No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mowbray House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34, Haxby Road , York, YO31 8JX
Carol and Phil would like to welcome you to Mowbray House a small family run Guest House, which has a 3 star Visit Britain rating.
We are situated about a 10 minute walk from the City Centre and about a 20 minute walk from York Station.
Our aim is to provide you with a comfortable base from which to explore York. Our rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, cleanliness is our priority, they are all en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, digital LCD colour flat screen tv's with freeview, hairdryers, shower gel, towels, iron and ironing board and radio alarms.
You have your own keys to come and go as you please, but please could we ask you to be quiet if coming in late. A full English Breakfast is included, which is served between 8am and 9am (can be a little earlier if needed, by arrangement) most diets can be catered for all that we ask is for a little prior notice.
We have a totally NON-SMOKING policy throughout, if we suspect you have ignored this you will be charged in full for your entire stay and asked to leave immediately.
We have FREE off street CAR PARKING, payphone and FREE WI-FI
Please note -
We do not accept all single sex groups.
We do not accept credit/debit cards, payment on arrival is by cash only
Picture of Mowbray House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since January 2013 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 44 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Warm and friendly
The landlady and landlord where very kind and friendly ..warm and welcoming ...The rooms very spacious and clean with fresh linen ..towels and other luxury replaced everyday. The food was cooked to our liking and we got what we asked for. Definitely recommend to other family and friends.

Reviewed by
Amanda Gahan

From Colchester, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Home away from home
Stayed for 2 nights 5-7 December for my wife's birthday. Our friends also stayed here. There are only 3 rooms and I thought this was perfect. We stayed in room 1 which was of ample size and a decent sized en suite with shower. Tea/coffee making facilities restocked daily. They also had drinking glasses. My wife liked the fact cotton pads/buds were available in the room as she had forgotten to pack some. There was plenty storage space along with an iron, ironing board and a hair dryer. Free wifi is also available. Breakfast was ample with a variety of cereals, fruit and a full English that is cooked to order.
The owners are very friendly and are happy to give advice on places of interest etc.
About a 10 minute walk from the centre of York, it was an ideal location.
I would gladly return to Mowbray House and would definitely recommend it to anyone wishing to stay in York.

Reviewed by
A Hope

From Sunderland, UK
Who stayed in December 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

brilliant b & b, right by city centre
lovely B & B, the owner was very helpful and our room was lovely and clean, would definitely stay there again/

Reviewed by
Gill C

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ideal B&B for visiting York
Everything you could want in a B&B. A welcoming and accommodating host, large clean en suite rooms and a cracking full English breakfast. Also, the added bonus of free off street parking and a 10 minute walk to York Minster.

Reviewed by
Chris B

From Woodhall Spa, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly family. Room was very spacious and clean with good sized bathroom we enjoyed our stay.

Reviewed by
Peter B

From Buxton, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

we really enjoyed are stay at mowbrey house carol was very pleasant and helpful. the food was lovely, the room was very clean and spacious. Our weekend was a surprise for my husband, we had a fantastic stay and would definately recommend mowbrey house and also are people of york were very helpful and pleasant thank you we had a fantasic time and would consider returning.

Reviewed by
jeanette topping

From UK
Who stayed in October 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely clean house,a warm welcome and information of where to go and how to get there .Excellent !!
Lovely owners ,breakfast was very enjoyable with good quality fresh produce.
The bedroom was an excellent size,this was very clean, the bathroom was lovely and clean.
A lovely place to visit !!
Jean.

Reviewed by
Jean Peniston

From Wakefield, UK
Who stayed in October 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

be going back
Already booked again for a visit. Excellent b&b on all fronts, definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
a bacon

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay. Friendly, clean and only a 10 minute walk from York centre.

Reviewed by
J Ross

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
myself and my husband stayed hear for one night to visit the races, the lady who owns it was very nice and friendly, made us feel at home and was very helpful. our room was very clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was lovely .

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 5 Next