Reviews - Lake View Country House


Lake View Drive, Grasmere, LA22 9TD

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.

Very Good

All reviews (14)

100% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service


Food quality

Room quality


  • Harry R

  • August 2015

The Lake District Never Fails to Impress

Had a wonderful three night break in Grasmere.

A very central location from which to explore the Lakes. Lots of excellent restaurants and tea rooms nearby. Brilliant walks straight from the accommodation. We had delicious breakfasts and were able to walk the short distance to Lake Grasmere from the house. There was ample and easy parking. Very comfortable Fellside Suite gave lovely views. An excellent choice to compliment the wonders of the area.

  • Derek L

  • June 2015

Excellent base in Grasmere

Stayed for two nights late June 2015

Were made very welcome - great views from room - nice walk down private footpath to lake - handy for Grasmere village - but quiet being at end of a cul-de-sac

Would recommend

  • helen f

  • June 2015

Grasmere Stay

Welcoming hosts, and very good location.

The room was quite small but perfectly okay. Breakfast was quite tasty, but nothing outstanding. Bit expensive, but probably the average for that area. Overall a very nice experience. Didn't see the badgers though.

  • Tim Stephenson

  • April 2015

Lovely location

Location ideal for wander around Grasmere village and lake, good parking, spotlessly clean rooms and good quality breakfasts

Hosts were friendly and efficient and the view from the rooms was superb

  • Charles L

  • April 2015

Great place to stay.

I usually stay in hotels rather than B&Bs but I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the accommodation and food.

On this occasion the room we had booked was unavailable and we were given an apartment (usually for self-catering customers) in its stead. Obviously this gave us extra space so I can't really comment on the quality of a "normal" room. With the exception of the five minutes spent outside the main door on the evening of our arrival, the service was excellent and the staff (and owners) were very pleasant and amenable. The location was very peaceful and well situated on the edge of the village. Dinner was available from several, high-quality restaurants and bistros within easy walking distance. All in all a very pleasant break.

  • David L

  • February 2015

Lovely lovely stay

We have been to Grasmere many times and didn’t even know of this hotel.

It’s in a secluded cull de sac so is so peaceful and very very quite. Prefect for a chill out. The hotel is so comfortable and relaxing and the quality of the room, the food and friendly service is second to none. The view and gardens are lovely – and as advised of the possibility, we were lucky enough to see a badger roaming in the garden at dust. A heron stalking about the garden whilst we had breakfast also reminded us how peaceful the surroundings were.

  • Robert S

  • August 2014

Lake View Country House Aug-14

What a lovely place to stay.

Fantastic location, excellent rooms and fabulous breakfasts.

  • Phil B

  • August 2014

Comfortable and friendly.

Comfortable bed.

Great breakfasts. View of the Lake. Badgers. Very nice stay.

  • Steven A

  • June 2014

Our review

Excellent welcome.

Very comfortable. Even badgers and otters nearby!

  • Julie W

  • April 2014

Perfectly peaceful. perfectly placed, perfect!

An excellent hotel near to the centre of Grasmere but down a private lane so secluded and quiet.

Private walk down to the lakeside, beautiful. We stayed in the Garden Suite which has a spacious twin bedroom, an en suite bathroom with bath and shower and a fabulous little lounge. Tea and coffee facilities, toiletries and even a small fridge. Everywhere spotlessly clean. the breakfasts were lovely with a great selection of choices from full cooked to croissants. In Michelle and Stephen the hotel have friendly, helpful hosts for whom nothing is too much trouble. Michelle recommended some restaurants to us which meant that we had two super evenings out with delicious food and great service. The hotel is also dog friendly. I would definitely stay there again.