No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Lake View Country House

4Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
Lake View Drive, Grasmere, LA22 9TD
Our home has one of the best positions and views in Grasmere is rated 4 star with a gold award and is in the beautiful village of Grasmere in a quiet, private lane with its own private access to the lake. We have 1 suite with twin beds, 1 suite with a king size bed and 2 doubles and 2 rooms have whirlpool bath. We are set in large gardens with private parking and surrounded by the most gorgeous views. Whether you're here to walk or just take in the magnificent views, Grasmere has everything to make a visit here one of the most memorable you'll have.
Picture of Lake View Country House, Grasmere at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since February 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 11 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Comfortable and friendly.
Comfortable bed. Great breakfasts. View of the Lake. Badgers.
Very nice stay.

Reviewed by
Phil B

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Our review
Excellent welcome. Very comfortable. Even badgers and otters nearby!

Reviewed by
Steven A

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfectly peaceful. perfectly placed, perfect!
An excellent hotel near to the centre of Grasmere but down a private lane so secluded and quiet. Private walk down to the lakeside, beautiful. We stayed in the Garden Suite which has a spacious twin bedroom, an en suite bathroom with bath and shower and a fabulous little lounge. Tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and even a small fridge. Everywhere spotlessly clean. the breakfasts were lovely with a great selection of choices from full cooked to croissants. In Michelle and Stephen the hotel have friendly, helpful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Michelle recommended some restaurants to us which meant that we had two super evenings out with delicious food and great service. The hotel is also dog friendly. I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewed by
Julie W

From Newton le Willows, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lake view
We had a lovely weekend. The suite was extremely comfortable and we were made were welcome.
The breakfast was excellent with a really good choice.

Reviewed by
FIONA S

From Newark, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Clean, friendly and well located. Excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
Martin G

From Stroud, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

beautiful location, warm welcome & excellent breakfast

Reviewed by
eric d

From Dalton in Furness, UK
Who stayed in November 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Some nice touches eg. discrete box in bathroom containing feminine hygiene products and even a sewing kit. Comfortable bed and good breakfasts. Fresh milk provided on request for our room as small cartons were initially provided. Service was great.
However, for the price we paid, the size of the room was extremely disappointing especially the 'seating area'......Hmm.There was no proper wardrobe space and no space in the room to stow our luggage. We have paid less at other accommodation and have enjoyed fabulous space to relax and stretch our legs.I would it recommend but would warn about the size of the Ivory Room - its not worth the money. Don't know about the other rooms.

ManagementResponse

Hello Mr Linguard, Thank you for your kind comments but we are very sorry that you weren't totally happy with your stay. It is always disappointing to read comments rather than hear them from you whilst you're here, so we could have adjusted your charge,but I do understand that some people are too embarrassed . Unfortunately, one of the problems with booking on the internet is that I don't get to speak to people as I always tell anyone that books the Ivory Room that it is small and this is quite clearly stated on our web site, which I assume you looked at before booking. You mentioned you were disappointed with the 'seating area' , but we specifically don't mention this in our details so as not to give the wrong impression of the room, albeit that there are 2 small chairs. Yes,we do have 3 other rooms which are large and have their own sitting rooms and hopefully should you choose to come back we hope that you will stay in one of them and then enjoy the whole experience. Kind regards, Michelle King.Owner

Reviewed by
Maria L

From UK
Who stayed in October 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly, Good Location
We enjoyed the walk down to the lake, which has private access. The Breakfast Room and service was lovely. Nice balance of friendliness and privacy. Easy walk into the village with plenty of choice for eating places. Called beforehand after booking and the owner was very helpful.

Reviewed by
David H

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely homely B&B

Reviewed by
R Arques

From Surbiton, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Badger watching from the comfort of your bedroom
The Lake View Country House Is a beautiful Lakeland Hotel set in it's own gardens with the Fells as a backdrop, stunning ! Onsite parking right by the front door & warm welcoming staff made for an excellent first impression. We embarked on a lovely five mile walk to Rydal Water returning to dine at a very nice resteraunt in Grasmere, just when we thought our day had been perfect the Badgers came out at Dusk, fantastic. Would we stay again ? we're booked up for the end of July, can't wait !

Reviewed by
George Coombes

From Whitley Bay, UK
Who stayed in June 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 Next