No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Buttercross Bed and Breakfast

4สไตล์เฉพาะตัว ที่พักพร้อมอาหารเช้า Ratings explained
Market Place, Abbots Bromely , Staffordshire, WS15 3BS
Buttercross B&B; premier accommodation at the heart of historic Abbots Bromley. Our aim is to put an emphasis on giving you all the friendliness, luxury and comforts of home, leaving you free to focus on enjoying the many delights that Staffordshire has to offer.
What makes our accommodation extra special is that the beautiful listed building is for GUESTS ALONE – you won’t get that feeling of being in someone else’s home. Buttercross is also ideal for self catering, comfortably accommodating 6 guests.
Buttercross provides excellent opportunities for walking, cycling, sailing, golf, stately homes and much more. We are just 20 minutes from Alton Towers.
All of the bedrooms are en-suite and furnished to the highest of standards, with crisp bed linen, luxurious towels, tea, coffee, hot chocolate, and fresh homemade biscuits every day! Breakfast is the most important meal of the day and here at Buttercross we pride ourselves on setting you up for the day with traditional locally sourced fayre with a special dish added every day.
If you would like a packed lunch or picnic whilst you are exploring Staffordshire, or if you would like your stay to have a ‘special’ touch, flowers, chocolates (hand made) and champagne can be arranged – in fact if you have any individual requirements we will do our best to accommodate you. We have got together with local attractions/activities to bring you some great packages, e.g. clay pigeon shooting and fly fishing; basket weaving/sculpting; golf play and stay.
Discover why your stay at Buttercross will be one to remember by exploring our web pages; and we look forward to welcoming you very soon.
Picture of Buttercross Bed and Breakfast, Staffordshire at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since March 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 25 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
92% recommended this accommodation to a friend 92% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Buttercross B&B visit 20/11/14 - Bromley Room
Quaint B&B with some lovely old-fashioned touches, including old china, cutlery etc. Home-made cake/biscuits available any time in the guests' lounge/dining room, plus refreshments tray in the bedroom, the latter notably including ground coffee and a cafetiere. Beams in the bedroom and bathroom a little awkward for comfort. Bed very comfortable but the daybed (for watching TV or as a child's bed if room is a family room)) was very low. It would be good to have an armchair in there. Extension lead provided - very useful. Hostess welcoming and a very good cook!

Reviewed by
Fiona A

From Dartmouth, UK
Who stayed in November 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect and Lovely
This is such a wonderful little place. The room we stayed in (top floor) was compact and cute. Very quiet and warm. The bed, super comfy (best nights sleep in a hotel for a while!) The breakfast next morning was yummy (and prepared by the landlady herself). Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again (we're finding excuses to already!)

Reviewed by
Ben J

From London, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

very pleased
Would definitely stay again well looked after Thankyou Sharon.

Reviewed by
Colin Chalcraft

From Oldbury, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

What a lovely B&B
Came to buttercross late in Saturday night, I had spoken to Sharon after I booked to see if it was ok to arrive late, she was very accommodating and flexible which was greatly appropriated. The breakfast was delicious - I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on an English muffin - delicious we will definitely be staying at buttercross B&B again!

Reviewed by
Chloe Lawrence

From Saltburn by The Sea, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fantastic
Having stayed in the Buttercross from Fri-Mon we were really impressed with everything this b&b had to offer. Our room was large with lots of storage for our clothes etc. The attention to detail was first class and all the little personal touches made it feel like a home from home. There was tea, coffee and cookies available in the room which we made use of! The toilet facilities were spotless clean and the power shower was excellent. Sharon was great with us and advised us with places to see and where was good for food etc! The chocolate cake was also great! Having been in the area to visit Alton Towers we found an excellent base to travel from. I would strongly recommend staying here before one of the larger hotel chains as you are better looked after. The breakfast menu has lots to choose from and we varied this over our stay. We will return here in the future as we had a great weekend.

Reviewed by
k cronin

From Montrose, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Wedding night stay
We booked here because we had our wedding at the village hall, the owners had decorated the room for us and left a bottle of fizz on our arrival, which was most appreciated ( even though we obviously got there late after the reception ) but was still enjoyed. It made us feel very special. The room was lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was great , sad we didn't get to spend much time there but I am sure we will be definitely back for our anniversary ..... Thank you so much x

Reviewed by
Michelle Gregory

From Burton on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A lovely oasis in Abbotts Bromley
Super place to stay very welcoming hosts. Thank you Sharon for making my mother's and my stay so enjoyable.

Reviewed by
L Kennedy

From Huntingdon, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

The best weekend ever!
We have never stayed anywhere as acommodating as Buttercross!!
The attention to detail is perfect!
The rooms are individual but similar & are all extremely comfortable.
Although Sharon lives in the house next door & isn't actually on the premises you couldn't want for anything else as every last thing has been thought of for you.
The Crown next door does the most amazing steaks & my husband loved the mixed grill. Their Sunday lunch is the best we've ever had.
The village is beautiful & there is plenty to do including some wonderful walks that are recommended by Buttercross.
I could be here for days raving about our stay!
We've already recommended both the B&B & The Crown to everyone we know & will definitely be going back!

Reviewed by
Alison Goodburn

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Mixed group

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Abbots Bromley visit
We were looking for something convenient to Burton-on-Trent without being in it. I must admit I didn't realise that we were 10miles away, but I am very glad that we booked here. The accommodation is set in a lovely, rural village with 3 or 4 pubs and one restaurant not part of a pub. The accommodation was lovely. Very high standard of comfort. Extremely hospitable hostess who baked an awesome ginger cake on the day we arrived. Very clean. We were sorry that we weren't able to stay longer. We would definitely stay here again if the need arose! Highly recommended.

Reviewed by
B Horn

From Camberley, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Perfect Night's stay
Just back from a night at Buttercross B&B and I honestly feel like i've been away for a week - absolutely gorgeous B&B, lovely location - really peaceful. The room was lovely, plenty of character and Sharon was so welcoming. Breakfast was lovely, I really wish I could stay forever!

Reviewed by
Victoria T

From Birmingham, England
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next