No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Mowbray House

3Visit England Assessed Bed and Breakfast Ratings explained
34, Haxby Road , York, YO31 8JX
Carol and Phil would like to welcome you to Mowbray House a small family run Guest House, which has a 3 star Visit Britain rating.
We are situated about a 10 minute walk from the City Centre and about a 20 minute walk from York Station.
Our aim is to provide you with a comfortable base from which to explore York. Our rooms are spacious and tastefully decorated, cleanliness is our priority, they are all en-suite and have tea and coffee making facilities, digital LCD colour flat screen tv's with freeview, hairdryers, shower gel, towels, iron and ironing board and radio alarms.
You have your own keys to come and go as you please, but please could we ask you to be quiet if coming in late. A full English Breakfast is included, which is served between 8am and 9am (can be a little earlier if needed, by arrangement) most diets can be catered for all that we ask is for a little prior notice.
We have a totally NON-SMOKING policy throughout, if we suspect you have ignored this you will be charged in full for your entire stay and asked to leave immediately.
We have FREE off street CAR PARKING, payphone and FREE WI-FI
Please note -
We do not accept all single sex groups.
We do not accept credit/debit cards, payment on arrival is by cash only
Picture of Mowbray House, York at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since October 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 39 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
100% recommended this accommodation to a friend 100% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

be going back
Already booked again for a visit. Excellent b&b on all fronts, definitely recommend.

Reviewed by
a bacon

From Cromer, UK
Who stayed in September 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Excellent place to stay. Friendly, clean and only a 10 minute walk from York centre.

Reviewed by
J Ross

From Glasgow, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Great place to stay
myself and my husband stayed hear for one night to visit the races, the lady who owns it was very nice and friendly, made us feel at home and was very helpful. our room was very clean and comfortable. And the breakfast was lovely .

Reviewed by
Susan S

From Oldham, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Lovely B&B close to the centre of York
Mowbray House was ideal for us - we were having a day at York Races and just needed somewhere close to the Racecourse to stay. The room was lovely and clean and the owner was really friendly and helpful. It was good value for money too

Reviewed by
Val Boyers

From Stockton on Tees, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Mowbray House short stay.
Very nice, clean room, good breakfast, nice hosts. 10 minute walk from York Minster. Good Indian restaurant across the road with 10% discount if stopping at Mowbray. Would definitely stay here again and would recommend to friends and family.

Reviewed by
michael newton

From Stoke on Trent, UK
Who stayed in August 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

10/10+++
Very helpfully owners, nothing was a problem, breakfast was outstanding ,vast choice to choose from.Room spotlessly clean, we would highly recommend mowbray house to anyone , room had everything you would need and more. Top spec guest house.Our 3 night stay was perfect, thankfully.

Reviewed by
e wrigley

From Hartlepool, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Nice family accomodation close to city centre
Carol welcomed me and my partner and was very friendly. The B & B is close to York Minster, and we walked to all the major sites ie York Castle Museum, Yorvick Centre, Dungeons, Cliffords Tower, Yorkshire Museum, and all were accessible within a max of 20 mins on foot. The rooms are a large size for a B & B, are cleaned every day which is a bonus not often given by other companies, and the breakfast is large and satisfying. Carol and her family are very happy to give you advice on how to get to places, are extremely chatty and we would definately go and stay there again. Nothing was too much trouble. We went on the weekend of York Races and Sheff Wed versus York, but this didnt impact our stay at all. A beautiful city, and a great B & B!

Reviewed by
M Greville

From Sheffield, UK
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Weekend with best friend
Cannot fault this B and B. It is an excellent location within a short walking distance from the city itself. Very very clean and lovely breakfast. Everything you could ask for in the room. I will definitely be recommending this to other friends and family members.

Reviewed by
L Watson

From Willenhall, UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Will definately book again
Excellent accommodation, very spacious room, spotless and a very accommodating hostess. Location to York centre is a 10 min casual walk. Discounts deals at local eateries just for staying here, which was a nice added bonus. Very enjoyable stay and will recommend to all our friends.

Reviewed by
T Kershaw-Whittle

From UK
Who stayed in June 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Very friendly & couldn't do enough to help gave advice on where to eat & what to see.

Reviewed by
Michael Higgs

From Portland, UK
Who stayed in May 2014

Couple

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 4 Next