No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Bowes Incline Hotel

4Self Classified Inn Ratings explained
Bowes Incline Hotel, Northside Northside, Chester le Street, DH3 1RF
Welcome to the Bowes Incline Family Owned Country Pub and Hotel

The Hotel maintains the 18 en-suite rooms and warm, friendly welcome which have made it extremely popular with visitors to the region.

However, it is as an eating place that visitors will see the greatest changes to the Hotel. The property has been carefully redesigned to accommodate over 100 diners and yet maintain a relaxed atmosphere

The new design acknowledges the importance of the Bowes Incline in regional industrial history and uses it to produce an interesting, intimate and smoke-free setting in which you can enjoy dishes from a menu created to be both appealing and tempting.
Picture of The Bowes Incline Hotel, Chester le Street at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since July 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 43 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

great little hotel
staff friendly and helpful, hotel clean and tidy. No complaints or negatives to say about our stay.

Reviewed by
Potter

From Newcastle upon Tyne, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Pleasantly suprised
Booked this hotel for an overnight stay before son's graduation ceremony in Durham as all Durham hotels were booked up. Had absolutely no expectations and heart was sinking as drove down the lane but....what a lovely place to stay. The staff were welcoming, warm and friendly, very obliging in providing very early morning breakfast. The room was very comfortable with a lovely big shower. Although right next to the A1 we slept well and were not aware of any road noise.
Highly recommend if you need an overnight stay close to Newcastle or Durham or if travelling.North/South

Reviewed by
mrs king

From Kendal, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stayed here for 6 nights. Excellent location just of the A1. Only had main courses as portions are large. Excellent value for money. Staff are all very friendly. Would stay here again if in the area.

Reviewed by
Robert H

From Burnley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent customer service in all areas of the hotel / restaurant.
Booked as a birthday treat for my husband. Meal in hotel restaurant was 1st class as was breakfast the next morning. Room on A1 side though road noise did not disturb us windows more than adequate to dull this. Very peaceful and relaxing break - would reccomend to anyone. Route directions from late rooms perfect.

Reviewed by
k shepherd

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An Easter stay
We stayed over the Easter period and had a large twin bedded room which also had a large shower room. The staff were friendly and very efficient. The food was enjoyable with large portions. Whilst not fine dining it was well presented and there was a very extensive menu to suit every taste. We would certainly stay there again. The hotel is well situated for the Durham/Gateshead area being near the A1.

Reviewed by
R Phipp

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good business stopover
accommodation very good ,breakfast very good

Reviewed by
David K

From Derby, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Good Location for business,good value,Restaurant has extensive choice. Recomend for overnight stay.

Reviewed by
Nick Hughes

From Maldon, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

good country hotel
Good accommodation very friendly staff adds to your stay with a country pub attached serving a wide variety of meals with something for most tastes and good size portions i would definately recommend it.

Reviewed by
howard s

From Cheadle, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well worth a look
I booked this for a visit to the Uni with my family. I went for this hotel as it offered reasonable value for a family room compared to the usual Holiday Inn etc. Situated just off the main road (we were at the back and had no road noise, it is set back so I can't see this being an issue on the front) and a very short drive from the centre it is an ideal alternative to staying in the City itself.
The room had been refurbished to a standard I would describe as high. Both the room and bathroom were spotlessly clean, at this point, I was really pleased with my choice however the best was saved till last. The food served in this hotel was superb, my wife works in the catering industry and I am a "foodie", trust me I was surprised how lucky we got booking this just by taking a chance on the reviews on trip advisor.
If you are thinking of staying, I would definitely recommend it but even if you are in the area, give the food a try.

Reviewed by
A Swift

From Ormskirk, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A beautiful little hideaway
The staff from the cleaners, chef, waiting staff, night porter and of course Holly we all brilliant. This is a beautiful secluded hotel but always busy. We meet friends there when we arrived and decided to have lunch, all of us could not believe the portions and the food was excellent. Our room was at the back of the hotel it was lovely, clean and fresh. There was no noise from the A1. Our breakfast in the morning was a hearty full English but you also have a choice of cereal fruit etc. We met other friends that stay in Birtley (10 minutes away) and they have said that they will be back up with their families and friends to the Bowes as they didn't realise what a beautiful place it was. There are stables a few yards away and it was great seeing the horses and riders walking right in front of the hotel, it seemed you were staying in the country.
Well worth a stay here. Will be back on a few occasions in the next year. Thank you to all the staff.

Reviewed by
Elise Cozens

From Dunfermline, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next