Reviews - Buttercross Bed and Breakfast


Market Place, Abbots Bromely, Staffordshire, WS15 3BS

Price From

View Rooms
Show map Close map


    • /
    • Clear

Customer Reviews

Our reviews are from genuine customers. We verify that the customer has stayed before leaving a review.


All reviews (21)

95% would recommend it to a friend


Customer service

Food quality

Room quality


  • N Clark

  • June 2015

Beautiful hidden Gem!

Gorgeous double bedroom.

Very well kept, clean and everything we could possibly want. Very welcoming and accommodating. Would definitely recommend to stay here.

  • Fiona A

  • November 2014

Buttercross B&B visit 20/11/14 - Bromley Room

Quaint B&B with some lovely old-fashioned touches, including old china, cutlery etc.

Home-made cake/biscuits available any time in the guests' lounge/dining room, plus refreshments tray in the bedroom, the latter notably including ground coffee and a cafetiere. Beams in the bedroom and bathroom a little awkward for comfort. Bed very comfortable but the daybed (for watching TV or as a child's bed if room is a family room)) was very low. It would be good to have an armchair in there. Extension lead provided - very useful. Hostess welcoming and a very good cook.

  • Ben J

  • November 2014

Perfect and Lovely

This is such a wonderful little place.

The room we stayed in (top floor) was compact and cute. Very quiet and warm. The bed, super comfy (best nights sleep in a hotel for a while!) The breakfast next morning was yummy (and prepared by the landlady herself). Wouldn't hesitate to stay there again (we're finding excuses to already!)

  • Colin Chalcraft

  • October 2014

very pleased

Would definitely stay again well looked after Thankyou Sharon.

  • Chloe Lawrence

  • October 2014

What a lovely B&B

Came to buttercross late in Saturday night, I had spoken to Sharon after I booked to see if it was ok to arrive late, she was very accommodating and flexible which was greatly appropriated.

The breakfast was delicious - I had smoked salmon and scrambled egg on an English muffin - delicious we will definitely be staying at buttercross B&B again!

  • k cronin

  • October 2014


Having stayed in the Buttercross from Fri-Mon we were really impressed with everything this b&b had to offer.

Our room was large with lots of storage for our clothes etc. The attention to detail was first class and all the little personal touches made it feel like a home from home. There was tea, coffee and cookies available in the room which we made use of. The toilet facilities were spotless clean and the power shower was excellent. Sharon was great with us and advised us with places to see and where was good for food etc. The chocolate cake was also great. Having been in the area to visit Alton Towers we found an excellent base to travel from. I would strongly recommend staying here before one of the larger hotel chains as you are better looked after. The breakfast menu has lots to choose from and we varied this over our stay. We will return here in the future as we had a great weekend.

  • Michelle Gregory

  • September 2014

Wedding night stay

We booked here because we had our wedding at the village hall, the owners had decorated the room for us and left a bottle of fizz on our arrival, which was most appreciated ( even though we obviously got there late after the reception ) but was still enjoyed.

It made us feel very special. The room was lovely and comfortable, the breakfast was great , sad we didn't get to spend much time there but I am sure we will be definitely back for our anniversary ..... Thank you so much x

  • L Kennedy

  • August 2014

A lovely oasis in Abbotts Bromley

Super place to stay very welcoming hosts.

Thank you Sharon for making my mother's and my stay so enjoyable.

  • Ian F

  • July 2014

Perfect! Just perfect

A beautiful and well run little establishment.

We were incredibly well looked after. Top quality.

  • Alison Goodburn

  • June 2014

The best weekend ever!

We have never stayed anywhere as acommodating as Buttercross!.

The attention to detail is perfect. The rooms are individual but similar & are all extremely comfortable. Although Sharon lives in the house next door & isn't actually on the premises you couldn't want for anything else as every last thing has been thought of for you. The Crown next door does the most amazing steaks & my husband loved the mixed grill. Their Sunday lunch is the best we've ever had. The village is beautiful & there is plenty to do including some wonderful walks that are recommended by Buttercross. I could be here for days raving about our stay. We've already recommended both the B&B & The Crown to everyone we know & will definitely be going back!