No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Azalea Living

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
56 58, Kings Road , Harrogate, HG1 5JR
Azalea Living hotel is privately owned guest house situated directly opposite to the International Conference and Exhibition Centre.

Large flood-lit car park at the rear of the hotel.

The town centre is just few minutes walking distance away where there are many good restaurants, shops and pubs.

Leave your stress and strains behind and spend a few days in our lovely spa town. Azalea House is open all year and we offer bargain breaks throughout, except during conferences and exhibitions.

Harrogate is a town with many immaculate gardens, open strays and beautiful Turkish baths, Royal hall, and swimming pool. Unearth beautiful antiques or acquire a new wardrobe in the fine shops of Harrogate which are just a ten-minute stroll from Azalea house. Wonder through Valley Gardens or investigate the national Rhubarb collection at the Harlow Carr Botanical Gardens

Overwhelm your senses with the rich beauty of the Yorkshire dales or north yorks moor national parks. Discover the treasures ‘Herriot Country’ & ‘Bronte Country’ , spend a day amidst the history of city of York or visit the Royal Armouries at Leeds.

Accommodation:

Spacious entrance hall leading to 12 bedrooms, each pleasantly furnished and decorated. All with private shower, washbasin & WC. Tea making facilities, central heating, hair dryer, iron, and TV are provided. Fresh towels are also provided daily.

All guests please check In for this hotel at Ashley House, 36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE.
Thank you

Picture of Azalea Living, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 30 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
22% recommended this accommodation to a friend 27% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Faulty Towers
After booking a year in advance was very disappointed to get to hotel on Tour de France day and be told we had no booking, despite me having the accommodation confirmation . The hotel looked unclean and a great big sloppy dog was very off putting. The owner said she had a room at a aster hotel we could have but would need several hours to clean it. If it had not been the busiest day ever in Harrogate we would've left there and then, but we had little option. The second hotel was slightly better and to be fair the room was adequate for a nights sleep but would never have contemplated having breakfast.

Reviewed by
Tracy M

From Consett, England
Who stayed in July 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Appauling
Arrived at 6pm spend an hour trying to gain access to the room. No owner/staff was present. A resident advised that the owner could be at the sister hotel in the street behind the back of the Azelea Courth. We went there but again no one present, residents keys just left on the counter (no such counter at Azelea Court (Living). A note said to call either a landline (this rang and rang) and the mobile was a dead tone.The place its self did not look very nice and as we were stuck for somewhere to stay we knocked on a door along the same road. No vacancies but when we questioned access to the Azelea Court the lady said 'you don't want to go there'. We therefore returned home very upset but equally puzzled by the whole experience.

Reviewed by
grace g

From UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Group of women

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Tried to cancel accomodation but she was adament no cancellation no refund.will never stay there again paid for 9 nights and after 2 nights left.

Reviewed by
STEPHEN PAUL JONES

From Dudley, UK
Who stayed in April 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

For the price, it's worth it if you know what to expect.
Despite the terrible reviews I thought I would give this place a try. As described by everyone else, I did turn up at the address to be told by intercom to go to another address; there was nobody there, but my key was left for me and I could ring the proprietor (which I had to do because I couldn't find my room and had to get instructions). Although this is a very unconventional and unwelcoming system, it did all work out OK and because I was expecting it it was a relief to get into my room and find not only hot and running water, but also complimentary shampoo/shower gel, biscuits, tea, coffee, milk. A bathtub with shower attachment rather than a shower but that was OK with me. I did not try the TV but everything else seemed to be working fine (kettle, radiators, lights etc). The bed seemed clean to me and it was fine for a single person although it was two beds pushed together, so that would have annoyed me if I were with someone else. I did not eat breakfast there and it wasn't mentioned to me, so I can't comment on the quality of the food or dining room. The proprietor was there when I checked out the next morning and she was very nice. The decor is dated as noted by other reviewers, but that's not important to me for this price. I just wanted a clean, safe and hospitable room for the night and that is what I got, so if you understand the setup and aren't put off then it's a perfectly fine place to stay.

Reviewed by
Jennifer W

From UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel from hell
i received a phone call while i was working my stand in an exhibition to be told the hotel we were booked into was full and we were being put into a better sister hotel,
when we arrived at the hotel, we had to use a phone call system to enter the hotel ??
we never saw anybody, our key was on the desk, this was at 6 pm, on the way up the stairs, the carpet had holes and movement i would say dangerous, on entering the room the room smelled of stale water, the hand basin was in the room when we tried washing water down it was blocked, and the lock on the door would not lock. i had to ring the telephone number supplied.not face to face i was told it would be fixed while i went out to eat, on return it was not fixed, the next day when we got back from work, a lady was there saying she was in charge, as the owner was away, and we could move to the first hotel we booked, when i offered to pay she told me she had taken it of my card booking of which i informed her she cannot do this without my authorization she said that was what she was told to do,she took one night payment, so i payed one more night, and agreed to one night free. when moved to the azalea hotel, we found it full of housing benefit people smoking and very dirty, the bedding was clean, and the room was large, tv did not work the man cam to fix it did-not speak english and did-not fix it . it was a hotel from hell. it is not what was in your right up about the hotel. we had to stay as all other hotels even expensive where fully booked. i am not pleased with this hotel, it should be reported. i did try to call your company but could not find a contact number.

Reviewed by
I Hadwin

From Bury, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

never again
This is the worst UK B&B I have ever stayed in. dirty, mouldy, curtains not working, door lock faulty, broken glass door in foyer left with jagged glass pieces, fire doors wedged open. my only regret is that I didn't go straight back out and sleep in the car.

Reviewed by
Martin Kirkbride

From Coventry, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

the only thing luxury about this place is the quilted toilet roll. booked a twin room but was given a double when I queried this I was told the beds open into 2 singles.
TV did not work ,shower was dodgy and although there was a kettle and 1 cup and saucer sadly there was no tea,coffee or milk. The large floodlit car park at the rear could accommodate 3 cars at best and I was the fourth to arrive so had to park elsewhere. Breakfast is between 8.15 and 9 so I had to skip as it as I needed to be away for half 7.
Its cheap and quite well located if you aint fussy and on a budget this could be for you.

Reviewed by
GAVIN M

From Nottingham, UK
Who stayed in March 2014

With colleagues

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Absolutely Appalling!
I am not in the habit of leaving a review, particularly a bad one. However, on this occasion I feel the need to warn people who may be contemplating staying at this "Hotel". On arrival, the hotel was called something completely different, when we checked in the person on the front desk attempted to charge double! Walking up the stairs to the room we saw cracks which looked like the place had been in an earthquake, entering the "double" room we found a three quarter width bed and a surprising amount of dirt on every fixture and fitting.
This establishment is a complete joke and I am surprised that it is even allowed to be listed on laterooms.com. This is the first time we have been directed to such poor accommodation from this site, and if it happens again they will lose our custom.

Reviewed by
David H

From UK
Who stayed in January 2014

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Not happy!
The reception was in another guest house 3 min walk away. The bed was clean, but no close inspection. Décor poor, TV was pathetic, and worst of all, no hot water, not that the water wasn't hot, there was no water coming out of the hot taps at all. I had to go to another hotel,7 minutes walk, which had a leisure club to shower, therefore missed breakfast which only had a 45minute time slot! I certainly wouldn't return!

Reviewed by
R Baird

From Lochgelly, England
Who stayed in January 2014

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

An odd setup!
An odd set up where the main communication was through using a telephone and ringing numbers to get access to the owner. The room in the house I was booked to stay in was seperate from the main part of the business (another property) and you have to walk round the corner to get to it. Breakfast is located in the main part. I ended up staying in the main part as it seemed a bit better but my room had no working lights in the bathroom and didn't seem very clean.

Reviewed by
J Neil

From , UK
Who stayed in November 2013

Travelling alone

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

1 2 3 Next