No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Affcot Lodge

4Self Classified Small Hotel Ratings explained
Affcot Lodge, Upper Affcot, Near Church Stretton, SY6 6RL
Formally called the Travellers Rest, The Affcot Lodge has changed ownership and undergone substantial refurbishment. Owned and run by Chris and Wendy Davis with their dedicated team the Lodge re-opened for business on 1st July 2011.

Situated in Upper Affcot on the A49 between Church Stretton and Craven Arms the Affcot Lodge Hotel offers comfortable upgraded accommodation, extensive bar facilities, daily menus, fresh local produce, and the 'best Sunday Carvery around'.

We are on the A49, please ignore Sat nav's directions telling you to turn off the main road.

Whether you are local, or planning a visit to South Shropshire soon, the Lodge is the ideal place to stop.

The 10 bedrooms, offer varied accommodation and specification. Each room has en-suite bathrooms, free wi-fi, tea and coffee making facilities and flat screen TV. Availability includes two family rooms, double and twin bedrooms and rooms with disabled access.

With a beautiful, countryside setting Affcot Lodge offers the perfect location to enjoy dinner and special occasions with friends and family. The space can be arranged to suit your event-whatever the style and there are menus to suit all budgets. The Conservatory can be hired for breakfast, lunch or dinner and can accommodate up to 40 people.

We are a Vegetarian friendly Hotel.

Offering quality Bed and Breakfast at affordable prices for your stay in Church Stretton or Craven Arms, you can be assured of a warm welcome and glorious food to make your stay in South Shropshire extra special.
Picture of Affcot Lodge, Near Church Stretton at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 55 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
89% recommended this accommodation to a friend 90% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

One night stay, could not ask for better
We were attaneding a wedding and so needed a palce to stay for one night. We arrived early but were checked in and shown to our room with a smile and a very polite staff.
The room was perfect with a comfy bed and lovely powerful shower.
Exactly what we wanted, good rate and great staff

Reviewed by
Kathryn M

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Friendly staff, bit cold
Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. The room was lovely and the bed was really comfortable. Bar and food were very good. Good area for walking and the hotel was quiet despite being busy. Only downside was the room was a bit cold-the radiators needed bleeding, and the room was a bit dusty.

Reviewed by
A Dyer

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

value for money
the hotel was good value for money, clean and staff was friendly. Good breakfast, the only draw back was the wi fi signal in the room was very poor, infact it would not connect at all so I had to use the wi fi in the public area. Apart from this everything else was spot on

Reviewed by
Phil W

From Bolton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very nice stay.
Very pleasant place. Good location for Ludlow, nice rooms, particularly ours 107. Thanks to all.

Reviewed by
Peter Mellor

From Leicester, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Overnight stay
Was an excellent find and so handy sitting on the roadside. The room,lounge and dining areas were ideal for us and the staff very friendly and helpful. Had a very quite and peaceful nights sleep followed by 1st class breakfast. Will definitely use again.

Reviewed by
James Taylor

From Penicuik, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Happy staff, did all they could to make our stay pleasant.

Reviewed by
david atkinson

From UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affcot Lodge
Excellent accommodation and a warm welcome

Reviewed by
R Champion

From Crawley, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Affcot Lodge a
Food great,smashing staff, room very clean and comfortable,
Would definitely stay again.

Reviewed by
R Hughes

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

unable to stay at afcot lodge due to 23.00 hrs check-in time.

Reviewed by
simon kirke

From Oxford, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great for a short stay but need to get up early to get breakfast!
This hotel was ok for a one night stay. The room was modern, clean and comfortable, but the bathroom could do with a refurb (and frosted glass for the window!) The staff were excellent and helped re-unite my friend with his phone after he left it at the hotel. The only downside was that breakfast stopped at 9am on Sunday morning. Having been at a wedding and getting back late, I missed it which was frustrating as I had paid for it. Perhaps this hotel should reduce their prices and then guests who want breakfast that early can pay extra.

Reviewed by
Lucy W

From Birmingham, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 6 Next