No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - The Ship Inn

3สไตล์เฉพาะตัว อินน์ Ratings explained
The Strand , Rye, TN31 7DB
The Ship Inn is in the centre of Rye, at the bottom of Mermaid Street. The pub was built in 1592, originally as a warehouse to store contraband seized from smugglers. It is now a characterful countryside pub, with old beams and wooden floors and various areas to sit in and relax; the sunny end in the mornings to eat breakfast and read the papers, big tables for group Sunday lunches that last all afternoon or cups of tea by the fireplace after a long walk on Camber Sands.

The Ship has 10 rooms, all with en suite baths or showers.

All the food we serve is cooked entirely from scratch by our chefs, using locally sourced produce.

Dogs, children, even mother in laws, are all very welcome so when you next feel like a bit of seaside / countryside R&R....you know where we are
Picture of The Ship Inn, Rye at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Rate not shown To see the prices for the dates not selected, change your number of nights or arrival date.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 8 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
88% recommended this accommodation to a friend 88% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faultless!
An absolutely fabulous couple of days & nights. From first welcome through to last breakfast, everything was spot on. The accommodation was simple, cool and clean. The food and drinks were excellent and the staff (all young, but all 100% professional) were super. Can't say more really, other than would highly recommend. Great! Thank you!

Reviewed by
Ben Turner

From Solihull, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

wonderful quirky experience
wonderful stay in quirky surroundings.Food quality excellent but feel evening meals a little pricey,but would not hesitate in returning for another stay.

Reviewed by
Carol Patterson

From Darlington, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Beautiful Rustic Characteristic Hotel in a great location
The Hotel is busy, lively, loved and lived in - a far reach from the generic rooms in the larger chain hotels. It has the feel of a hotel run by a happy family. For example, the showers are full of nice - full sized bottles of shampoo, gel and conditioner, oh and the shower has the power to cut glass! It was awesome!
The Staff are people - bright, happy, helpful people that walk and talk with you - not from behind a desk.
Basically - we loved it - and we will go back, and recommend it to all.

Reviewed by
m selwood

From Basildon, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely place
A lovely stay and our dog was made very welcome too.

Reviewed by
Anthony B

From Canterbury, UK
Who stayed in February 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A calming retreat.
My break away was mainly for business, but a major part was inspiration. I am an artist that uses reclaimed salvage and ceramic to create. I delivered to galleries whilst there, but wanted to source ideas for my work. My trip to Dungeness and Derek Jarmons Prospect cottage was breathtaking and gave me lots of refreshing ideas . I also visited the netting sheds in Hastings, tall dark sheds that echoed a past life of the fishing industry. I did also want to visit Charleston Farmhouse, to see the bloomsbury artists work, but the wrong time of the year. Rye itself was beautiful and the Ship Inn was full of character, warmth and charm and the food was excellent. A truly magical place with lots to see and inspire, I definitely will return and spend more time researching the surroundings.

Reviewed by
mark smith

From Uttoxeter, UK
Who stayed in January 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Amazing 5* experience :)
From the moment we arrived to the moment we left the staff were very friendly and helpful and made us feel very welcome and from the Xmas decor to the homely feeling and the amazing breakfast we was very sad to leave an will definitely stay there again as and when we visit this beautiful little town :)

Reviewed by
Nathalie Lovell

From Southend on Sea, UK
Who stayed in December 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Poached Eggs on Rye
After a long hot sweaty drive down from London for emergency evacuation 'I need air' purposes, the Ship at Rye is a welcome oasis. Easily found, with parking (payable) nearby, the Ship is a cross between a thronging 'local' and an efficient bijou hotel. It is quirkily decorated in what I would call the 'Portobello junk' style, but the service is entirely professional. The bedlinen is 100% Egyptian cotton (white) and for feather pillows on the booking form was acted upon. (Unless they come as standard, who knows?) Dinner was decent pub quality, but breakfast takes breakfast to another level. No rush, no fuss, a pile of newspapers, cleaners chattering, local comes in and orders a coffee at the bar and gossips - all very relaxed, which I liked. Stuffy, formal breakfast this is not.
This is more of a home away from home, but with attentive staff and everything you could ever need on hand. Very good.

Reviewed by
Lucy Carter

From London, UK
Who stayed in August 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

lovely rooms
Really nice decor throughout, and the stewed fruit for breakfast was lovely! The room was charming and cosy.

Reviewed by
Ella R

From London, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.