best quality suite,only one tiny little thing i would consider, there isnt any tea or coffee making facilities in the rooms, the staff deliver promptly on request any tea or coffee requirements to your room, this is a great service, but maybe sometimes the guests may not want to be disturbed by a delivery, so privacy is gone if you want a drink, so in the middle of the night you may have to dress if you havnt brought a dressing gown as there arnt any hotel gowns supplied, highly recomend the talbot

Reviewed by
l molloy

From UK
Who stayed in January 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

a fabulous hotel to relax in
The room was beautiful and the bathroom luxurious. The food was outstanding and would rate it as one of the best meals I have ever had. Breakfast was excellent as was the service.
The only one disappointment for me was the room rate for single occupancy. I travel down to Malton once a month to see my daughter and granddaughter and would stay at the Talbot on a regular basis if it was more reasonably priced.

Reviewed by
Linda Simpson

From Falkirk, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next