No Booking Fee, Secure Online booking, Price Promise
What's this?

Found the same room at a different price? Tell us, and we'll offer to match it.

Find out more

Reviews - Azalea Living

Self Classified Budget Hotel Ratings explained
56 58, Kings Road , Harrogate, HG1 5JR
Azalea Living hotel is privately owned guest house situated directly opposite to the International Conference and Exhibition Centre.

Large flood-lit car park at the rear of the hotel.

The town centre is just few minutes walking distance away where there are many good restaurants, shops and pubs.

Leave your stress and strains behind and spend a few days in our lovely spa town. Azalea House is open all year and we offer bargain breaks throughout, except during conferences and exhibitions.

Harrogate is a town with many immaculate gardens, open strays and beautiful Turkish baths, Royal hall, and swimming pool. Unearth beautiful antiques or acquire a new wardrobe in the fine shops of Harrogate which are just a ten-minute stroll from Azalea house. Wonder through Valley Gardens or investigate the national Rhubarb collection at the Harlow Carr Botanical Gardens

Overwhelm your senses with the rich beauty of the Yorkshire dales or north yorks moor national parks. Discover the treasures ‘Herriot Country’ & ‘Bronte Country’ , spend a day amidst the history of city of York or visit the Royal Armouries at Leeds.

Accommodation:

Spacious entrance hall leading to 12 bedrooms, each pleasantly furnished and decorated. All with private shower, washbasin & WC. Tea making facilities, central heating, hair dryer, iron, and TV are provided. Fresh towels are also provided daily.

All guests please check In for this hotel at Ashley House, 36-40 Franklin Road, Harrogate HG1 5EE.
Thank you

Picture of Azalea Living, Harrogate at LateRooms Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view. Rollover image to see larger view.
Overall score Guest rating scores since September 2012 Customer recommendation
Guest Reviews Based on 24 reviews
  • Customer service
  • Cleanliness of accommodation
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly
18% recommended this accommodation to a friend 21% would stay again
Filter reviews by guests
  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Ashley House
Apart from sleeping there we didn't stay in the building for more than 1 hour.

Reviewed by
Nick N

From Oldham, England
Who stayed in September 2013

Group of men

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

A disgrace
A disgrace and shoiuld be removed from Laterooms. No toilet paper, cold water for entire stay, Tea/coffee equipment but no kettle. Clothesmaid in the reception.
An injustice to Harrogate.
Reported ot Harrogate Council and Laterooms

Reviewed by
L Roberts

From UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Worst ever stay!
Arrived at B&B and no-one was in reception, called but no reply, in the end I spotted a phone and dialed reception button. Lady answered was very curt and informed me the key was on the table, i asked should I go to my room and she replied yes. No mention of Breakfast in the morning or where my room was located to made up the stairs and looked for the room. Room was small, clean bed thankfully although I think the mattress has expired as could feel every spring. There were amenities such as kettle, hairdryer, tea/coffee and Iron board....but NO water in the bathroom!! The loo worked but there was no water from the tap or shower, also there was no TV in the room either as promised. I went downstairs and called the reception button, no answer, I called out loudly, but no answer. The next morning I looked briefly for where there could be a breakfast room, all I could see was a door leading down to what I presume was the breakfast room but it was locked, to be honest had breakfast been served I may have been reluctant to eat there given the cleanliness of the surroundings. The B&B is very tired, it needs re-decorating, cleaning thoroughly, staff and working amenities!! I shall not be staying here again, and I think the £50 I paid was a complete rip-off!!!

Reviewed by
Kristina Boulden

From Ashford, UK
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

They claimed not to have received the booking.
First impressions started with them not expecting me followed by a messy entrance way with laundry drying. The hotel desperately needs to be bought upto date, tidied and cleaned. My room was very dated, the bedding smelt of smoke and the bed springs were so uncomfortable that I doubled the duvet over and slept on the floor. Worst of all there was no running water in the bathroom except a working toilet. It was quite late by the time i realized so ended up buying a bottle of water from a near by restaurant to use to wash with. Through out the night I could hear male voices in another language and what sounded like furniture being quietly moved about so I joined in and jammed a heavy chair under the door handle! I was told when booking that breakfast was included in the price but there wasn't any on offer, I couldn't even get a drink. I only stayed one night and booked in to another property a few doors down the road which I couldn't fault if I tried, delightful people, lovely clean rooms and a breakfast that truly sets you up for the day.

Reviewed by
Emma A

From England
Who stayed in September 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

hotel from hell
This hotel also runs as a hostel for migrant workers,frequent power cuts and no owner or manager at the hotel leaves the guest to fend for themselves.Breakfast is provided but at another hotel several hundred yards away up a steep hill,no toilet paper in the bathroom no cups for tea used plates and cutlery left in the clothes drawers. The worst hotel ive ever stayed at.

Reviewed by
W Scott

From North Shields, UK
Who stayed in July 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Azela living review
Clean and in a good location. A bit dated but good value for money.

Reviewed by
Shane K

From UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

i was shocked by the poor quality and organisation of the breakfast. Not the standard I have had before

Reviewed by
L Loyley

From Chester, UK
Who stayed in March 2013

Couple

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Would never stay there again. Awful experience with staff and only one thing on their mind. YOUR MONEY

Reviewed by
Grant Silk

From Harrogate, UK
Who stayed in January 2013

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Bed
The reason for the 4 above was that I found the bed very hard and slept less well than I would have wished.

Reviewed by
Tony B

From Rickmansworth, UK
Who stayed in December 2012

Travelling alone

  • Customer service
  • Hotel cleanliness
  • Quality of room
  • Value for money
  • Quality of food
  • Family friendly

Fawlty towers is alive and well
On arrival we were greeted by a very large slobberying dog and a landlady with 5 mobile phones that she answered with the name of a different hotel each time, We should have known then . The room was small, the curtains hanging off the rails, the portable Tv with the freeserve box taped to the side did not work. You could sit on the loo with your knees tucked under the wash basin. The beds were decorated with sheets hung over the headboards to make them look better that they were and the carpets were dirty. And no duvets or additional pillows. And very basic shower. We had to walk to another hotel for breakfast as they had 'kitchen problems'. The car parked in the car park with let down tyres summed it up really . But great location , walking distance from the town centre . Luckily several bottles of wine made it amusing but we will never stay there again. The hotel inspector needs to make a visit

Reviewed by
Kirsteen L

From Appleby in Westmorland, Wales
Who stayed in November 2012

Group of women

View Older Reviews

Reviews can only be left by customers of LateRooms who have booked and stayed at this property. All reviews are left in accordance with our conditions of posting.

All reviews posted are the opinions of people who have stayed at this accommodation, not of LateRooms.com. These opinions may vary greatly and should be considered alongside all the other information available for this property. If you have more questions regarding our guest reviews read our FAQS.

Prev 1 2 3 Next