No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Wilmslow Hotel

2Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
356 Wilmslow Road , Manchester, M14 6AB
The Wilmslow Hotel offers attractive, comfortable bedrooms at reasonable rates. Most rooms having private bath or shower, tv, telephone and free tea/coffee facilities.

We are situated within easy reach of Manchester City Centre, Universities, Manchester Airport, Sporting/Concert Venues and the(Rusholme) "curry mile."

We have free on-site parking and our helpful reception staff are available 24 hours a day.

Breakfast is available at the hotel with prices starting from £3.00

Business or pleasure – there is always a warm welcome at the Wilmslow Hotel.
Picture of Wilmslow Hotel, Manchester at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 87 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
35% recommended this accommodation to a friend 41% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Yuck
Having stayed in hotels around most of the world, I have never been in such a grotty room in a civilised country. There was over 2 mm of dust and grot on the window ledge, the cup was dirty, the toilet was stained and the bed was lumpy. I took one look and went and found a premier.

Reviewed by
Steve O

From Blackpool, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very Dated
Sorry to say I would not stay again, Room very dated had a kettle on table for but no plug for power, I f you want hot water you will need to plug kettle in on the floor.
No remote for TV you have to pay £10.00 deposit !
No food on offer at all !
Parking very little spaces.

Reviewed by
P McQuillan

From Milton Keynes, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Stale cigarette smell
The staff were really helpful and my room was clean enough...it just absolutely stunk of stale cigarette smoke. It was only bearable because I left the window open all night and I could smell it on my clothes and in my hair the next day. The first room I was allocated smelt even worse, but when the second room was also bad, I just had to put up with it.

Reviewed by
S Wood

From Leeds, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Well situated hotel with basic but clean rooms.Staff are very helpful.Very good value for money.

Reviewed by
PETER W

From Southport, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Okay
If you just go there to sleep then it's alright. The staff is very kind. There's a supermarket a few yards away. The TV was not working correctly, I had to switch it off and on again because the picture suddenly froze. It took a little while before getting hot water in the shower. It may not be super-easy if you want to keep a bike in your room, but it is possible and the staff will help if need be. Apart from that, it did the job alright. In the future, I would however pay 2 pounds more and sleep at an Ibis Budget.

Reviewed by
Paul S

From France
Who stayed in September 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wilmslow Hotel - Manchester
My daughter and I went to Manchester for a tour of the Coronation Street studio tour. The hotel was well placed for this as it is few minutes drive away. The Wilmslow Hotel, although on a busy road, is set back and the room was very quiet. The hotel is well placed for 'eating out' with a good number of restaurants within a few minutes walk away. The hotel has free and secure customer parking on site, which all makes for a stress-free stay.

Reviewed by
Theresa N

From Chatham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Family

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wish I had looked at the photos before I booked!!!
Tiny grubby room - looking out of the small window with a very flimsy curtain that let in all the light, I was confronted with a flat roof full of cigarette butt ends and an open pornographic magazine.

Reviewed by
S Chambers

From stamford, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

dont be fooled by Wilmslow
this hotle is no where near Wilmslow so dont be fooled, it also isnt like any of the photos either... the hotel in my opinion not suitable for any stars at all, it was like staying in a 60s timewarp, small, dingy cell-like room with the only saving grace of clean fresh bedding on an old spring felt mattress...i stayed 3nights purely becasue i only needed a bed for the night, i had no sleep due to the uncomfortable work mattress and the cardboard thin walls where i could hear snoring, kids crying, arguing, and telephone calls..i guess it couldve been worse! i left before breakfast each day but wouldnt have eaten there...they do advertise free continental breakfast in the room price in reception, but when i asked, they said no cos you booked online, so be mindful of this if you happen to have to stay here cos nowhere else. its in a less than desirable student dig area Fallowfield and i wouldnt recommend it unless you really couldnt find anywhere else, ive stayed in hostels in many countries of the world and paid a couple of pounds but theyd all knock spots off this place...not worth the price, needs a complete overhaul with everything replacing...the one thing i can have a positive on, the man on reception was polite and helpful and thats why i scored a 3 on that! ...sorry, but it really was the pits :(

Reviewed by
andrea r

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The hotel is dated and could use modernisation but was clean and the staff were helpful and friendly.
If you just want somewhere basic with quick and easy access to the city centre then this place is absolutely fine.

Reviewed by
Scott C

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

cheap but old...
A few things broken and dirty but room was cheap and good customer service.

Reviewed by
Richard A

From UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 Next