No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Gables Superior Bed and Breakfast

4Self Classified Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
The Gables Duddo, Berwick upon Tweed,
A very warm welcome awaits you at the Gables from Angus and Claire.Read our outstanding reviews and see why guests think the Gables is so special.The Gables is the perfect location for breaks all year round An elegant former Victorian Vicarage in the hamlet of Duddo, near Berwick upon Tweed Northumberland. The Gables sits on a rise with uninterrupted views of the dramatic natural landscape, in 2 acres of mature garden, with panoramic views of the Cheviot Hills. Beautiful surroundings offering luxury at an affordable price.

Our large luxury bedrooms have exquisite Victorian Super-King Beds and luxury mattresses that will guarantee a perfect night’s sleep complemented by spacious ,quality period-style bathrooms.

Enjoy a hearty breakfast in our elegant dining room and use our Reading Room to plan your days, read or simply relax. The room has a lovely aspect facing south onto the garden with wonderful views towards the Cheviots.

Calm, peaceful and elegant, surrounded by unspoilt countryside and within 10 minutes of the charms and convenience of historic Berwick upon Tweed. Perfectly situated near the Scottish Borders, between the Cheviots, Northumberland National Park and Northumberland Coastal Area of Oustanding Natural Beauty.

Enjoy the local pastimes of fishing on the world-famous River Tweed and it tributaries, golfing on one of the local picturesque courses, game-shooting, bird-watching at local wildlife reserves, walking or cycling.

Picture of The Gables Superior Bed and Breakfast, Berwick upon Tweed at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since November 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 33 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A home from home in the country
Our host, Angus, made us most welcome. The accommodation was first class and most comfortable.
We would definitely stay here if we visit Northumberland again.

Reviewed by
Bharat S

From Billericay, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A memorable stay
From arriving to departing, Angus gave us complete attention and the benefit of his local knowledge with recommended on places to eat and visit. This made the break easy and we were delighted how much there was to do. Enough to go back and stay at The Gables.
The Gables is a wonderful example of Victorian architecture and really nicely furnished and decorated, situated in beautiful countryside.

Reviewed by
ALAN H

From Winsford, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent according accommodation will definitely be booking again when next in area.

Reviewed by
Mavis Stead

From Doncaster, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A really comfortable, welcoming place to stay
We Had a lovely time! Angus the owner could not have been more welcoming, friendly and kind. Nothing was too much trouble and he even went out of his way to give us a lift one night to the local pub so my husband could have a drink and relax. He was also very knowledgeable about where to eat, where to go exploring and where to get the right advice on fishing permits and and spots to fish on the Tweed.
Our room could not have been more comfortable and Angus and his wife Claire provided fresh milk for coffee every day and arranged breakfast around our timing. A thoroughly enjoyable stay and would definitely go back and recommend The Gables to anyone

Reviewed by
Alison Anderson

From Blairgowrie, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Country escape
Our room was spotless with stunning period furniture and an incredibly comfy mattress and bedding. The en-suite bathroom was large, modern and clean.
We were given a warm welcome with a pot of tea and fruit cake. Prior to our arrival, our hosts recommended some local places to eat offering to make a reservation if we needed it. Breakfast was fantastic with produce sourced from local farmers. We had no difficulty parking in the grounds which are situated in a stunning area of Northumberland, in close proximity to some hidden treasures such as Duddo Stone Circle and Ford and Etal villages.
Our hosts were great - friendly and informative. We greatly enjoyed the relaxed ambience and will certainly plan a return visit.

Reviewed by
todd riley

From Gateshead, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic B&B
I highly recommend staying at The Gables, our hosts were welcoming and went out of their way to make sure we had everything we needed, including booking a table for dinner for us at the local restaurant. The room was immaculate and the bed was extremely comfortable. Breakfast was delicious.

Reviewed by
S Lloyd

From UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

short break to berwick
Good base for touring around.
Angus was a great host ,very welcoming and informative.
My wife and i would highly recommend the gables especially if you like peace and quiet.

Reviewed by
lee c

From Hope Valley, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing
beautiful, ,the accommodation was fantastic, Angus was very friendly and was exceedingly helpful,nothing was to much trouble The house is gorgeous words cannot explain, but would definitely stay again, thank you.

Reviewed by
K Gilmore

From Ramsbottom, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Peaceful, relaxing and surrounded by beautiful countryside
A wonderful stay in a fantastic room with lovely views. Angus is so friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome. The Gables is in a great location easy to reach and in a very peaceful area. A great night sleep in a comfortable bed and the breakfast was very tasty. We had a fantastic time and hope to return some day.

Reviewed by
Jacqueline Hunter

From Livingston, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend break
A thoroughly enjoyable weekend. The accomodation was excellent loved all the antique furniture and the bed was extremely comfortable. Angus was very welcoming and helpful. He recommended places to eat for both nights we stayed. The Plough which is nearby and The Queens Head Hotel in Berwick. We thoroughly enjoyed our meals in both places. The Gables is well placed for a trip to Berwick and only about an hour from Edinburgh.

Reviewed by
LESLEY W

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next